Bitcoin Forum
February 07, 2023, 07:20:21 PM *
News: Community Awards results
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help me out. P6T7 Supercomputer w/win7 only boots w/4 GPUs  (Read 610 times)
ocmoho (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:04:25 AM
 #1

So here goes,
I have 7 MSI 6850's that i am mining with, scrypt, windows 7 64 bit 12GB of ram.
Xeon W3520, powered PCIE risers.
heres how I went:
fresh win install( Win seen all 7 6850s as unknown graphics adapter>install mobo drivers>install SDK& Catalyst 12.8> then windows wont boot with more than 4 GPUs attached, it freezes on the Windows logo, the second i disconnect all but 4 it boots fine.
anybody have this problem? Im thinking of trying out ubuntu, if I cant fix this, but havent worked in linux for a long time.
1675797621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675797621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675797621
Reply with quote  #2

1675797621
Report to moderator
1675797621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675797621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675797621
Reply with quote  #2

1675797621
Report to moderator
1675797621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675797621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675797621
Reply with quote  #2

1675797621
Report to moderator
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675797621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675797621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675797621
Reply with quote  #2

1675797621
Report to moderator
MashRinx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 11, 2013, 10:08:07 PM
 #2

What's the motherboard model?  What power supplies (I would imagine there is more than one?) powering the GPUs?  I don't recall seeing ANY thread where anyone has gotten more than 6 GPUs working in Windows 7 (and the one thread I recall is was quite a challenge), but I may be mistaken.  I am pretty sure I have seen linux miners with up to 8 cards in a single machine, but I am not one of those miners and won't be much help in that case.
ocmoho (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 11, 2013, 10:34:24 PM
 #3

its an asus P6T7 WS Supercomputer.
two psus are an OCZ 860W as well as a coolermaster 750w.
even six i would be happy. I can get my hands on win8 if that matters, or makes it easier.
MashRinx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 03:29:00 AM
 #4

No, I don't think Win  8 will gain you anything at all.  I installed Win 8 for a little while on my primary machine (several weeks) to try to give it a fair look, but I'm back on Win 7 now.  The whole tile, no start button thing on a normal KB/Mouse machine just didn't work for me.  maybe Windows Blue will be an improvement, but I will be waiting quite a while to test that theory after release.


The only experience I had with multiiple PSU on a single mining machine wasn't a good one, but I admit I bought crap PSUs to try it too.  There are some threads, probably old, on the best way to combine multiple PSUs because of issues if you don't tie them together, and I'd point you to them if I know where to find them, but it's bee n a really long time since I've seen those.

When you are trying the 4th GPU?  Is that still on the 850, hoping to save the 750 for the last 3 (or 2) cards?  I'm pretty sure an 850 PSU is not going to push 4 cards well, regardless of the model, when given the other components also hanging off of that PSU.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!