Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 04:25:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: My blockchain.info balance reads different vs my bitcoin core QT wallet  (Read 320 times)
FlatTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 09:27:30 PM
 #1

Q1.) can my bitcoin QT wallet balance read wrong?  (its fully synced)

Q2.)i just submitted 1 transaction on the blockchain and when i did i get some other transaction (which i did not make) paired with it, coming from my wallet going to another address blockchain.info says... however my bitcoin QT wallet has no history of this transaction.

This has happened to a few of my transactions, i dont understand.
1511195150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511195150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511195150
Reply with quote  #2

1511195150
Report to moderator
1511195150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511195150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511195150
Reply with quote  #2

1511195150
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511195150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511195150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511195150
Reply with quote  #2

1511195150
Report to moderator
1511195150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511195150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511195150
Reply with quote  #2

1511195150
Report to moderator
1511195150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511195150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511195150
Reply with quote  #2

1511195150
Report to moderator
Josepht
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 09:31:18 PM
 #2

The answer to question 1 is very easy. If there is any mistake made, it is not made by your bitcoin QT wallet, because the wallets (actually the addresses) are the backbone of the network. The webiste blockchain.info only read information, and mistakes can be made.

Regarding your second question, it can have to do with change. Whenever you send a transaction and the total input value is more then the amount you want to send, the wallet automatically creates a change wallet, where the rest of the input is sent to.

FlatTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 09:41:46 PM
 #3

The answer to question 1 is very easy. If there is any mistake made, it is not made by your bitcoin QT wallet, because the wallets (actually the addresses) are the backbone of the network. The webiste blockchain.info only read information, and mistakes can be made.

Regarding your second question, it can have to do with change. Whenever you send a transaction and the total input value is more then the amount you want to send, the wallet automatically creates a change wallet, where the rest of the input is sent to.

blockchair reads the same amount as blockchain.info.   

Right so when i send a transaction i've started to tick the box to minus the transaction fee from my transaction, is this why my transaction creates a change wallet ? Sometimes the amounts going into the second wallet are considerably more than i am sending - is this right? im not hacked or anything here?

So let me just confirm with you because i sent like 0.1 from my addy to exchange and apparently blockchain .info says i've sent 0.5 to someone else all included - Bitcoin QT has no history of this ofcourse like i said before.

Many thanks for any help understanding.
Josepht
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 10:01:51 PM
 #4

The answer to question 1 is very easy. If there is any mistake made, it is not made by your bitcoin QT wallet, because the wallets (actually the addresses) are the backbone of the network. The webiste blockchain.info only read information, and mistakes can be made.

Regarding your second question, it can have to do with change. Whenever you send a transaction and the total input value is more then the amount you want to send, the wallet automatically creates a change wallet, where the rest of the input is sent to.

blockchair reads the same amount as blockchain.info.   

Right so when i send a transaction i've started to tick the box to minus the transaction fee from my transaction, is this why my transaction creates a change wallet ? Sometimes the amounts going into the second wallet are considerably more than i am sending - is this right? im not hacked or anything here?

So let me just confirm with you because i sent like 0.1 from my addy to exchange and apparently blockchain .info says i've sent 0.5 to someone else all included - Bitcoin QT has no history of this ofcourse like i said before.

Many thanks for any help understanding.
I am not sure if I understand you correctly, but this is how it should go:


For example, you have 1 BTC in your address A.

You want to send 0.3 BTC to your friend with address B. The 0.3BTC goes to your friend, but the 0.7 BTC goes to your change address C. Whenever you create the transaction, it should look somewhat like this:
Address A  -1BTC.  ->  Address B + 0.3BTC & Address C + 0.7 BTC.

Can you maybe post the transaction ID, so that I (and others on this forum) can look into it.

DarkStar_
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784

Rent my signature!


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 10:03:18 PM
 #5

The answer to question 1 is very easy. If there is any mistake made, it is not made by your bitcoin QT wallet, because the wallets (actually the addresses) are the backbone of the network. The webiste blockchain.info only read information, and mistakes can be made.

Regarding your second question, it can have to do with change. Whenever you send a transaction and the total input value is more then the amount you want to send, the wallet automatically creates a change wallet, where the rest of the input is sent to.

blockchair reads the same amount as blockchain.info.   

Right so when i send a transaction i've started to tick the box to minus the transaction fee from my transaction, is this why my transaction creates a change wallet ? Sometimes the amounts going into the second wallet are considerably more than i am sending - is this right? im not hacked or anything here?

So let me just confirm with you because i sent like 0.1 from my addy to exchange and apparently blockchain .info says i've sent 0.5 to someone else all included - Bitcoin QT has no history of this ofcourse like i said before.

Many thanks for any help understanding.

Yes, it's normal. You aren't hacked (unless I'm understanding this incorrectly).

What BitcoinQT does by default is that it uses something called a change address - basically an address that the left over bitcoins go to, which belongs to you. This increases privacy as it's slightly harder to track, and it eventually splits your funds to multiple addresses making it harder for people to figure out how many coins you have.

When you spend Bitcoins, you have inputs and an output. The part of the input that isn't spent is the mining fee, so you need a change address if you don't spend everything.

HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:16:19 PM
 #6

The OP needs to go and read this: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Change

and to understand WHY Bitcoin doesn't send the exact amount specified, but spends the whole amount in the address (UTXO), they should go read this: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Coin_analogy

Bitcoin is NOT like fiat money bank accounts... and works completely different. It you try to treat it like a "normal" bank account, you are likely to get confused and/or into trouble and lose coins Undecided

FlatTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:21:18 PM
 #7

The answer to question 1 is very easy. If there is any mistake made, it is not made by your bitcoin QT wallet, because the wallets (actually the addresses) are the backbone of the network. The webiste blockchain.info only read information, and mistakes can be made.

Regarding your second question, it can have to do with change. Whenever you send a transaction and the total input value is more then the amount you want to send, the wallet automatically creates a change wallet, where the rest of the input is sent to.

blockchair reads the same amount as blockchain.info.  

Right so when i send a transaction i've started to tick the box to minus the transaction fee from my transaction, is this why my transaction creates a change wallet ? Sometimes the amounts going into the second wallet are considerably more than i am sending - is this right? im not hacked or anything here?

So let me just confirm with you because i sent like 0.1 from my addy to exchange and apparently blockchain .info says i've sent 0.5 to someone else all included - Bitcoin QT has no history of this ofcourse like i said before.

Many thanks for any help understanding.

Yes, it's normal. You aren't hacked (unless I'm understanding this incorrectly).

What BitcoinQT does by default is that it uses something called a change address - basically an address that the left over bitcoins go to, which belongs to you. This increases privacy as it's slightly harder to track, and it eventually splits your funds to multiple addresses making it harder for people to figure out how many coins you have.

When you spend Bitcoins, you have inputs and an output. The part of the input that isn't spent is the mining fee, so you need a change address if you don't spend everything.

Thanks that is reassuring.  Do you know if there is a way to see your change address list in your bitcoinQT wallet so i know i own them?

How does bitcoinQT pick the input amount? looking at my history its really random.

edit: ok guys im feeling like a donut, thank you all for help i need to read up and go through everything said.  Would still be nice to know where i see those change address lists in bitcoin QT though if anyone knows
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 01:02:21 AM
 #8

It doesn't show them anywhere in the GUI. You need to use the debug console to see them...

Help -> Debug Window -> Console. Then enter the command:

Code:
listunspent

You should be able to find the UTXO listed there with the associated TransactionID and Address.

FlatTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 08:42:17 AM
 #9

It doesn't show them anywhere in the GUI. You need to use the debug console to see them...

Help -> Debug Window -> Console. Then enter the command:

Code:
listunspent

You should be able to find the UTXO listed there with the associated TransactionID and Address.

ok thanks, i know this is maybe a stupid question but Is there any risk doing this or is the Debug Window/Console part of the wallet safe to use for the non technical?
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 06:30:13 PM
 #10

It can be "dangerous" if you start running commands without fully understanding the consequences and posting the output in threads or PMs etc...

Things like "dumpwallet" and "dumpprivkey" etc that expose sensitive info like private keys for instance.

Listunspent is relatively harmless, at worst it would reduce your privacy a little (shows addresses etc), but it should not cause loss of Bitcoins... You can see an explanation of the command and sample output here: https://chainquery.com/bitcoin-api/listunspent

My recommendation would be that of you are uncomfortable using the console... Don't!

FlatTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
October 22, 2017, 05:59:45 PM
 #11

It can be "dangerous" if you start running commands without fully understanding the consequences and posting the output in threads or PMs etc...

Things like "dumpwallet" and "dumpprivkey" etc that expose sensitive info like private keys for instance.

Listunspent is relatively harmless, at worst it would reduce your privacy a little (shows addresses etc), but it should not cause loss of Bitcoins... You can see an explanation of the command and sample output here: https://chainquery.com/bitcoin-api/listunspent

My recommendation would be that of you are uncomfortable using the console... Don't!

Ok thank you, i am playing around with test wallets on different computer. Generally i wont use it though as sounds risky.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!