Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:35:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New mining setup  (Read 1123 times)
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:09:23 PM
 #1

Hey thinking about sticking the below system together. its around 900-1000usd as I know I can get some of the parts cheaper elseware. ob I know that I may or may never get the money back. but hey I am not bothered about that.

Cooler Master Silent Pro Modular 850W Power Supply                                                                              £119.98
XFX ATI Radeon HD 5830 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card                                                      £94.99    x3
Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 AMD 990X (Socket AM3+) DDR3 PCI-Express ATX Motherboard                                      £89.99
Cooler Master Elite Case - Black                                                                                                      £33.98
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA 6Gb/s 16MB Cache - OEM (ST3500413AS)                                      £29.99
OCZ Gold 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Low-Voltage Dual Channel Kit (OCZ3G1333LV4GK)      £27.98
AMD Sempron 140 2.70GHz (Socket AM3) Processor - Retail                                                                      £25.99

Any changes you peeps would make or does it look like a solid setup? I do plan on running windows so decided to use a HD rather than a memory stick and I know I will need dummy plugs.
1481135735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135735
Reply with quote  #2

1481135735
Report to moderator
1481135735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135735
Reply with quote  #2

1481135735
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481135735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135735
Reply with quote  #2

1481135735
Report to moderator
1481135735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135735
Reply with quote  #2

1481135735
Report to moderator
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:17:05 PM
 #2

There are only two things. You don't need more then 2 gb of ram on windows and you don't need more then 1 gb of ram on linux. Also your case isn't specific enough to see it exactly just make sure your case can fit three cards.
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:22:21 PM
 #3

aye the case will take 3 cards (just) and a few fans 6 in total. Only reason I went for 4 gig of ram is its cheap and not much difference between just getting 2 or 4.
CydeWeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 09:03:32 PM
 #4

I made much the same rig as that recently, and for the same price, except I did it with 4x5830s.  I did run a more expensive motherboard that had 4x PCIe x16 slots, so to shave off that additional money, I ditched the case, ran with only 2 GiB RAM, and ditched the HDD in favor of a flash stick loaded with Linuxcoin.

You mentioned you're planning to run Windows -- well you forgot the cost of that, unless you're planning on being a pirate.
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 07:56:39 AM
 #5

I have a spare 7 licence. But might install hyper-v.
hennessy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:16:11 AM
 #6

If the rig is going to be dedicated for mining only, I recommend not using a case since the cards will always run hotter inside. Just put the motherboard on a non-conductive surface and put some fans right above the graphic cards. You will have a much wider overclocking range. Especially with the 5830 you can easily squeeze out another 50MH/s for each card.

Also, if you have the chance, look for a 4 slot PCI-E mainboard. The MSI GD-70 boards were in the same price range one week ago (However I don't know how they are availiable in the UK right now), solid products and perfect for mining. You will always have the option to put and additional card in.

If I was of any help, donations are appreciated - 1FrCtiQsVoy2YTTYqgjsvVvdgvHS4Umah4
8x Sapphire 5830 @950/300 in 2 dedicated mining rigs -> 2500Mhash/s
hennessy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:17:57 AM
 #7

oops double post, delete please

If I was of any help, donations are appreciated - 1FrCtiQsVoy2YTTYqgjsvVvdgvHS4Umah4
8x Sapphire 5830 @950/300 in 2 dedicated mining rigs -> 2500Mhash/s
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:31:24 AM
 #8

Where are you getting the 5830's lol.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 01:32:13 PM
 #9

You just have to watch newegg like a hawk Tongue
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!