Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2014, 11:52:32 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 400MH/s+ on a 5850?  (Read 3331 times)
shamen
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile

Ignore
June 25, 2011, 10:11:53 PM
 #1

So GUIminer is saying I have broke through 400MH/sec on my 5850.

What do you guys think? Is this just a bug/quirk in the way guiminer updates the hashrate when multiple miners are running, or have I found a way to squeeze out an average of 400 MH/sec from a 5850 without a massively insane overclock? It runs stable if i dont try to move anything on screen Wink

My GPU settings are
-5870 Bios
-960 clock
-300 RAM
-1.162 Vc

I set up three phoenix instances. The first instance I set to

-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=13  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use both CPU cores

Second instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #1

Third instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #2

When running, the MH/sec goes as low as 386 and as high as 412, but seems to average out at about 402 to 404

A screen grab of guiminer in operation, along with GPU-Z and Afterburner settings is here

http://www.b3tards.com/u/f6d22a29e775a1426924/wtf.jpg

This might seem like a cock length post, but i promise its not. I just want to know if this is a true hashrate or if GUIMiner has some kind of weirdness in calculating hashrates when multiple miners are running and hoped someone here would know.


1EaGZPqUmE9bewSLKiScBPMAk1pnYo73sa
1398383552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398383552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398383552
Reply with quote  #2

1398383552
Report to moderator
Buy a Blade, Get a 5-Chip Free!
Start Mining with GAWMiners.com
24/7 Live Phone & Tech Support
Free Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398383552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398383552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398383552
Reply with quote  #2

1398383552
Report to moderator
1398383552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398383552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398383552
Reply with quote  #2

1398383552
Report to moderator
1398383552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398383552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398383552
Reply with quote  #2

1398383552
Report to moderator
computerparts
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile

Ignore
June 25, 2011, 11:38:59 PM
 #2

So GUIminer is saying I have broke through 400MH/sec on my 5850.

What do you guys think? Is this just a bug/quirk in the way guiminer updates the hashrate when multiple miners are running, or have I found a way to squeeze out an average of 400 MH/sec from a 5850 without a massively insane overclock? It runs stable if i dont try to move anything on screen Wink

My GPU settings are
-5870 Bios
-960 clock
-300 RAM
-1.162 Vc

I set up three phoenix instances. The first instance I set to

-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=13  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use both CPU cores

Second instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #1

Third instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #2

When running, the MH/sec goes as low as 386 and as high as 412, but seems to average out at about 402 to 404

A screen grab of guiminer in operation, along with GPU-Z and Afterburner settings is here

http://www.b3tards.com/u/f6d22a29e775a1426924/wtf.jpg

This might seem like a cock length post, but i promise its not. I just want to know if this is a true hashrate or if GUIMiner has some kind of weirdness in calculating hashrates when multiple miners are running and hoped someone here would know.



I think that card isn't going to last very long. Good luck.
shamen
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 12:26:47 AM
 #3

LOL it was only £100. pocket change.

Its lasted 2 weeks already so im happy. I was more interested in seeing what it can do and what all this mining business is about.

That being said, 960/300 @ 81oC isnt that bad. ive seen 5850s running much hotter and happy with it - one of my firends runs his at 90 to keep the noise down and that thing hasnt broke yet (6 months in). 58xx seem to be cards which can perform nicely.

But back to the point of my question - is this hashrate reporting a bug/quirk of guiminer?





1EaGZPqUmE9bewSLKiScBPMAk1pnYo73sa
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 12:29:09 AM
 #4

I wonder how you get so much higher hashrate on lower clocks than me:

Code:
Default Adapter - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           300
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [550-1200]     [300-1400]
                 GPU load :    99%

Device [1]: Cypress [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
        Current core voltage: 1.2000 V
        Presets: 1.0000 / 1.0375 / 1.2000 / 0.9500 V
        Core power draw: 83.61 A (100.34 W)
        VRM temperatures: 107 / 109 / 101 C


[394.59 Mhash/sec] [4933 Accepted] [206 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]

With these flags under linux and 2.4 SDK: -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false BFI_INT
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 12:34:18 AM
 #5

LOL it was only £100. pocket change.

Its lasted 2 weeks already so im happy.

:\

Do people even mine to get btc/profit in the long term
or just drive up the difficulty for fun & to see a number go higher on their screen

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
shamen
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 01:36:45 AM
 #6

I wonder how you get so much higher hashrate on lower clocks than me:


Well, i was wondering if its just a quirk of GUIminer reporting. Personally I prefer to run linux too, btu for some reason I could not get the ATI drivers to play nicely under 2.6.36 so i made a windows install to mine. If i run one miner thread with my clock settings I get 386MH/sec. If i run multiple threads, it goes higher, but again im not sure if this is an accurate report, or a bug in guiminer.

However, as you are using linux with a pretty intense overclock this proves an interesting oppertunity. Can you try running multiple miner threads with different CPU affinity? (install the 'util-linux' package if its not already).

Why not just run three different miner instances and use the 'taskset' command to specify CPU affinity, then see if you get the same results as me. If you dont get similar results than what I see, then what I report is very likely a quirk of guiminer in reporting the MH rate for multiple miners (perhaps refresh rate from the actual miners it runs?).

If you do get the same result as what I see, then draw your own conclusions Wink

Start three phoenix miners. Set instance 1 to agression 13, instance 2 and 3 to agression 8. Leave other switches the same.

Then set CPU affinity using taskset. get the PID of each of the three miner processes and set accordingly. for example, if you have 2 CPU cores and your miner PIDs are 1234 (agression 13), 1258 and 1299 (agression 8 ) respectively:

sudo taskset -c 1-2 1234
sudo taskset -c 1 1258
sudo taskset -c 2 1299

Then look at all three miner processes and compute the total hashrate. If you see a hashrate greater than your single miner instance of 394, then we are on to something. If you see a total of 394, then what I am seeing is just a quirk in the way guiminer reports hashrates Smiley

Its as simple as that. My personal feeling is this is a guiminer issue in the way it refreshes the hashrates form the console (usleep 1000000 anyone?), but id love to be proven wrong.


Quote
Do people even mine to get btc/profit in the long term or just drive up the difficulty for fun & to see a number go higher on their screen

Different strokes for different folks. Personally im just an old skool geek who loves fucking around with stuff. I love squeezing every last drop out of things that I do. Look at the bitcoin total hashrate since may - do you really think all of that exponential increase is down to people looking for money? Sure some of it is the big boys with their farms, the pools and then people trying to make a quick buck. But, theres a lot of us out there that dont worry about money and just like new technologies, understding them inside out and dabbling in them.

I guess above all, put simply, Bitcoin has a certain ideal to it that attracts me.

Im based in the UK, so with current difficulty and what my system draws in terms of power, im not going to make a profit on BTC, especially if difficulty keeps going up. But does that put me off mining? Nope. This shit is fun, is a great ideal in terms of what its offering and on top of that its a challenge to get some cheap piece of hardware to do more than its designed to. Hell, I probably make more in a day with my work than I could even with a 50GH/sec rig. You do the math?

Theres millions just like me out there, and the more that hear about this the more you can expect to see being involved. Ill still be doing this if the difficulty hits 500 miilion. Im not in it for money Smiley







1EaGZPqUmE9bewSLKiScBPMAk1pnYo73sa
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 01:55:11 AM
 #7

Quote
Ill still be doing this if the difficulty hits 500 miilion. Im not in it for money

Can't compete with that

Then again, it does make the network more secure. If everyone just quits mining the network becomes susceptible to forging attacks

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
grue
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.


View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 02:02:59 AM
 #8


I get 400 MH/s at that setting. it's a bit lower because i ran it at a lower aggression.

1ELvnrA6PhUyDBS6iR25K1Xx4xXL6VMfJX
shamen
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 02:04:19 AM
 #9

Quote
Ill still be doing this if the difficulty hits 500 miilion. Im not in it for money

Can't compete with that

Then again, it does make the network more secure. If everyone just quits mining the network becomes susceptible to forging attacks

Thats part of my reason for being involved. I really want to see bitcoin as a currency (or commodity, depending on who you talk to) flourish. If all it takes to put people off being invovled is that its no longer profitable to mine, because some people with deep pockets (and perhaps with an interest in seeing the ideal disappear) flood the system - then whats the point? If i were a large economy and felt threatened by bitcoin I would do my best to make sure people found no reason to mine through lack of profit. But if miners are here without the drive of profit, then the 'flood the market' move is, to say the least, stale. The ideal stays alive and presses on.

I know a lot of people out there who made this ideal get off the ground invested a lot of money through mining to get it going. I cant thank them enough. I'm sure they will make more money in the years to come, but I hope the ideal of what bitcoin is about stays with this forever - long after some people give up mining because they no longer make a few bucks a month.

1EaGZPqUmE9bewSLKiScBPMAk1pnYo73sa
smell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46



View Profile

Ignore
June 26, 2011, 02:07:55 AM
 #10

I'm getting 395 mhash/sec at 990MHz core 330MHz mem using phoenix and phatk on linux on a few of my 5850s
OggerMC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile

Ignore
June 28, 2011, 12:35:52 AM
 #11

i get 400 out of my msi 5850 twin frozr II with 1005 core, 340 mem @ 1.3 mV and temps stay below 80°C.
BUT, my phoenix dies after around 3 hours on gui miner, and my backup opencl miner kicks in (has -f20 as backup) and the opencl backup can only get around 385 =/
any tips how to make phoenix more stable? the opencl one can run days without problems.
Grinder
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 944


View Profile

Ignore
June 28, 2011, 09:59:44 AM
 #12

I get a very stable 390 MHash at 950/300 MHz under Linux with the newest poclbm. 79C at 64% fan speed, default (1.088v) voltage.
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile

Ignore
June 28, 2011, 10:57:19 AM
 #13

So GUIminer is saying I have broke through 400MH/sec on my 5850.

What do you guys think? Is this just a bug/quirk in the way guiminer updates the hashrate when multiple miners are running, or have I found a way to squeeze out an average of 400 MH/sec from a 5850 without a massively insane overclock? It runs stable if i dont try to move anything on screen Wink

My GPU settings are
-5870 Bios
-960 clock
-300 RAM
-1.162 Vc

I set up three phoenix instances. The first instance I set to

-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=13  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use both CPU cores

Second instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #1

Third instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #2

When running, the MH/sec goes as low as 386 and as high as 412, but seems to average out at about 402 to 404

A screen grab of guiminer in operation, along with GPU-Z and Afterburner settings is here

http://www.b3tards.com/u/f6d22a29e775a1426924/wtf.jpg

This might seem like a cock length post, but i promise its not. I just want to know if this is a true hashrate or if GUIMiner has some kind of weirdness in calculating hashrates when multiple miners are running and hoped someone here would know.



I think that card isn't going to last very long. Good luck.

Based on what I've read in different forums of the BOINC community, the 5800 series have max temps of about 105 degrees celsius. Of course, steps must be taken to cool the card a lot better if the temps goes over 90 degrees.
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile

Ignore
June 28, 2011, 11:01:50 AM
 #14

I wonder how you get so much higher hashrate on lower clocks than me:

Code:
Default Adapter - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           300
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [550-1200]     [300-1400]
                 GPU load :    99%

Device [1]: Cypress [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
        Current core voltage: 1.2000 V
        Presets: 1.0000 / 1.0375 / 1.2000 / 0.9500 V
        Core power draw: 83.61 A (100.34 W)
        VRM temperatures: 107 / 109 / 101 C


[394.59 Mhash/sec] [4933 Accepted] [206 Rejected] [RPC (+LP)]

With these flags under linux and 2.4 SDK: -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS AGGRESSION=11 WORKSIZE=256 FASTLOOP=false BFI_INT

Try SDK 2.1, its a bit faster than 2.4.
SgtSpike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


Firstbits: 18tkn


View Profile WWW

Ignore
June 28, 2011, 04:57:06 PM
 #15

So GUIminer is saying I have broke through 400MH/sec on my 5850.

What do you guys think? Is this just a bug/quirk in the way guiminer updates the hashrate when multiple miners are running, or have I found a way to squeeze out an average of 400 MH/sec from a 5850 without a massively insane overclock? It runs stable if i dont try to move anything on screen Wink

My GPU settings are
-5870 Bios
-960 clock
-300 RAM
-1.162 Vc

I set up three phoenix instances. The first instance I set to

-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=13  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use both CPU cores

Second instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #1

Third instance:
-k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=8  FASTLOOP=false
that worker was set with CPU affinity to use CPU core #2

When running, the MH/sec goes as low as 386 and as high as 412, but seems to average out at about 402 to 404

A screen grab of guiminer in operation, along with GPU-Z and Afterburner settings is here

http://www.b3tards.com/u/f6d22a29e775a1426924/wtf.jpg

This might seem like a cock length post, but i promise its not. I just want to know if this is a true hashrate or if GUIMiner has some kind of weirdness in calculating hashrates when multiple miners are running and hoped someone here would know.



I think that card isn't going to last very long. Good luck.

Based on what I've read in different forums of the BOINC community, the 5800 series have max temps of about 105 degrees celsius. Of course, steps must be taken to cool the card a lot better if the temps goes over 90 degrees.
No steps need to be taken.  The card will clock itself down if it goes over 90c, all the way down to 300mhz core if it has to, which is enough to keep it cool without the fan running even under full load (ask me how I know).

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile

Ignore
June 29, 2011, 01:54:31 AM
 #16

seeing as i'm cranking 320 out of my 5830(1025mhz shader) that sounds witin reason depending on your cooling you may be able to get a bit more out of it even

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Tx2000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile

Ignore
June 29, 2011, 02:18:04 AM
 #17

I've been able to hit 394 Mhash with 930/300 @ 1.137v.  GPU temps in at 72 (I rigged an old Twin Turbo on it with dual 120mm fans).  Phoenix phatk with the usual settings and worksize 256 / aggression 13.  Also that 3% performance improvement edit (also disabled most of Windows 7 performance visuals). Only thing that prevents me going higher is VRM temps at 97-105c.  I know they are rated for higher than that but I don't feel comfortable with testing my luck.

Sign up for Tradehill.com Exchange account and get a 10% discount on your trades! - http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R15491

Sign up for CampBX and get a 10% discount on your lifetime Trades! - https://CampBX.com/register.php?r=meen9rIKjsF
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile

Ignore
June 29, 2011, 06:22:06 AM
 #18

Pics or it didn't happen?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
rograz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 440


View Profile

Ignore
June 29, 2011, 12:12:20 PM
 #19

Based on what I've read in different forums of the BOINC community, the 5800 series have max temps of about 105 degrees celsius. Of course, steps must be taken to cool the card a lot better if the temps goes over 90 degrees.

I'd worry more about the VRM temps for 5xxx cards as long as you are using some form of stock cooling.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!