Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2022, 12:01:40 AM *
News: Bitcointalk Community Awards
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: cheapest mining rig ever, for script coin?  (Read 8570 times)
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:49:47 AM
 #1

i need advice, on a cheapest mining rig with just 2 vga, with no case

MOB: cheapest one, there is anything around 50 euro?
CPU: adm or intel?
RAM: 4 gb
VGA: 2x 7950, gigabyte maybe? or vapor-x?
PSU: a 650w would be enough, tell me the best
HDD: no issue, i have already one

it's possible to stay on 550 euro at max, $750usd
1670025700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670025700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670025700
Reply with quote  #2

1670025700
Report to moderator
1670025700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670025700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670025700
Reply with quote  #2

1670025700
Report to moderator
1670025700
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670025700

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670025700
Reply with quote  #2

1670025700
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
jeannie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:50:57 AM
 #2

Have you calculate, is the worth of electricity etc worth the cost of mining?

Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:56:33 AM
 #3

my electricity is $0.17, i think i'm in profit, mining the most profitable alt-coin like dgc, wdc, ecc...
i can make 100 euro at months, so roi 6 months or less
Sondey10mg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:59:00 AM
 #4

i need advice, on a cheapest mining rig with just 2 vga, with no case

MOB: cheapest one, there is anything around 50 euro?
CPU: adm or intel?
RAM: 4 gb
VGA: 2x 7950, gigabyte maybe? or vapor-x?
PSU: a 650w would be enough, tell me the best
HDD: no issue, i have already one

it's possible to stay on 550 euro at max, $750usd

2 x 7950 already cost more then 500 euro...
And go for AMD: cheap mobo cheap cpu, good enough performance

 *Image Removed*
 *Image Removed*
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:00:29 AM
 #5

nah, i can find them used at 200 each
i'm not into amd with the mob and cpu (i have always bought intel), can you suggest me the cheapest one for two vga?
add1ct3dd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 270


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:08:51 AM
 #6

nah, i can find them used at 200 each

There's still no chance of it being 550 EUR, decent PSU is probably 90 EUR (which you NEED).
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:10:07 AM
 #7

400+90+60(mob+cpu+ram) even used mob, cpu and ram are ok, i don't need them new

if it is still impossible, than 600 at max should be enough
mm8000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:11:50 AM
 #8

You want more than a 650 psu for 2x7950.
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:13:19 AM
 #9

2x 7950 undervolted run at 400watt, the other part consume 150 at max, i'm in, i just need a good psu
mullick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:17:53 AM
 #10

If power is not a concern 5850's can be bught for $125 us  and get 400khash overclocked

Find a cheap open box am3 or am3+ motherboard at your local store.

single core amd sempron

cheap ram and a good power supply

with 3 5850's 1.2mh and all together can be had for 575 us dollars
$50 motheboard
$30 cpu
$20 ram
$100 power supply
3x 5850 at $125 =375
Total = 575 say 600 for shipping ect.

EDIT: actually they consume 175watts each so not bad on power either
Sondey10mg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:18:21 AM
 #11

Look at the am3/am3+ motherboards here. search for one with the features you want => search ebay etc for used ones
http://www.asrock.com/mb/index.asp

 *Image Removed*
 *Image Removed*
mullick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:24:05 AM
Last edit: June 08, 2013, 10:07:01 AM by mullick
 #12

The 5000 series are strange cards. My 6850 maxes at 275kh it doesnt care wether the memory clock is 700mhz or 1200 mhz still 275kh. My 5850's run at 400khash at 975 core and 1175 memory. If I change one up or down without the other i actually loose hashrate. My 5850's blow the 6850 out of the water. I know the numbering system was differant back then. I think a 5850 is comparable to a 7950
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:26:40 AM
 #13

If power is not a concern 5850's can be bught for $125 us  and get 400khash overclocked

Find a cheap open box am3 or am3+ motherboard at your local store.

single core amd sempron

cheap ram and a good power supply

with 3 5850's 1.2mh and all together can be had for 575 us dollars
$50 motheboard
$30 cpu
$20 ram
$100 power supply
3x 5850 at $125 =375
Total = 575 say 600 for shipping ect.

EDIT: actually they consume 175watts each so not bad on power either
aren't 2x7950 better?
they run at 600 each and wattage is 200-225 max
Bulpower
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:44:49 AM
Last edit: June 08, 2013, 09:57:39 AM by Bulpower
 #14

You can try 3 x ATI 7850, they cost less  and spent less power...

MB   GB H61M-DS2V - 51$
CPU Intel G1610 - 45$
HDD no matter - 55$
RAM 2GB DDR3 - 18$
PSU SS 620W bronze - 85$
3x ATI 7850 1GB DDR5 - 3x175$
_____________________
Prices are in Bulgaria! Smiley

This system will spent less than 450 wats under hard overclock...and will give you 1200 kh/s

VGA: core 1100/ memory 1400
Miner: tread concurrency 8-9000, worksize 256, agression 19
_______________________________
390-400 kh/s single card

______________________________________________
My rigs:

MB Asrock B75 Pro 3
CPU Intel G1610
HDD 500 GB Seagate SATA3
RAM 4GB DDR3
PSU SS 750W Bronze
3x ATI 7950 Powercolor
----------------------------------------------------------------------
750 wats, 600-610 kh/s single card

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=215844.0
LTC: LeN7gcMUaZRX37CVeaSK3QoTx7F2SSGh1B
BTC: 1KsU891q2m3FteARrYtcDM1b8ZZcWWqKd9
mullick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:51:36 AM
Last edit: June 08, 2013, 10:05:39 AM by mullick
 #15

If power is not a concern 5850's can be bught for $125 us  and get 400khash overclocked

Find a cheap open box am3 or am3+ motherboard at your local store.

single core amd sempron

cheap ram and a good power supply

with 3 5850's 1.2mh and all together can be had for 575 us dollars
$50 motheboard
$30 cpu
$20 ram
$100 power supply
3x 5850 at $125 =375
Total = 575 say 600 for shipping ect.

EDIT: actually they consume 175watts each so not bad on power either
aren't 2x7950 better?
they run at 600 each and wattage is 200-225 max

Yes they are better but can you get 2 x 7950's for $375?

Your basically looking at $100 vs 100watts

100 watts = 40 cents a day .40 x30 = $12 a month so about 9 months until the 7950 pays for the extra $100 price
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:08:57 AM
 #16

oh right, but i prefer 7950 for density

You can try 3 x ATI 7850, they cost less  and spent less power...

MB   GB H61M-DS2V - 51$
CPU Intel G1610 - 45$
HDD no matter - 55$
RAM 2GB DDR3 - 18$
PSU SS 620W bronze - 85$
3x ATI 7850 1GB DDR5 - 3x175$
_____________________
Prices are in Bulgaria! Smiley

This system will spent less than 450 wats under hard overclock...and will give you 1200 kh/s

VGA: core 1100/ memory 1400
Miner: tread concurrency 8-9000, worksize 256, agression 19
_______________________________
390-400 kh/s single card

______________________________________________
My rigs:

MB Asrock B75 Pro 3
CPU Intel G1610
HDD 500 GB Seagate SATA3
RAM 4GB DDR3
PSU SS 750W Bronze
3x ATI 7950 Powercolor
----------------------------------------------------------------------
750 wats, 600-610 kh/s single card
why everyone say that amd is better for those cheap rig?
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:12:55 AM
 #17

You want more than a 650 psu for 2x7950.


you can run 3 on a 750 so 650 will be fine for 2 cards

                                                                                                                                           cost
i would say look on ebay find a cheap motherboard with 2 pcie  slots  am2                                50    
get 2 7950 vaporx oc edition ( dual bios ) i know there more mony but thay are beter cards       490
cheap am2 cpu                                                                                                                     20
4gb ram                                                                                                                               20
psu hx 750  used                                                                                                                  70
cheap hdd                                                                                                                            10  
                                                                                                                                  total 660
    

add1ct3dd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 270


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 11:20:42 AM
 #18

You want more than a 650 psu for 2x7950.


you can run 3 on a 750 so 650 will be fine for 2 cards

                                                                                                                                           cost
i would say look on ebay find a cheap motherboard with 2 pcie  slots  am2                                50    
get 2 7950 vaporx oc edition ( dual bios ) i know there more mony but thay are beter cards       490
cheap am2 cpu                                                                                                                     20
4gb ram                                                                                                                               20
psu hx 750  used                                                                                                                  70
cheap hdd                                                                                                                            10  
                                                                                                                                  total 660
    

You can't run 3 safely OR efficiently on a 750W, please learn what you are talking about before speaking.
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 11:26:56 AM
 #19

You want more than a 650 psu for 2x7950.


you can run 3 on a 750 so 650 will be fine for 2 cards

                                                                                                                                           cost
i would say look on ebay find a cheap motherboard with 2 pcie  slots  am2                                50    
get 2 7950 vaporx oc edition ( dual bios ) i know there more mony but thay are beter cards       490
cheap am2 cpu                                                                                                                     20
4gb ram                                                                                                                               20
psu hx 750  used                                                                                                                  70
cheap hdd                                                                                                                            10  
                                                                                                                                  total 660
    

You can't run 3 safely OR efficiently on a 750W, please learn what you are talking about before speaking.


i have a hx750 psu runing 3 7950s puling 700w from the wall ( has been running 57 days 24/7 ) psu is not even warm the hx series is very good

edit 750w at 90% efficiency  so the rig is only using 675w and psu 75w

Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 11:50:12 AM
 #20

undervolting is the key

now i have only 1 7950 that run at 1100/1250, 1050vcore stable, 600khashrate
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 11:52:33 AM
 #21

undervolting is the key

now i have only 1 7950 that run at 1100/1250, 1050vcore stable, 600khashrate


i can run my cards at 1050/1250  1.050v and get 630-640kh

Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 12:02:44 PM
 #22

yeah yeah, wasn't an e-penis  Grin, just to say that undervolting it make them less watt consuming, so with a good 750, u can even run 3
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 12:03:59 PM
 #23

yeah yeah, wasn't an e-penis  Grin, just to say that undervolting it make them less watt consuming, so with a good 750, u can even run 3

i only sed it so you know you shoud get 30kh more per card at lower setings than u have

Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 12:08:15 PM
 #24

yeah but maybe with more rejected, pushing it at the extreme limit isn't worth it
ondratra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 06:22:35 PM
 #25

surely don't buy HDD if you have motherboard supporting booting from flash!! i have 16GB usb flash disk for very nice price - serious savings Smiley
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 06:36:26 PM
 #26

surely don't buy HDD if you have motherboard supporting booting from flash!! i have 16GB usb flash disk for very nice price - serious savings Smiley

i use a hdd that way if i fails i can still recover the wallet .dat if your solo mining you cant avoid having a walet.dat

aa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544
Merit: 500


Litecoin is right coin


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 07:43:28 PM
Last edit: June 08, 2013, 07:54:33 PM by aa
 #27

yeah but maybe with more rejected, pushing it at the extreme limit isn't worth it
He's using lower values than you, how is he pushing it to the "extreme limit"? Regardless, my 7950s all do over 700Kh/s with an average temp of 72C (for now) @ 1.09v. About 722Kh/s for my 1175 core GPUs.

zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 07:56:39 PM
 #28

yeah but maybe with more rejected, pushing it at the extreme limit isn't worth it
He's using lower values than you, how is he pushing it to the "extreme limit"? Regardless, my 7950s all do over 700Kh/s with an average temp of 72C (for now) @ 1.09v. About 722Kh/s for my 1175 core GPUs.

what setings you using ? i cant go much higher lol 3 cards on a 750w psu  im at 700w now lol

Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:07:54 PM
 #29

yeah but maybe with more rejected, pushing it at the extreme limit isn't worth it
He's using lower values than you, how is he pushing it to the "extreme limit"? Regardless, my 7950s all do over 700Kh/s with an average temp of 72C (for now) @ 1.09v. About 722Kh/s for my 1175 core GPUs.

with intensity 20, u get more reject and also better hash, but at the end you are not earning any more

can you plaese reveal your setting for such good hashrate?
for 600KH i'm using this
cgminer --thread-concurrency 24000 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -I 19 -g
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:09:39 PM
 #30

yeah but maybe with more rejected, pushing it at the extreme limit isn't worth it
He's using lower values than you, how is he pushing it to the "extreme limit"? Regardless, my 7950s all do over 700Kh/s with an average temp of 72C (for now) @ 1.09v. About 722Kh/s for my 1175 core GPUs.

with more intensity, u get more reject

i have intensaty 20 and get no more rejects than when it was at 16

Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:13:30 PM
 #31

then, i'm missing something, i'm using this
cgminer --thread-concurrency 24000 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -I 19 -g

even if i set intensity to 20, i can't get much more than 600
KSV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398
Merit: 250


SVERIGES VIRTUELLA VALUTAVÄXLING


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 08:23:42 PM
 #32

get a BFL ASIC Wink

Trade Bitcoins @ FYB-SE ---> https://www.fybse.se
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:29:52 PM
 #33

yeah sure, pre-order scam overpriced that can't mine scrypt
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:46:07 PM
 #34

then, i'm missing something, i'm using this
cgminer --thread-concurrency 24000 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -I 19 -g

even if i set intensity to 20, i can't get much more than 600

im using reaper so my setings are useless to you

mullick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 01:05:28 AM
 #35

then, i'm missing something, i'm using this
cgminer --thread-concurrency 24000 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -I 19 -g

even if i set intensity to 20, i can't get much more than 600

im using reaper so my setings are useless to you

Just curious is there a reason people still use reaper?
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 01:10:02 AM
 #36

then, i'm missing something, i'm using this
cgminer --thread-concurrency 24000 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -I 19 -g

even if i set intensity to 20, i can't get much more than 600

im using reaper so my setings are useless to you

Just curious is there a reason people still use reaper?

with reaper it uses more system ram so you can use lower mem clocks on the card and still get a good hashrate  also with reaper i get 30 more kh/ card with lower seting and using less power

mullick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 01:12:08 AM
 #37

then, i'm missing something, i'm using this
cgminer --thread-concurrency 24000 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -I 19 -g

even if i set intensity to 20, i can't get much more than 600

im using reaper so my setings are useless to you

Just curious is there a reason people still use reaper?

with reaper it uses more system ram so you can use lower mem clocks on the card and still get a good hashrate  also with reaper i get 30 more kh/ card with lower seting and using less power

Okay I had heard it has networking issues or something along those lines. Prob just fud. Ill give it a try on my 5850's and 6850's thanks!
Amph (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 07:34:12 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2013, 08:58:15 AM by Amph
 #38

You can try 3 x ATI 7850, they cost less  and spent less power...

MB   GB H61M-DS2V - 51$
CPU Intel G1610 - 45$
HDD no matter - 55$
RAM 2GB DDR3 - 18$
PSU SS 620W bronze - 85$
3x ATI 7850 1GB DDR5 - 3x175$
_____________________
Prices are in Bulgaria! Smiley

This system will spent less than 450 wats under hard overclock...and will give you 1200 kh/s

VGA: core 1100/ memory 1400
Miner: tread concurrency 8-9000, worksize 256, agression 19
_______________________________
390-400 kh/s single card

______________________________________________
My rigs:

MB Asrock B75 Pro 3
CPU Intel G1610
HDD 500 GB Seagate SATA3
RAM 4GB DDR3
PSU SS 750W Bronze
3x ATI 7950 Powercolor
----------------------------------------------------------------------
750 wats, 600-610 kh/s single card

what is the ram model of your rig(second one)?

for psu i have found a corsair tx650 bronze, at 84 euro, not bad
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!