Bitcoin Forum
August 05, 2021, 08:28:17 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SOLVED (sorta): QR Code Plugin on Linux  (Read 1737 times)
IveBeenBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 449
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 15, 2013, 09:17:33 AM
Last edit: June 15, 2013, 07:56:01 PM by IveBeenBit
 #1

For the purposes of this post, you should consider me a linux n00b. I'm running Linux Mint.

I can't seem to get the webcam QR scanner to work in the most recent version of Electrum. The help window tells me to install the zbar package and gives a URL to the zbar homepage.

Instead of using the download from that URL, I try to install whatever software I can via the official repositories. In this case, when I search the suppositories, there is about a dozen different zbar packages I can choose from.

python-zbarpygtk
libbarcode-zbar-perl
zbar-dbg

And so on.

If anyone can tell me what package(s) to install for Mint/Ubuntu, I would appreciate it. I already have the following installed:
libzbar0
zbar-tools

But I guess those two are not enough.

This is an older version of Mint running an LXDE, if it matters (does it?)

Thank you.
1628195297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1628195297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1628195297
Reply with quote  #2

1628195297
Report to moderator
1628195297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1628195297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1628195297
Reply with quote  #2

1628195297
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1628195297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1628195297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1628195297
Reply with quote  #2

1628195297
Report to moderator
1628195297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1628195297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1628195297
Reply with quote  #2

1628195297
Report to moderator
1628195297
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1628195297

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1628195297
Reply with quote  #2

1628195297
Report to moderator
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2013, 05:45:14 PM
 #2

If you have pip installed try pip install zbar. If you don't have pip installed try apt-get install python-pip first.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
IveBeenBit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 449
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:00:42 PM
 #3

Thanks, Tachikoma, but that wasn't the problem.

I did finally get zbar running. Usage instructions.

So what I do now is open a terminal and type

zbarcam > ~/Desktop/BTCaddress.txt

Zbar will scan the barcode. You'll know it has grabbed it when you see the thin green box around the QR Code on your monitor. Once it grabs the QRCode, it puts it into a text file on the desktop. Close the video preview window to exit zbarcam.

Then double click the text file, cut & paste the address into the Bitcoin client.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!