Bitcoin Forum
June 02, 2020, 09:31:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220279 times)
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001


View Profile
November 18, 2013, 07:36:01 AM
 #1161

In addition to my last post...

1) Wow does this place seem dead... when I first joined a lot of posts were bumbpin here.
2) Hey Doc, why can't we seem to use workers in the client ? I tried MoreBloodWine_worker2 on my brothers computer but the work he does defaults to worker1 since it's the default worker.

To be decided...
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2013, 03:39:53 PM
 #1162

2) Hey Doc, why can't we seem to use workers in the client ? I tried MoreBloodWine_worker2 on my brothers computer but the work he does defaults to worker1 since it's the default worker.

You have to put the user name in the user name field and the worker name in the worker name field.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001


View Profile
November 18, 2013, 04:28:55 PM
 #1163

2) Hey Doc, why can't we seem to use workers in the client ? I tried MoreBloodWine_worker2 on my brothers computer but the work he does defaults to worker1 since it's the default worker.

You have to put the user name in the user name field and the worker name in the worker name field.

I'll have to o back and take another ganer but I could swear all I saw was name and password.

To be decided...
Ja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 04:56:06 PM
 #1164

I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this but I got a new phone a Win 8 phone and I can't get the website menus to work for me. I don't know if it's me or what. The first page comes up but you can't click/press on the menus to go to anything. What happens is you press on it and the menu pops up but then it goes away before you can choose anything.

Yeah, I think there's a problem there. I'll need to get a win phone emulator to test it I think. I don't have any of those devices available.

Situation: Running 3 ASIC miners in BFGMiner with no problem. Got my Red Fury yesterday and plugged it in, loaded drivers and it will not recognize it. It knows it's there but ignores it. I did move folders to C: . Still nothing. Tried re-installing the drivers, but nothing. I also noticed I am not getting a COM number under the icon in Devices and Printers for the Bitfury BF1.

Did you install the tiny bf1.inf driver file from the bfgminerwin.zip file that they have in the blue fury support thread?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=319419.0


My Setup: Win 7 Pro, BitMinter Client v1.4.2
ASIC: Bitfury USB, connected through USB hub. (I've tested with and without the hub)

I installed the bf1.inf driver, and when I click on "Devices and Printers" I show the Bitfury: Bitfury BF1 USB Miner (COM9),
however when I run the BitMinter Client, I get an error: "Probe of port COM9 failed: timeout" and the Bitfury doesn't show.

Any suggestions of what I may be doing wrong?
Thanks!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2013, 05:04:12 PM
 #1165

Any suggestions of what I may be doing wrong?

Many people have this problem and I haven't been able to figure out why yet.

Could you try this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=31163.msg3633302#msg3633302

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Ja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 06:29:29 PM
 #1166

Any suggestions of what I may be doing wrong?

Many people have this problem and I haven't been able to figure out why yet.

Could you try this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=31163.msg3633302#msg3633302


Thanks for replying so quickly.

Just to be helpful to others looking for the info...

To get my setup to work, I had to follow the instructions here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=319419.0
I scrolled down to the windows instructions: << Windows 7 Installation Instructions >>

They also have a video tutorial here that shows exactly what to do: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUtcah8iSNE

I look forward to using the BitMinter Client if you can get it to work. Thanks!
CRkfx1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 04:18:51 AM
 #1167

Is there a quick run down/tutorial for install and setup of a BFL ASIC device (little single) with Bitminter on Win XP or Ubunto?

Thanks!
CRk
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2013, 03:13:04 PM
 #1168

Is there a quick run down/tutorial for install and setup of a BFL ASIC device (little single) with Bitminter on Win XP or Ubunto?

You may need to install drivers on old operating systems: http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

On Ubuntu you may need to give yourself access to serial ports:

"sudo usermod -a -G dialout USERNAME" then log out and back in

Then plug the device in the USB port and start Bitminter client, or if the client is already running choose "devices" -> "probe all ports" in the menu.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 04:43:52 PM
 #1169

Got my first paymen today of 0.01 from the Doc !!!

Almost a 3rd of the way to getting another one !

To be decided...
CRkfx1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 08:56:13 PM
 #1170

Is there a quick run down/tutorial for install and setup of a BFL ASIC device (little single) with Bitminter on Win XP or Ubunto?

You may need to install drivers on old operating systems: http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

On Ubuntu you may need to give yourself access to serial ports:

"sudo usermod -a -G dialout USERNAME" then log out and back in

Then plug the device in the USB port and start Bitminter client, or if the client is already running choose "devices" -> "probe all ports" in the menu.


Thanks Doc!  I already have installed those USB to Serial drivers when I setup EasyMiner (the BFL software/eclipse pool), so this should be a snap.  I want to switch to Bitminter so I could rack up some NMC while mining BTC.  I keep my miner off-site (in an unused room at a relative's house), when I get around to doing the switch over, I'll let you know how it went.  Prolly next week sometime.

Thanks again! 
Perkis26
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 10:02:16 AM
 #1171

So i recentley set up my account on bitminter.com and started using the Bitminter miner and I can see that its getting proof of work accepted by server and all of that stuff but my balance on the website is not changing, only the unconfirmed for NMC and the future for both BTC and NMC are changing. I have my account info set up on the miner as well. Thoughts?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 11:26:12 PM
 #1172

So i recentley set up my account on bitminter.com and started using the Bitminter miner and I can see that its getting proof of work accepted by server and all of that stuff but my balance on the website is not changing, only the unconfirmed for NMC and the future for both BTC and NMC are changing. I have my account info set up on the miner as well. Thoughts?

There's a delay from doing work until the work is fully paid, 10 shifts, currently about 10 hours.

If you turn off the prepay perk the pay will first appear as unconfirmed. If the blocks are confirmed then the pay is confirmed. This takes about 20 hours.

More info on payouts:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg2769824#msg2769824

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 11:28:10 PM
 #1173

Thanks Doc!  I already have installed those USB to Serial drivers when I setup EasyMiner (the BFL software/eclipse pool), so this should be a snap.  I want to switch to Bitminter so I could rack up some NMC while mining BTC.  I keep my miner off-site (in an unused room at a relative's house), when I get around to doing the switch over, I'll let you know how it went.  Prolly next week sometime.

You can use EasyMiner on Bitminter. You need to choose custom or manual mining or whatever they call it. There will be a command line field with an example bfgminer command. Put in something like this in that field:

bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 -u user_worker -p X

Except replace user_worker with your user and worker name at Bitminter.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
qigrisu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 07:47:34 PM
 #1174

Thank you for the good on/off advice. I also tend to push too fast, and not give the puter a chance to respond before confusing it with a new command or keystroke.

Right now I am getting aprox 1 GHs with three 330MHs sticks in an ANKER USB v3.0 HUB. Using the very comfortable (for me) and assuring bitminter GUI with the dynamic meter and verbose commenting screen.  I tried to put in a fourth stick (nine slots are available) but the fourth stick is "found" then goes inactive and will not boot. I thought the problem might be a mismatch on speed of transmission between my old DELL XP which uses USB v2.0 connectors. So I ordered a PCI adapter card from Hong Kong ($9.95) to upgrade the PC to USB v3.0 connectors that will make it in synch with the ANKER HUB.  Here is the link I used for that order:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Port-5Gbps-Superspeed-USB-3-0-PCI-E-PCI-Express-Card-Adapter-for-XP-Vista-Win7-/290877977758?ssPageName=ADME:L:OC:US:3160

Hopefully when I match the speed of the HUB with a corresponding high speed card it will allow me to load the nine slots eventually and increase my contribution to the pool rate.


Rick
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 08:31:13 PM
 #1175

I think the USB sticks are USB 2. So no need for USB 3.

Your problem is probably that they don't get enough power.

See this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg2998466#msg2998466

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
qigrisu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 10:38:28 PM
 #1176

I think the USB sticks are USB 2. So no need for USB 3.

Your problem is probably that they don't get enough power.

See this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg2998466#msg2998466


Dear Doctor,

Thank you for pointing me toward power as a probable issue!

I read the link you give above and checked the brick that came with my ANKER HUB. It is a "MyPowerSwitching Adapter PS601BCAY 5000S", rated Output is 12 volts at 5000ma.

This should have been be able to power three (or more) sticks. I am drawing 100 ma per stick, for a total of 300 ma.  That is less that one half amp. And the Brick is "nominally" capable of 5 amps. But as was pointed out by the comment you linked me to, some bricks work better than others.

I decided that the "switching" part of that brick might be the offending element, and just ordered at a cost of less than $10, the brick indicated in the comment I read as a good reliable source of power for these HUBS.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VE7GQQ/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

When I get the new power brick I will hook it up and report the results back here.

Meanwhile, I just want to report to all that I discovered a valuable set of free tools available at www.nirsoft.net One of them "USB DEVIEW" shows me in a clear table format all the USB connections active in the machine and those that are running COM ports which it identifies by COM Port Number.

The other program is extremely informative, and it is called "SmartSniff". It shows in real time who is connecting, their protocol, and with what message or instructions (ie the packets content). I have had great difficulty, especially with Microsoft and with other outfits like Google, Amazon, and others which are obscure, with getting "disconnected" by ICMP, UDP, and other "remote" signals.  The Bit mining will be going fine for a while, and then everything stops and all LED lights are solid green.  Microsoft in particular and Amazon Technologies are pests constantly in the background partition messing about. (Also something called "Softlayer").

The immediate solution I am using for now is to use "Outpost Security" to block various IPs, and a VPN called "Hide My Ass" to encrypt and redirect all my communications through Poland. It slows down my work rate a bit, but keeps the machine "up" all day.

I think the longer term fix is to get out of Windows altogether (too many back doors) and into a Linux distribution like "Mint" for example.

Rick  Smiley



 
wenjiahe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 12:18:34 AM
 #1177

what's wrong with my bitminter client? It output nothing but Miscalculations for a long time.
2013.11.26 [03:41] Found 1 OpenCL-compatible GPU
2013.11.26 [03:41]  BFI patch failed!
2013.11.26 [03:41] Starting long polling
2013.11.26 [03:41] Difficulty is now 609482680
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com

The connetion is ok, Proofs 0, Miscalculations 129, Spare work on hand 2.
Anybody can help? Thanks.
nubbins7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 26, 2013, 03:01:19 AM
 #1178

I am learning a lot from this topic thanks for putting
out all of this good info Smiley
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2013, 07:24:16 AM
 #1179

what's wrong with my bitminter client? It output nothing but Miscalculations for a long time.
2013.11.26 [03:41] Found 1 OpenCL-compatible GPU
2013.11.26 [03:41]  BFI patch failed!

Which Catalyst drivers are you running on?

Could you try updating to the latest stable or latest beta version from amd.com ?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
pendaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 01:51:57 PM
 #1180

Hi all

Just testing the water with bitcoin mining, i've been using my laptop and an icarus USB asic miner.

My problem is, when i'm mining at work, i see the following:

Code:
2013.11.26 [13:16]  2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:16]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:16]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work


yet when i mine at home, or at the hotel i stay at frequently i don't get these messages


Any ideas / suggestions? i guess this is a network issue?


Thanks
Pages: « 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!