Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 08:20:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How much wattage are the 14TH actually pulling?  (Read 935 times)
banman24
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 05:24:48 AM
 #21

1.45KW

Taken straight off the PDU Strip
1511122849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511122849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511122849
Reply with quote  #2

1511122849
Report to moderator
1511122849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511122849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511122849
Reply with quote  #2

1511122849
Report to moderator
1511122849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511122849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511122849
Reply with quote  #2

1511122849
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511122849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511122849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511122849
Reply with quote  #2

1511122849
Report to moderator
big al
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 05:31:20 AM
 #22

I'm going to guess if you have higher voltage in the house you may be able to get away with running 4.  Short runs of wire, low voltage drops etc.  will really help as well as efficient PSUs.  Also the hotter ambient is the more amps will be drawn obviously.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 09:57:45 AM
 #23

So, the electrician is coming tomorrow morning to get me set up to mine with x4 S9's. I am still a little unclear as to whether or not I can put all 4 miners on a 30AMP circuit, but I don't know what other choice I'll have. My concern now it that the APW3++ PSU are 1600W. Does this mean they are always running at 1600W or that is the maximum that they run at? I will be receiving the late November batch of S9's and they are rated at ~1350W. Thus, 1350 x 4 = 5400W. If the 30A circuit has a voltage of 220, then that is 6600W....5400W/6600W = right around 81%. Close enough to run continuously with no worries? However, if I am wrong and the PSU's are always running @ 1600W, then putting 4 on one 30A circuit may not work. Can someone please clear this up for me? Do the APW3++ run at 1600W always? Or, is that just the maximum that they run to accommodate whatever device they are dowering?

Thanks in advance!

if  you do 220  and not 238-242 

you will run 3 not 4

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NateTGreat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 07:53:58 PM
 #24

'if  you do 220  and not 238-242  

you will run 3 not 4'

I don't know how that makes sense. If the math is done correctly, it is 5400 watts on a (220V x 30A) 6600 watt circuit. 5400/6600 = 81%. If the rule is no more than 80% continuously, then this will work, yes? Can you please explain why I could only run 3 and not 4 on a 220V outlet?
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 08:08:45 PM
 #25

You're underestimating the actual power draw of the S9+PSU, that's how. 

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP), & S9-13.5
NateTGreat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
November 16, 2017, 09:05:27 PM
 #26

Ok, so if the power draw is 1450W, then 1450*4=5800W. If the circuit is 240V, then it would accommodate 7200 watts. 5800/7200 =80.5%. Thus, if the circuit is 240V, then this is totlly possible to run 4. Please tell me if this reasonable.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!