Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 10:37:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].

Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can Imported Wallets Get a Seed?  (Read 106 times)
kinnerc

Activity: 1

View Profile
November 13, 2017, 11:20:04 PM

Hi Folks:

Newbie here, gods help us all!  Smiley

I had an old, classic Bitcoin wallet that required the full blockchain to work. Not bad for 2012, but, today, not so much.

I decided to use Electrum as my client under Linux. Installed, set up, created a standard wallet as per the directions, setting up a wallet with a seed.

Having the private keys from my old wallet, I proceeded to try to sweep them into the wallet, but was told that I didn't have enough money in the wallet to do that (at the time I had 6 mBTC in there). I made up a new wallet and imported the private keys into it. As per the documentation this wallet did not have a seed, but I have put a password on it. When I look at the wallet it says "Wallet Name [Imported]" which makes sense.

Can I get this wallet to have a seed? Or would that require me to make a new wallet with a seed and sweeping the private keys from this imported wallet into that one?  If that is the case, why does sweeping incur a transaction fee?

Thanks much!

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bL4nkcode
Copper Member

Activity: 672

Trusted Escrow Service? Go here -> goo.gl/qSGvAk

View Profile WWW
November 14, 2017, 03:02:48 AM

Can I get this wallet to have a seed?