Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 04:45:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum wallet keeps on "synchronizing"  (Read 621 times)
TeePee
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 05:15:47 AM
 #1

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?
1511585125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511585125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511585125
Reply with quote  #2

1511585125
Report to moderator
1511585125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511585125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511585125
Reply with quote  #2

1511585125
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511585125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511585125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511585125
Reply with quote  #2

1511585125
Report to moderator
1511585125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511585125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511585125
Reply with quote  #2

1511585125
Report to moderator
Lucius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile WWW
November 04, 2017, 09:26:22 AM
 #2

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

       ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
      ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
,CoinPayments,
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
TeePee
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 02:53:00 PM
 #3

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

I tried to follow up your advice. But when I click on the red dot (or arrows when its synchronizing) in the lower right corner, then I do indeed get a list with possible servers, but there is no button that says "connect". All I can do is, un-tick the auto-connect box and then select a random server in the list and press "ok". But then nothing gets connected. The synchronizing arrows in the right lower corner then change to a red dot and it says "not connected". How can I connect? Restarting the laptop also didnt help cause when I open the Electrum wallet again then it still shows not connected.
Potato Chips
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 406


JOLYY - The future of beauty!


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 04:14:37 PM
 #4

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

I tried to follow up your advice. But when I click on the red dot (or arrows when its synchronizing) in the lower right corner, then I do indeed get a list with possible servers, but there is no button that says "connect". All I can do is, un-tick the auto-connect box and then select a random server in the list and press "ok". But then nothing gets connected. The synchronizing arrows in the right lower corner then change to a red dot and it says "not connected". How can I connect? Restarting the laptop also didnt help cause when I open the Electrum wallet again then it still shows not connected.

After you have unticked the select server automatically box, you have to right click the said server and click Use as server. Heres a tutorial with pictures [Note that he's not using the latest version so some options might not be placed on the same tab like the select server automatically box which is now on the Server Tab ].

If it doesn't work:
1). Make sure you have the latest version which is 3.0: https://electrum.org/#download
2). Check if your firewall/antivirus is blocking electrum.
3). Try deleting the blockchain_headers file

            ███           ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄           ███       ▀███          ▀██▄ ▄██▀          ███▀
            ███         ▄████▀▀    ▀▀████▄         ███         ███          ▀█████           ███
            ███       ▄███▀            ▀███▄       ███          ▀██▄         ▄███▄         ▄██▀
            ███      ███▀                ▀███      ███            ███       ███▀███       ███
            ███     ███▀                  ▀███     ███             ▀██▄   ▄██▀   ▀██▄   ▄██▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███               ███▄██▀       ▀██▄██▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███                ▀███▀         ▀███▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███                 ███           ███
            ███     ███▄                  ▄███     ███                 ███           ███
            ███      ███▄                ▄███      ███                 ███           ███
           ███▀       ▀███▄            ▄███▀       ▀███                ███           ███
██▄▄▄  ▄▄▄███▀          ▀████▄▄    ▄▄████▀          ▀███▄▄▄  ▄▄▄██     ███           ███
▀▀████████▀▀              ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀              ▀▀████████▀▀     ███           ███
           T H E   F U T U R E             
                       o f   B E A U T Y


 ▀█▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄
   ▀█▄      ▄▄███▀▀▀▀
    ▄██     ▀▀▀     ▄▄▄▄
 ▄▄▄ ██         ▄     ▀▀██▄
▀█▀█▀█▀▄       █▄     ▄██▀
               ▀████████
               ▀ ▀ ▀ ▀ ▀


      ▄▄
     ▀█▀▀▀

    █▄
     ███████▀▀▀
    █▄
      ▀▀▀▀▀
TeePee
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 04:39:03 PM
 #5

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

I tried to follow up your advice. But when I click on the red dot (or arrows when its synchronizing) in the lower right corner, then I do indeed get a list with possible servers, but there is no button that says "connect". All I can do is, un-tick the auto-connect box and then select a random server in the list and press "ok". But then nothing gets connected. The synchronizing arrows in the right lower corner then change to a red dot and it says "not connected". How can I connect? Restarting the laptop also didnt help cause when I open the Electrum wallet again then it still shows not connected.

After you have unticked the select server automatically box, you have to right click the said server and click Use as server. Heres a tutorial with pictures [Note that he's not using the latest version so some options might not be placed on the same tab like the select server automatically box which is now on the Server Tab ].

If it doesn't work:
1). Make sure you have the latest version which is 3.0: https://electrum.org/#download
2). Check if your firewall/antivirus is blocking electrum.
3). Try deleting the blockchain_headers file

When I right-click on the servers nothing happens. It's not possible to right-click those on my Electrum version. I do have an old version (2.5.2) but I never had any problems with it. I was just hesitant to update to a newer version cause I was scared something might go wrong and since all had been working fine up until 2 days ago I had no real reason to update my Electrum.
I will download the latest version if options 2 and 3 you mentioned don't work.
Can you please explain how I can try option 3 in more detail? Where can I find those files and how can I delete them? Yes, Im a noob
Potato Chips
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 406


JOLYY - The future of beauty!


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 07:08:02 PM
 #6

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

I tried to follow up your advice. But when I click on the red dot (or arrows when its synchronizing) in the lower right corner, then I do indeed get a list with possible servers, but there is no button that says "connect". All I can do is, un-tick the auto-connect box and then select a random server in the list and press "ok". But then nothing gets connected. The synchronizing arrows in the right lower corner then change to a red dot and it says "not connected". How can I connect? Restarting the laptop also didnt help cause when I open the Electrum wallet again then it still shows not connected.

After you have unticked the select server automatically box, you have to right click the said server and click Use as server. Heres a tutorial with pictures [Note that he's not using the latest version so some options might not be placed on the same tab like the select server automatically box which is now on the Server Tab ].

If it doesn't work:
1). Make sure you have the latest version which is 3.0: https://electrum.org/#download
2). Check if your firewall/antivirus is blocking electrum.
3). Try deleting the blockchain_headers file

When I right-click on the servers nothing happens. It's not possible to right-click those on my Electrum version. I do have an old version (2.5.2) but I never had any problems with it. I was just hesitant to update to a newer version cause I was scared something might go wrong and since all had been working fine up until 2 days ago I had no real reason to update my Electrum.
I will download the latest version if options 2 and 3 you mentioned don't work.
Can you please explain how I can try option 3 in more detail? Where can I find those files and how can I delete them? Yes, Im a noob

That must be the problem, you need to update your wallet as a lot of essential changes has been made. Don't worry nothing will go wrong as long as you'll get it from their official site l https://electrum.org/#download l you can also check them by verifying the PGP signature. For now, update your wallet first and if it still doesn't sync do the other options.

For option 3:Hold the windows button + R and type %AppData%/Electrum and then a new window will pop up, you can find it there.

            ███           ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄           ███       ▀███          ▀██▄ ▄██▀          ███▀
            ███         ▄████▀▀    ▀▀████▄         ███         ███          ▀█████           ███
            ███       ▄███▀            ▀███▄       ███          ▀██▄         ▄███▄         ▄██▀
            ███      ███▀                ▀███      ███            ███       ███▀███       ███
            ███     ███▀                  ▀███     ███             ▀██▄   ▄██▀   ▀██▄   ▄██▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███               ███▄██▀       ▀██▄██▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███                ▀███▀         ▀███▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███                 ███           ███
            ███     ███▄                  ▄███     ███                 ███           ███
            ███      ███▄                ▄███      ███                 ███           ███
           ███▀       ▀███▄            ▄███▀       ▀███                ███           ███
██▄▄▄  ▄▄▄███▀          ▀████▄▄    ▄▄████▀          ▀███▄▄▄  ▄▄▄██     ███           ███
▀▀████████▀▀              ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀              ▀▀████████▀▀     ███           ███
           T H E   F U T U R E             
                       o f   B E A U T Y


 ▀█▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄
   ▀█▄      ▄▄███▀▀▀▀
    ▄██     ▀▀▀     ▄▄▄▄
 ▄▄▄ ██         ▄     ▀▀██▄
▀█▀█▀█▀▄       █▄     ▄██▀
               ▀████████
               ▀ ▀ ▀ ▀ ▀


      ▄▄
     ▀█▀▀▀

    █▄
     ███████▀▀▀
    █▄
      ▀▀▀▀▀
TeePee
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 03:11:48 AM
 #7

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

I tried to follow up your advice. But when I click on the red dot (or arrows when its synchronizing) in the lower right corner, then I do indeed get a list with possible servers, but there is no button that says "connect". All I can do is, un-tick the auto-connect box and then select a random server in the list and press "ok". But then nothing gets connected. The synchronizing arrows in the right lower corner then change to a red dot and it says "not connected". How can I connect? Restarting the laptop also didnt help cause when I open the Electrum wallet again then it still shows not connected.

After you have unticked the select server automatically box, you have to right click the said server and click Use as server. Heres a tutorial with pictures [Note that he's not using the latest version so some options might not be placed on the same tab like the select server automatically box which is now on the Server Tab ].

If it doesn't work:
1). Make sure you have the latest version which is 3.0: https://electrum.org/#download
2). Check if your firewall/antivirus is blocking electrum.
3). Try deleting the blockchain_headers file

When I right-click on the servers nothing happens. It's not possible to right-click those on my Electrum version. I do have an old version (2.5.2) but I never had any problems with it. I was just hesitant to update to a newer version cause I was scared something might go wrong and since all had been working fine up until 2 days ago I had no real reason to update my Electrum.
I will download the latest version if options 2 and 3 you mentioned don't work.
Can you please explain how I can try option 3 in more detail? Where can I find those files and how can I delete them? Yes, Im a noob

That must be the problem, you need to update your wallet as a lot of essential changes has been made. Don't worry nothing will go wrong as long as you'll get it from their official site l https://electrum.org/#download l you can also check them by verifying the PGP signature. For now, update your wallet first and if it still doesn't sync do the other options.

For option 3:Hold the windows button + R and type %AppData%/Electrum and then a new window will pop up, you can find it there.


Oh dear, what I feared has become reality. Tried to update Electrum to the newest version by downloading the newest version of Electrum for Windows on the website you gave me. It all looked to go fine, but then after the installation was complete I could not find a new shortcut on my desktop. Only the old one to my old wallet but it cannot open anymore as it gives the following error message: "Error loading Python DLL" and then it says in my own language something like "invalid access to memory location".
Also rebooting my laptop did not solve this. And when I search for "electrum" in my whole laptop I cannot find any maps with Electrum, only a shortcut to the old version which is not working anymore.

Any idea how to solve this? Sad
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 434

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 05:25:23 AM
 #8

Tried to update Electrum to the newest version by downloading the newest version of Electrum for Windows on the website you gave me. It all looked to go fine, but then after the installation was complete I could not find a new shortcut on my desktop. Only the old one to my old wallet but it cannot open anymore as it gives the following error message: "Error loading Python DLL" and then it says in my own language something like "invalid access to memory location".
Also rebooting my laptop did not solve this. And when I search for "electrum" in my whole laptop I cannot find any maps with Electrum, only a shortcut to the old version which is not working anymore.

Any idea how to solve this? Sad
You're probably running Windows 7 or Windows 8... Electrum v3 is currently "borked" on Win7/8 (https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/3171) Sad

To workaround this, go and get the previous version - Electrum v2.9.3 from here: https://download.electrum.org/2.9.3/

Windows Installer: https://download.electrum.org/2.9.3/electrum-2.9.3-setup.exe
Standalone: https://download.electrum.org/2.9.3/electrum-2.9.3.exe
Portable: https://download.electrum.org/2.9.3/electrum-2.9.3-portable.exe

Install that and it should work just fine Wink

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2017, 04:47:23 PM
 #9

Use the installer version for 2.9.3 not any of the others.

TeePee
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 12:37:30 AM
 #10

Thanks HCP and Abdussamad, it works fine now with the 2.9.3 version and it synchronized immediately!
potatocrushr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 12, 2017, 11:41:02 PM
 #11

Hi,

Since about 24 hours my Electrum wallets keeps on synchronizing whenever I open it. I have rebooted my laptop several times, tried to access with and without VPN, restarted router. Did everything I could but I keep having this problem.
I never had this before and I have been using Electrum already 2 years.

I received a payment 2 days ago but I cannot see the amount of it. It keeps showing "unverified" and zero as amount even though I know for sure it will not be zero.

Any ideas how to fix this?

The problem is most likely in server your Electrum wallet is connected,so in order to change server just click on red dot in right corner and uncheck automatic connection and select some other server from available list.After that your wallet should be sync very quickly and problem should disappear.

I tried to follow up your advice. But when I click on the red dot (or arrows when its synchronizing) in the lower right corner, then I do indeed get a list with possible servers, but there is no button that says "connect". All I can do is, un-tick the auto-connect box and then select a random server in the list and press "ok". But then nothing gets connected. The synchronizing arrows in the right lower corner then change to a red dot and it says "not connected". How can I connect? Restarting the laptop also didnt help cause when I open the Electrum wallet again then it still shows not connected.

After you have unticked the select server automatically box, you have to right click the said server and click Use as server. Heres a tutorial with pictures [Note that he's not using the latest version so some options might not be placed on the same tab like the select server automatically box which is now on the Server Tab ].

If it doesn't work:
1). Make sure you have the latest version which is 3.0: https://electrum.org/#download
2). Check if your firewall/antivirus is blocking electrum.
3). Try deleting the blockchain_headers file

When I right-click on the servers nothing happens. It's not possible to right-click those on my Electrum version. I do have an old version (2.5.2) but I never had any problems with it. I was just hesitant to update to a newer version cause I was scared something might go wrong and since all had been working fine up until 2 days ago I had no real reason to update my Electrum.
I will download the latest version if options 2 and 3 you mentioned don't work.
Can you please explain how I can try option 3 in more detail? Where can I find those files and how can I delete them? Yes, Im a noob

That must be the problem, you need to update your wallet as a lot of essential changes has been made. Don't worry nothing will go wrong as long as you'll get it from their official site l https://electrum.org/#download l you can also check them by verifying the PGP signature. For now, update your wallet first and if it still doesn't sync do the other options.

For option 3:Hold the windows button + R and type %AppData%/Electrum and then a new window will pop up, you can find it there.



Hi!! I’m having this same issue, but my version is 2.7.9. This is my second time transferring btc to my wallet, the first time worked perfectly and fast, but this time it’s stuck saying it’s synchronizing with the two blue arrows. When I️ I unclick the auto-connect box and click okay, mine also turns to a red circle. I’ve tried restarting computer etc, nothing’s working. I’m scared to upgrade to the most recent version of Electrum and ending up losing this transaction that “isn’t verified” because Electrum won’t stop synchronizing. Any advice?
potatocrushr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 13, 2017, 12:45:34 AM
 #12

Also, I am super confused on how to download and update to newer version of electrum because I am using tails on a usb. So I do not know where to save the files or anything. I was able to follow a step by step guide when I originally set all this up and I can't find any guides on how to update.
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 434

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
November 13, 2017, 12:52:19 AM
 #13

Upgrade to at least v2.9.3... (note: If you have Windows 7, v3.x may have some issues... If you have Windows 10 or Linux or Mac, v3.x should be fine)

Do a search for the transaction ID on your favourite block explorer and see what the current status of the transaction is. As long as that transaction exists in the mempool as an unconfirmed transaction or it is already confirmed on the blockchain, you won't "lose it"...

I'm not sure how exactly you upgrade on Tails... I've heard various reports that it can be a bit problematic...

Did you try following the Linux install instructions here: https://electrum.org/#download Huh

Although looking at the docs for Tails it seems to wipe any additional software every time you boot up... You'll probably need to get support from the Tails peeps on how to upgrade and/or install a newer version of Electrum.



potatocrushr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 13, 2017, 01:11:36 AM
 #14

Upgrade to at least v2.9.3... (note: If you have Windows 7, v3.x may have some issues... If you have Windows 10 or Linux or Mac, v3.x should be fine)

Do a search for the transaction ID on your favourite block explorer and see what the current status of the transaction is. As long as that transaction exists in the mempool as an unconfirmed transaction or it is already confirmed on the blockchain, you won't "lose it"...

I'm not sure how exactly you upgrade on Tails... I've heard various reports that it can be a bit problematic...

Did you try following the Linux install instructions here: https://electrum.org/#download Huh

Although looking at the docs for Tails it seems to wipe any additional software every time you boot up... You'll probably need to get support from the Tails peeps on how to upgrade and/or install a newer version of Electrum.




I just checked the transaction and it says it is confirmed. And I am using Windows 7 but like I think I said I use tails on a USB drive which i startup on the bios screen and am trying to figure out the steps to upgrade while in Tails.

I was hoping I wouldn't need to upgrade since it handled my transaction three days ago just fine but now it is stuck in synchronizing mode and won't connect.
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2017, 04:27:45 AM
 #15

How to upgrade on tails: https://www.reddit.com/r/Electrum/comments/78p9dz/electrum_in_running_in_tails_os_does_not/dovztij/?utm_content=permalink&utm_medium=front&utm_source=reddit&utm_name=Electrum

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!