Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 06:39:44 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon 741 came in! What PSU connectors????  (Read 466 times)
NCDiesel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 3


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 01:45:00 AM
 #1

Short version:

My PSUs:

EVGA SuperNova 650G2
EVGA SuperNove 750G2

My Miner:
Avalon 741

What cables that came with the PSU do I use?   The 8pinx2-6/2pinVGA?  

Long version

I bought these two power supplies - one for each side - for my Avalon 741.  I need six, 6 pin female connectors for power.   The power supplies  each came with two VGA cables(four total); 8 pin at the PSU end and two 6 pin connectors(one with a 2 pin breakout) at the device end.   Can I use three of the the four available VGA 6 pin (ignoring the 2 pin break-out) connectors on each PSU as power for the Avalon 741?   I am a software engineer, not a hardware guy.   But I *think* this is the PCI  I need as power for the 741.  I would look on the Avalon web site but it is down for maintenance  )-:  Plus - I don't think they say.  The video just shows a happy guy hooking stuff up - no real detail.

Connector size and gender is right and enough connectors - Just want to make sure this is correct(ie voltage, polarity, etc).

Thanks in advance for any confirmation!

PSU END:
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors.html#pciexpress8

Device END:

One of these
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors.html#pciexpress
And one of these
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors.html#pciexpress6plus2

PS:  I searched the forum but didn't see anything obviously directly related

-------------------------------------
4 Avalon 841s
1539844784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539844784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539844784
Reply with quote  #2

1539844784
Report to moderator
1539844784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539844784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539844784
Reply with quote  #2

1539844784
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539844784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539844784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539844784
Reply with quote  #2

1539844784
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1352


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 02:37:36 AM
 #2

You did wrong you need six cables.

Three separate from one psu on the left side of the miner

Three separate from other psu on the right side of the miner.

Return them

Evga 750 p2 works has three separate cables

More efficient

And 2 of them are about the price

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NCDiesel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 3


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 04:49:10 AM
 #3

Thanks!

I did misspeak - my 750 does have three separate cables(actually 4 I think but only need three for one side).    But by weird coincidence an ex-PC repairman friend came by.  After handing him a beer he looked at it.  He thought that using the "daisy-chain" 6pins on the 650 for 2 of the 6 power connectors would be perfectly fine.  With my fingers crossed we powered it up.  Works fine and the infrared thermometer indicates no heat-up in the cables or connectors after about an hour.

So I am good.

By the way, for novices, it is not obvious that you need to connect the CPU cable, leaving the "tester" in place to wake up the power supplies.  I put this tidbit here in the post for future searches.

I'm mining!


You did wrong you need six cables.

Three separate from one psu on the left side of the miner

Three separate from other psu on the right side of the miner.

Return them

Evga 750 p2 works has three separate cables

More efficient

And 2 of them are about the price

-------------------------------------
4 Avalon 841s
Steamtyme
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 434
Merit: 390

Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 07:10:46 PM
 #4

Glad to hear you are up and running. In the future or when you upgrade you might want to look into getting a single Psu  to run 1 or 2 machines. Depending in if you have 110 or 220 volt service.

Phil had some good advice on Psu's from parallel miner, and myself I like Amitylabs  through their ebay store. They are a bettet quality Psu's  meant for full service 24/7.

Do you mean the paperclip trick to tell the Psu to stay on, I remember stumbling upon it while googling information when I was looking at getting started.

leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1022



View Profile
October 19, 2017, 08:02:27 PM
 #5

Parallelminer also has a nice coupon code "slush" right now for 5% off IIRC. The paperclip trick is easy to do but if you somehow can't do it people do sell switch like things that do the same thing. Here's how you can do it if you get a standard computer PSU: http://aphnetworks.com/tutorials/psu_paperclip_trick

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
NCDiesel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 3


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 04:21:15 AM
 #6

 I do mean the paperclip trick, but the EGVA power supplies come with a connector, that basically does the same thing so you can test the power supplies to ensure they will power up. You can simply leave it in place and use the power supply.

Glad to hear you are up and running. In the future or when you upgrade you might want to look into getting a single Psu  to run 1 or 2 machines. Depending in if you have 110 or 220 volt service.

Phil had some good advice on Psu's from parallel miner, and myself I like Amitylabs  through their ebay store. They are a bettet quality Psu's  meant for full service 24/7.

Do you mean the paperclip trick to tell the Psu to stay on, I remember stumbling upon it while googling information when I was looking at getting started.

-------------------------------------
4 Avalon 841s
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!