Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 03:21:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Best way to OC GPU's  (Read 366 times)
stugots2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 02:07:43 PM
 #1

mainly the RX 580 whats the best way to OC this thing? driving me insane....
Afterburner doesn't work, Bios wont seem to update (unless I'm getting bad ones)

can anyone help me out here?

Thanks
1511536875
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511536875

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511536875
Reply with quote  #2

1511536875
Report to moderator
1511536875
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511536875

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511536875
Reply with quote  #2

1511536875
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511536875
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511536875

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511536875
Reply with quote  #2

1511536875
Report to moderator
Chan8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


TIME TO DRAIN THE SWAMP


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 05:52:30 PM
 #2

mainly the RX 580 whats the best way to OC this thing? driving me insane....
Afterburner doesn't work, Bios wont seem to update (unless I'm getting bad ones)

can anyone help me out here?

Thanks

Hmmm, maybe you should be more specific with your problem. Theres alot of knowledgable members on here that can chime in and help you out.
So your having problem flashing your bios?
What software are you running or flashing your cards, windows or linux? Seems like your running after burner, so your trying to flash your cards running windows?
What brand cards are you having issues with?

Cereberus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
October 20, 2017, 07:16:21 PM
 #3

mainly the RX 580 whats the best way to OC this thing? driving me insane....
Afterburner doesn't work, Bios wont seem to update (unless I'm getting bad ones)

can anyone help me out here?

Thanks

Can you share what kind of memory your RX 580 has, you can find it with GPU-Z program. If it has Hynix memory it cannot be overclocked through the Afterburner utility so you must use a bios modification. Go on youtube and search "RX580 bios mod" a lot of videos will pop up, BuriedOne and Bitbetrippin are the best guys in modifying the bios of such cards.

███████████████████████▄▄▄
████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▄
████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████▀▀███████████████████
█████████████    ▀▀███████████████▄
██████               ▀▀████████████
█                        ██████████
                     ▄▄████████████
         ████    ▄▄███████████████▀
      ███████▄▄███████████████████
     ████████████████████████████▀
    ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████
   █████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████████████
     ██████████████████████████████

Refereum
███
███
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
███
███
███
███
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
███
███
stugots2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:20:43 PM
 #4

Windows.

Bios won't seem to flash, When I use ATI flasher it says "mismatch" whatever that means.

Also do you suggest Bios update or MSI afterburner? are both required?

I have the Gigabyte RX 580 BTW  8GB
stugots2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:21:50 PM
 #5

GPU-Z program, which do you suggest to see if I have that kinda memory?
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:34:51 PM
 #6

mainly the RX 580 whats the best way to OC this thing? driving me insane....
Afterburner doesn't work, Bios wont seem to update (unless I'm getting bad ones)

can anyone help me out here?

Thanks

Can you share what kind of memory your RX 580 has, you can find it with GPU-Z program. If it has Hynix memory it cannot be overclocked through the Afterburner utility so you must use a bios modification. Go on youtube and search "RX580 bios mod" a lot of videos will pop up, BuriedOne and Bitbetrippin are the best guys in modifying the bios of such cards.

Nonsense. Do you really think gamers would want to buy a card they couldn't overclock? Most of my AMD RX 570/580 cards have Hynix memory and I overclock and undervolt them all of them with Afterburner v4.4.0 beta 19. Since AMD changed the API starting with the Crimson Relive v17.7.2, you have to use Afterburner v4.40 beta 16 or higher with the AMD blockchain drivers or Relive drivers higher than v17.7.1. You also need to use the pixel patcher with a modded Bios to bypass the AMD driver signature check or it will show a Code 43 in Windows Device Manager and you won't be able to overclock or use the card.

https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/msi-afterburner-beta-download.html

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher
stugots2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:53:20 PM
 #7

and she DOES have an Hynix memory (just found that out)
stugots2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 01:09:52 AM
 #8

Vann sent you a PM
stugots2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 03:05:23 PM
 #9

if im understanding correctly Bios mod as well as MSI afterburner??
Cereberus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
October 21, 2017, 04:31:41 PM
 #10

mainly the RX 580 whats the best way to OC this thing? driving me insane....
Afterburner doesn't work, Bios wont seem to update (unless I'm getting bad ones)

can anyone help me out here?

Thanks

Can you share what kind of memory your RX 580 has, you can find it with GPU-Z program. If it has Hynix memory it cannot be overclocked through the Afterburner utility so you must use a bios modification. Go on youtube and search "RX580 bios mod" a lot of videos will pop up, BuriedOne and Bitbetrippin are the best guys in modifying the bios of such cards.

Nonsense. Do you really think gamers would want to buy a card they couldn't overclock? Most of my AMD RX 570/580 cards have Hynix memory and I overclock and undervolt them all of them with Afterburner v4.4.0 beta 19. Since AMD changed the API starting with the Crimson Relive v17.7.2, you have to use Afterburner v4.40 beta 16 or higher with the AMD blockchain drivers or Relive drivers higher than v17.7.1. You also need to use the pixel patcher with a modded Bios to bypass the AMD driver signature check or it will show a Code 43 in Windows Device Manager and you won't be able to overclock or use the card.

https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/msi-afterburner-beta-download.html

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

Sapphire Nitro + and Sapphire Pulse RX 570/580 cannot go above 24.3 to 24.7 Mhash with Hynix memory. I increase the clocks from latest Afterburner and also the memory to maximum, but the hashrate stays the same.

Of course with a bios mod is a different story and they reach 30-31 Mhash but why these cards differently from Samsung memory which through afterburner goes to 27.5 Mhash without a bios modification. That's what I am saying. Trust me I have setup lots of them for a few friends and all of them with Hynix memory unfortunately.

When I bought my cards, I tested them before and told seller, if they are not with Samsung memory I will not buy and they agreed because I know them. So my RX480/580 are all with Samsung memory which is clearly better than Hynix.

███████████████████████▄▄▄
████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████▄
████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
█████████████▀▀███████████████████
█████████████    ▀▀███████████████▄
██████               ▀▀████████████
█                        ██████████
                     ▄▄████████████
         ████    ▄▄███████████████▀
      ███████▄▄███████████████████
     ████████████████████████████▀
    ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████
   ████████████████████████████
   █████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████████
    ██████████████████████████████
     ██████████████████████████████

Refereum
███
███
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
███
███
███
███
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
 ██
███
███
Vann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 05:51:58 PM
 #11

mainly the RX 580 whats the best way to OC this thing? driving me insane....
Afterburner doesn't work, Bios wont seem to update (unless I'm getting bad ones)

can anyone help me out here?

Thanks

Can you share what kind of memory your RX 580 has, you can find it with GPU-Z program. If it has Hynix memory it cannot be overclocked through the Afterburner utility so you must use a bios modification. Go on youtube and search "RX580 bios mod" a lot of videos will pop up, BuriedOne and Bitbetrippin are the best guys in modifying the bios of such cards.

Nonsense. Do you really think gamers would want to buy a card they couldn't overclock? Most of my AMD RX 570/580 cards have Hynix memory and I overclock and undervolt them all of them with Afterburner v4.4.0 beta 19. Since AMD changed the API starting with the Crimson Relive v17.7.2, you have to use Afterburner v4.40 beta 16 or higher with the AMD blockchain drivers or Relive drivers higher than v17.7.1. You also need to use the pixel patcher with a modded Bios to bypass the AMD driver signature check or it will show a Code 43 in Windows Device Manager and you won't be able to overclock or use the card.

https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/msi-afterburner-beta-download.html

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher

Sapphire Nitro + and Sapphire Pulse RX 570/580 cannot go above 24.3 to 24.7 Mhash with Hynix memory. I increase the clocks from latest Afterburner and also the memory to maximum, but the hashrate stays the same.

Of course with a bios mod is a different story and they reach 30-31 Mhash but why these cards differently from Samsung memory which through afterburner goes to 27.5 Mhash without a bios modification. That's what I am saying. Trust me I have setup lots of them for a few friends and all of them with Hynix memory unfortunately.

When I bought my cards, I tested them before and told seller, if they are not with Samsung memory I will not buy and they agreed because I know them. So my RX480/580 are all with Samsung memory which is clearly better than Hynix.

Many RX 570/580 cards have more than one memory type. My Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 8 GB cards all have dual timings with Samsung straps in the 1: index and Hynix straps in the 2: index. Some are identified as having Samsung memory in GPU-Z and the others show up as Hynix in GPU-Z. All of them were modded with the Polaris Bios Editor v 1.62 from jaschaknack 'one click timing patch' which applies the bundled performance straps for each of the memory types.

The Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580's identified as Samsung in GPU-Z can only overclock to 2100 MHz max on the memory in Afterburner before they produce tons of memory errors in HWinfo and get 30-30.5 MH/s max with 1150 MHz core overclock. The cards identified as Hynix I can overclock the memory in Afterburner to 2200-2250 MHz and the get 30.5-31+ MH/s. So I would not say Samsung is clearly better than Hynix for AMD cards, since the Hynix cards clearly overclock better with the timing straps I used.

I also have Asus STRIX RX 480/580 8 GB cards that only have Samsung timings. Those I can only overclock to 2000 MHz on the memory, getting 28.5-29.5 max with the PBE v1.62 Bios mod and those are the lowest hash rate Polaris cards I have. In any case, to maximize the hash rate of your AMD Polaris cards for ETH mining, you must overclock the core, memory and Bios mod the timings.

https://github.com/jaschaknack/PolarisBiosEditor







Mattthev also has a good guide to Bios modding your AMD cards to maximize their performance.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1954245.0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!