Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2022, 06:40:17 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69693 times)
thomasvk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 18, 2018, 09:42:01 PM
 #1121

Hello,

I've been running a ML2 for about 2 days, pretty much at stock settings (upped freq to 620) on a macbook pro usb3 port.
It has been running stable for that time, but suddenly the hashrate dropped to 2.1 - 2.5 MH, it used to be stable at 3 - 3.2 MH.

Am I missing something right here? My setup didn't change (no other devices attached).
For stable 3 MH you will need more than 500 mA. Can macbook pro usb port suplly current more than that?

I have no idea, I can only tell what I saw these last 2 days.

This is what system info says

Current Available (mA):   500
Current Required (mA):   100
Extra Operating Current (mA):   0

Apple docs:

Apple computers equipped with USB 3 provide up to 900 mA (milliamps) at 5 V (Volts) to most Apple USB peripherals as well as all third-party USB peripherals that comply with USB specifications.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204377
According to docs, it can provide from 500 mA up to 1100 mA, depends how much attached device is in some way compatible with oem apple devices. Try to lower clock speed @540... Dropping hasrate is usually all about lack of juice from usb port...

EDIT: 620 is not available clock speed listed on first page.

oh wow..
Must be a typo, I'll see what fixing this does.

Thank you.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
thomasvk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 19, 2018, 07:22:39 AM
Last edit: February 19, 2018, 08:30:42 AM by thomasvk
 #1122

Hello,

I've been running a ML2 for about 2 days, pretty much at stock settings (upped freq to 620) on a macbook pro usb3 port.
It has been running stable for that time, but suddenly the hashrate dropped to 2.1 - 2.5 MH, it used to be stable at 3 - 3.2 MH.

Am I missing something right here? My setup didn't change (no other devices attached).
For stable 3 MH you will need more than 500 mA. Can macbook pro usb port suplly current more than that?

I have no idea, I can only tell what I saw these last 2 days.

This is what system info says

Current Available (mA):   500
Current Required (mA):   100
Extra Operating Current (mA):   0

Apple docs:

Apple computers equipped with USB 3 provide up to 900 mA (milliamps) at 5 V (Volts) to most Apple USB peripherals as well as all third-party USB peripherals that comply with USB specifications.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204377
According to docs, it can provide from 500 mA up to 1100 mA, depends how much attached device is in some way compatible with oem apple devices. Try to lower clock speed @540... Dropping hasrate is usually all about lack of juice from usb port...

EDIT: 620 is not available clock speed listed on first page.

oh wow..
Must be a typo, I'll see what fixing this does.

Thank you.

It's on 625 now, but it seems it doesn't matter much. I used to get 3.2MH on 600 and stock settings, but hey better than nothing Wink
I'm mainly doing this to support and because I'm interested in it, not to get rich.
Buddy_hell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 19, 2018, 11:05:39 AM
 #1123

Hi

I have a ML2-BFGMiner-RPi3b setup which gives me about 2-3Mh/s stock.

The system works well until about 3-4 hours of hashing then the red LED stops flashing and no new accepted shares on the pool.

The pool is still active and the jobs are being received but hash rate falls to zero.

I have tried a couple fo pools and different coins same thing.

I can then software restart the miner and the ML2 starts hashing away again. No hardware reset required.

Is there some setting i need to implement to allow the system to sit more stable? or a way to ether dump the memory or restart miner if it looses the red LED for over a certain time?

any help appreciated
vanberger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 05:05:01 PM
 #1124

can anybody help me out? i got problems here to run these babys with this hub - its on a 300W PSU standalone

http://image.prntscr.com/image/CkQ25StrQUyco6Nsh31mcw.png

http://image.prntscr.com/image/Z0Kz2NPPSQeXio8MgMUbUA.png

greets
mike
Patjebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 05:49:04 PM
 #1125

can anybody help me out? i got problems here to run these babys with this hub - its on a 300W PSU standalone

http://image.prntscr.com/image/CkQ25StrQUyco6Nsh31mcw.png

http://image.prntscr.com/image/Z0Kz2NPPSQeXio8MgMUbUA.png

greets
mike

Hi,

What is the maximum current for 5v ON YOUR PSU.. if you use 12 times 2 amps you use 24 amps with 5 volt, that will be 120watt on the 5 volt rail.
maybe thats to much...


GRTZ.
JAUER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 06:07:59 PM
 #1126

Hi again - it's the guy with the half-hashrate MLD. I think my original post has been a bit lost, so I wanted to start again here (I know that sounds really selfish, although I really need to get this miner working again). This is how the conversation went so far:
It used to be hovering around 4.2 - 4.8 although now is around 2.3... any ideas?

Has anything changed in your setup? Low hash rate is usually because you don't provide enough power to device (added another USB device?) or the device is overheating. You need better cooling or turn down the frequency. What happens when you unplug for 5 minutes... does hash rate go back up?
Nothing has changed... I tried unplugging it and rebooting the whole thing - nothing. The power was working fin before, and nothing has changed, so I can't think what it would be...

Thats normal, especially if its been running straight for a really long time. Some cores will destabilize and shutdown eventually. Driver has a fix for a complete core stall, but not drop in hashrate yet. Will have this fix in on the next release.

And just to be clear - the cores can come back online right?

yes, but you will need to manually restart it currently.

Hmmm...
The restart hasn't worked - it's just stayed around that same 2.7. And the odd thing is, the miner hasn't actually been running straight ever for that long. I always give it a 5 min break every day (used to be twice a day) in fear of it overheating (I know it's stupid, but just a paranoia). Is there any other possible explanation?

Any thoughts?
vanberger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 06:18:16 PM
 #1127

can anybody help me out? i got problems here to run these babys with this hub - its on a 300W PSU standalone

http://image.prntscr.com/image/CkQ25StrQUyco6Nsh31mcw.png

http://image.prntscr.com/image/Z0Kz2NPPSQeXio8MgMUbUA.png

greets
mike

Hi,

What is the maximum current for 5v ON YOUR PSU.. if you use 12 times 2 amps you use 24 amps with 5 volt, that will be 120watt on the 5 volt rail.
maybe thats to much...


GRTZ.

here are the stats of the PSU - do you think its to low?
the performance getting better at clockspeed 384 - but not stable

https://image.prntscr.com/image/OSIRvEbkQ1KmbH1nugOd_g.png

greets and thanks for help -

mike
Patjebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 06:29:05 PM
 #1128

Hi again - it's the guy with the half-hashrate MLD. I think my original post has been a bit lost, so I wanted to start again here (I know that sounds really selfish, although I really need to get this miner working again). This is how the conversation went so far:
It used to be hovering around 4.2 - 4.8 although now is around 2.3... any ideas?

Has anything changed in your setup? Low hash rate is usually because you don't provide enough power to device (added another USB device?) or the device is overheating. You need better cooling or turn down the frequency. What happens when you unplug for 5 minutes... does hash rate go back up?
Nothing has changed... I tried unplugging it and rebooting the whole thing - nothing. The power was working fin before, and nothing has changed, so I can't think what it would be...

Thats normal, especially if its been running straight for a really long time. Some cores will destabilize and shutdown eventually. Driver has a fix for a complete core stall, but not drop in hashrate yet. Will have this fix in on the next release.

And just to be clear - the cores can come back online right?

yes, but you will need to manually restart it currently.

Hmmm...
The restart hasn't worked - it's just stayed around that same 2.7. And the odd thing is, the miner hasn't actually been running straight ever for that long. I always give it a 5 min break every day (used to be twice a day) in fear of it overheating (I know it's stupid, but just a paranoia). Is there any other possible explanation?

Any thoughts?


On what pool are you on.. I use multipool with 796 clock and the hash rate is stable now for about 1 month on 4,5 mhz per mld.. using aprox. 2 amps per mld.
The only way to know what is happening is to measure volts and amps to know what the real problem is
Use a usb measuring device they are on eBay or Ali for 3 bucks..


Good luck...
Patjebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 06:37:54 PM
Last edit: February 20, 2018, 06:59:40 PM by Patjebitcoin
 #1129

can anybody help me out? i got problems here to run these babys with this hub - its on a 300W PSU standalone

http://image.prntscr.com/image/CkQ25StrQUyco6Nsh31mcw.png

http://image.prntscr.com/image/Z0Kz2NPPSQeXio8MgMUbUA.png

greets
mike

Hi,

What is the maximum current for 5v ON YOUR PSU.. if you use 12 times 2 amps you use 24 amps with 5 volt, that will be 120watt on the 5 volt rail.
maybe thats to much...


GRTZ.

here are the stats of the PSU - do you think its to low?
the performance getting better at clockspeed 384 - but not stable

https://image.prntscr.com/image/OSIRvEbkQ1KmbH1nugOd_g.png

greets and thanks for help -

mike

Your PSU is 15 amps max on 5 volt so there is to little juice. Try using 8 off them on 600 clock speed.than you use about 1.5amp per mld.
Remove the other 4 for testing purpose.
8 mld's times 1.5amp = 12amp. That will do and your PSU will have a little margin 15-12 = 3 amps. Or buy a bigger PSU.
For your information 600 clock is about 1.5 a 1.7amps, if you go to 796 the power draw can be 2amps per mld with margins , and so on for 8XXmhz
The higher the clock speed the higher the amps.

I use the mld's on clock 796 this is what I measure

MLD1 t=60 graden 1,65A CoreV=0,746volt
MLD2 t=56 graden 1,77A CoreV=0,763volt
MLD3 t=60 graden 2,05A CoreV=0,748volt
MLD4 t=70 graden 1,78A CoreV=0,739volt
MLD5 t=59 graden 1,8A CoreV=0,764volt

graden = degrees (dutchman)

So you see there can be a huge difference in the MLD's


Grtz and good luck
vanberger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2018, 08:24:10 PM
 #1130

I will run for a bigger psu tomorrow

Thanks for that great support !!!

Mike
V3XED
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 01:59:05 AM
 #1131

Hello everybody. Hoping you guys/gals can provide me with some troubleshooting assistance  Cry

I have a Moonlander2 that was working just fine for the last 2 weeks. Average hash of 4.4mh/s.
(Running it at stock voltages, clock at 796, some additional airflow by a small fan)

All of a sudden, one day I noticed one of my other Moonlanders was hashing a little slow (not the one in question) so I closed out
of BFGminer and restarted it. Only to notice I was suddenly down one device.

So at this point I was like hmm, that is weird, especially considering it isn't even the one that was hashing slowly. So I restarted my PC,
at this point the issue is not resolved. BFG miner does not detect the Moonlander2 in question, and when looking at the device in hardware
manager. It reports the following information:

""Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COM4)""
""DEVICE STATUS...... This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)""
""Object Name already exists.""

Does anybody have a clue whats going on?? I have googled my heart out, and read most of the 50+ pages here. But no luck.

Things I Tried::

-- The Device itself looks perfectly fine after visual inspection, and the green light + fan are on and steady when plugged in. Just no Hash.
-- I have also tried running this Moonlander by itself, with all other moonlanders disconnected. This made no difference.
-- I tried moving the Moonlander to other USB ports, both on a powered hub and the motherboard itself. Even ones that work with other moonlanders don't fix it.

Thanks!!!
jl303
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 02:03:12 AM
 #1132

I got mine to work on Windows 10, but I can't get it to work on Raspberry pi 3.
I flashed 2017-11-29-raspbian-stretch.
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install -y libcurl4-gnutls-dev libjansson-dev
I downloaded bfgminer_5.4.2-futurebit2_linux_armv6.tar.gz.
I ran start_moonlander2.sh.
However, it says no devices found.
I'd appreciate any help!
Thanks!
DeeMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 04:35:31 AM
 #1133

Having some trouble setting up bfgminer on DietPi (should be the same as standard raspberry pi setup?).  

Whenever I try to run bfgminer or any executable file with bfgminer in terminal I get back:

Code:
root@dietpi:~/moonlander2/bfgminer_5.4.2-futurebit2_linux_armv6# ./bfgminer
bash: ./bfgminer: No such file or directory

Curious if anyone else has had this issue and if so how you went about fixing it?
thomasvk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 07:39:22 AM
 #1134

Hello,

I've been running a ML2 for about 2 days, pretty much at stock settings (upped freq to 620) on a macbook pro usb3 port.
It has been running stable for that time, but suddenly the hashrate dropped to 2.1 - 2.5 MH, it used to be stable at 3 - 3.2 MH.

Am I missing something right here? My setup didn't change (no other devices attached).
For stable 3 MH you will need more than 500 mA. Can macbook pro usb port suplly current more than that?

I have no idea, I can only tell what I saw these last 2 days.

This is what system info says

Current Available (mA):   500
Current Required (mA):   100
Extra Operating Current (mA):   0

Apple docs:

Apple computers equipped with USB 3 provide up to 900 mA (milliamps) at 5 V (Volts) to most Apple USB peripherals as well as all third-party USB peripherals that comply with USB specifications.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204377
According to docs, it can provide from 500 mA up to 1100 mA, depends how much attached device is in some way compatible with oem apple devices. Try to lower clock speed @540... Dropping hasrate is usually all about lack of juice from usb port...

EDIT: 620 is not available clock speed listed on first page.

oh wow..
Must be a typo, I'll see what fixing this does.

Thank you.

It's on 625 now, but it seems it doesn't matter much. I used to get 3.2MH on 600 and stock settings, but hey better than nothing Wink
I'm mainly doing this to support and because I'm interested in it, not to get rich.


It is getting worse and worse from now on. It has drops to 1.5MH.
Frequent unknown responses, restarts,..

I have to lower my freq everyday, while it was stable the first 3 days, something definitely is wrong.

Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/mce5t24ee1w4yu1/Screenshot%202018-02-21%2008.35.11.png




Game_of_Coins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 03:23:42 PM
 #1135

Hello,

I've been running a ML2 for about 2 days, pretty much at stock settings (upped freq to 620) on a macbook pro usb3 port.
It has been running stable for that time, but suddenly the hashrate dropped to 2.1 - 2.5 MH, it used to be stable at 3 - 3.2 MH.

Am I missing something right here? My setup didn't change (no other devices attached).
For stable 3 MH you will need more than 500 mA. Can macbook pro usb port suplly current more than that?

I have no idea, I can only tell what I saw these last 2 days.

This is what system info says

Current Available (mA):   500
Current Required (mA):   100
Extra Operating Current (mA):   0

Apple docs:

Apple computers equipped with USB 3 provide up to 900 mA (milliamps) at 5 V (Volts) to most Apple USB peripherals as well as all third-party USB peripherals that comply with USB specifications.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204377
According to docs, it can provide from 500 mA up to 1100 mA, depends how much attached device is in some way compatible with oem apple devices. Try to lower clock speed @540... Dropping hasrate is usually all about lack of juice from usb port...

EDIT: 620 is not available clock speed listed on first page.

oh wow..
Must be a typo, I'll see what fixing this does.

Thank you.

It's on 625 now, but it seems it doesn't matter much. I used to get 3.2MH on 600 and stock settings, but hey better than nothing Wink
I'm mainly doing this to support and because I'm interested in it, not to get rich.


It is getting worse and worse from now on. It has drops to 1.5MH.
Frequent unknown responses, restarts,..

I have to lower my freq everyday, while it was stable the first 3 days, something definitely is wrong.

Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/mce5t24ee1w4yu1/Screenshot%202018-02-21%2008.35.11.png





I think you should decrease Vcore to 0.65V. Read page #34 of this thread up to post #669.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1964
Merit: 1315


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 05:09:07 PM
 #1136

Hello,

I've been running a ML2 for about 2 days, pretty much at stock settings (upped freq to 620) on a macbook pro usb3 port.
It has been running stable for that time, but suddenly the hashrate dropped to 2.1 - 2.5 MH, it used to be stable at 3 - 3.2 MH.

Am I missing something right here? My setup didn't change (no other devices attached).
For stable 3 MH you will need more than 500 mA. Can macbook pro usb port suplly current more than that?

I have no idea, I can only tell what I saw these last 2 days.

This is what system info says

Current Available (mA):   500
Current Required (mA):   100
Extra Operating Current (mA):   0

Apple docs:

Apple computers equipped with USB 3 provide up to 900 mA (milliamps) at 5 V (Volts) to most Apple USB peripherals as well as all third-party USB peripherals that comply with USB specifications.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204377
According to docs, it can provide from 500 mA up to 1100 mA, depends how much attached device is in some way compatible with oem apple devices. Try to lower clock speed @540... Dropping hasrate is usually all about lack of juice from usb port...

EDIT: 620 is not available clock speed listed on first page.

oh wow..
Must be a typo, I'll see what fixing this does.

Thank you.

It's on 625 now, but it seems it doesn't matter much. I used to get 3.2MH on 600 and stock settings, but hey better than nothing Wink
I'm mainly doing this to support and because I'm interested in it, not to get rich.


It is getting worse and worse from now on. It has drops to 1.5MH.
Frequent unknown responses, restarts,..

I have to lower my freq everyday, while it was stable the first 3 days, something definitely is wrong.

Screenshot:





I think you should decrease Vcore to 0.65V. Read page #34 of this thread up to post #669.

Yea to get under 1A and stable operation off a standard computer USB port your going to need to lower the voltage and run under 600 MHz.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
ichin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 06:58:13 PM
 #1137

can anybody help me out? i got problems here to run these babys with this hub - its on a 300W PSU standalone

http://image.prntscr.com/image/CkQ25StrQUyco6Nsh31mcw.png

http://image.prntscr.com/image/Z0Kz2NPPSQeXio8MgMUbUA.png

greets
mike

Hi,

What is the maximum current for 5v ON YOUR PSU.. if you use 12 times 2 amps you use 24 amps with 5 volt, that will be 120watt on the 5 volt rail.
maybe thats to much...


GRTZ.

here are the stats of the PSU - do you think its to low?
the performance getting better at clockspeed 384 - but not stable

https://image.prntscr.com/image/OSIRvEbkQ1KmbH1nugOd_g.png

greets and thanks for help -

mike

Your PSU is 15 amps max on 5 volt so there is to little juice. Try using 8 off them on 600 clock speed.than you use about 1.5amp per mld.
Remove the other 4 for testing purpose.
8 mld's times 1.5amp = 12amp. That will do and your PSU will have a little margin 15-12 = 3 amps. Or buy a bigger PSU.
For your information 600 clock is about 1.5 a 1.7amps, if you go to 796 the power draw can be 2amps per mld with margins , and so on for 8XXmhz
The higher the clock speed the higher the amps.

I use the mld's on clock 796 this is what I measure

MLD1 t=60 graden 1,65A CoreV=0,746volt
MLD2 t=56 graden 1,77A CoreV=0,763volt
MLD3 t=60 graden 2,05A CoreV=0,748volt
MLD4 t=70 graden 1,78A CoreV=0,739volt
MLD5 t=59 graden 1,8A CoreV=0,764volt

graden = degrees (dutchman)

So you see there can be a huge difference in the MLD's


Grtz and good luck

Hello can you tell me this is normal?

https://prnt.sc/ihy0m9
https://prnt.sc/ihy1h9

also the boards are 80 °C and 60.5 °C running at 796Mhz
crawlingspleen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 09:07:31 PM
 #1138

Here is my temporary Jimmy-Rig setup. Core's are jacked running 876 & 900mhz
https://imgur.com/evkxPxR

Eventually they are going in a box Big fan pull, little one push to keep the dust down.
Blasterman123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 11:52:37 PM
 #1139

Is there a way to enable the automatic restart in the pi/arm version of the miner? Running four MLDs on a pi and eventually one MLD will declare “SICK” and “Idle” and dropping hash rate, works fine on windows and restarts the MLD but the pi version doesn’t seem to restart the MLD

Also, using anything above 600 on the pi is very unstable (sometimes MLDs fail to start or drop hashrate quickly) however running on windows on my laptop everything is fine using 700+, could it be because the pi is USB2 and the hub I am using is USB3?


ichin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 22, 2018, 12:28:05 AM
 #1140

Here is my temporary Jimmy-Rig setup. Core's are jacked running 876 & 900mhz
https://imgur.com/evkxPxR

Eventually they are going in a box Big fan pull, little one push to keep the dust down.

that is amazing vcore is 0.75 ?
and how many hw % you have?
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!