Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:31:17 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Super Noob Question.  (Read 725 times)
Quantus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 668



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:21:00 PM
 #1

ok so I have my Mining rigs up and running and I just got my power bill and it went up by 200 bucks!
i pay .20 cents per kwh. yeah it sucks
  But here is my Question. I am running my rigs off old HHDs 4 prong power adapters. could I save a little bit of electricity by runing my OS off 20GB memory sticks?
If this is a re-tarted ass question I am sorry  Cheesy   

(I am a 1MB block supporter who thinks all users should be using Full-Node clients)
Avoid the XT shills, they only want to destroy bitcoin, their hubris and greed will destroy us.
Know your adversary https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKorP55Aqvg
1480717877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717877
Reply with quote  #2

1480717877
Report to moderator
1480717877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717877
Reply with quote  #2

1480717877
Report to moderator
1480717877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717877
Reply with quote  #2

1480717877
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480717877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717877
Reply with quote  #2

1480717877
Report to moderator
1480717877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717877
Reply with quote  #2

1480717877
Report to moderator
btcgames
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:23:41 PM
 #2


You can save some, but it's unlikely to be a significant amount compared to the power draw of a video card.  I have a couple of mining systems that I boot a USB install of LinuxCoin on, then once it's started and mining, I pull the USB drive and use it to boot the other systems.

1ESeKMYcUJE61Vf2wjtimWrsPqA8hgk1Kf
Quantus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 668



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:32:01 PM
 #3

do i need to know any comands for this OS? i have used unbuntu before it was easy.
do i need UNetbootin to install it onto a stick?

(I am a 1MB block supporter who thinks all users should be using Full-Node clients)
Avoid the XT shills, they only want to destroy bitcoin, their hubris and greed will destroy us.
Know your adversary https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKorP55Aqvg
btcgames
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:37:07 PM
 #4


LinuxCoin is based on Debian (Ubuntu is also based on Debian), so it shouldn't be too much of an adjustment.  You can get more info here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/LinuxCoin

1ESeKMYcUJE61Vf2wjtimWrsPqA8hgk1Kf
kylegates
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 08:39:00 PM
 #5

What are your "mining rigs" comprised of?
Acidka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 08:43:49 PM
 #6

u need any usb flash drive > 1gb
Maxim Gladkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 09:30:42 PM
 #7

It's better to use 2gb flash and install LinuxCoin via permanent install.
It will store Linux on 1gb and other information, that will be available between restarts, on other 1gb of the flash drive.

karbonxx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10

yaya


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:40:41 PM
 #8

What kind of Video Cards are you using or CPU?

https://cex.io/r/1/karbonxx/0/
sega01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 267



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 11:12:03 PM
 #9

I would stick a Kill-A-Watt on your mining rig and see what it draws. 20 cents a kW/hour is awfully expensive.

Some rough math suggests that your box would have to be using almost 1.4kW to get to the 1000 kW/hours necessary for a bill increase like that in a month. What kind of hardware is in it? I've never seen anything draw more than 400 watts myself, but I guess higher is feasible. That much seems likely more due to A/C for the summer heat than just your mining rig, but I could be mistaken.

http://answer.market/ (Answer questions and do tasks for Bitcoin) http://coinfee.net/ (Bitcoin payment processor with payment splitting support)
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 11:17:43 PM
 #10

An average hard drive uses 7 to 10 watts running full out - which in a mining rig, it shouldn't be doing. It uses much less when idle.

Worst case monthly cost for your hard disk at your cited energy costs is $1.44 per month.

A single 5830, on the other hand, would cost about $15.55 and one of my 400W rigs would eat up $57.6 per month. I've got six of those rigs and energy here in NV costs 11.28 cents per kW/H. My bill, including air conditioning, went up almost $300 per month. I envy your paltry $200  Grin

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!