Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 06:21:22 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
CryptoBarry
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2018, 04:29:06 PM
 #1781

Can anyone please give an example of running a cron job for BFGminer on RPI to close and reopen every hour.

i have a sh file with this in

#!/bin/bash
./bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:20460 -u xxx.miner1 -p miner1,d=128 -S ALL --set MLD:clock=600

Any help for a Linux noob would be great, a lot of people i know with RPI are having issues with the moonlanders randommly just hash at 0 mh/s until the software is restarted.

Kind Regards

Paul
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cron

so something like this could work.
* 1 * * * killall -9 bfgminer

to make your life easier tho just use minera
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=596620.0

it has the option to do what you want internally.

one thing tho you have to expand the img to the full size of the sdcard you can do it in the rpi utils really easy.


I tried minera but I had a lot of problems in the configuration of the moonlanders and they were constantly stuck.
so I tried some configuration for the automatic restart of bfgminer in case of a device with hash 0.  I found these options that can be used in the start command of bfgminer:

Code:
--cmd-idle <arg> Execute a command when a device is allowed to be idle (rest or wait)
--cmd-sick <arg> Execute a command when a device is declared sick
--cmd-dead <arg> Execute a command when a device is declared dead

but I have not found explanations on how to use them. does anyone know how they can be used?
1638037282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037282
Reply with quote  #2

1638037282
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638037282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037282
Reply with quote  #2

1638037282
Report to moderator
jbrow8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 13, 2018, 02:15:36 PM
 #1782

Hello,


 Where do I find replacement fans?

thanks
George

LOOK AT THE LABEL--

Run a Google search on the model number on the label.  This is a generic suggestion, it is how I find replacement fans of any type.  Read carefully in the result descriptions so to match amperage, RPMs, bearing type, etc.       --scryptr

I LOOKED AT THE LABEL.  I was hoping someone else had some experience and insight that would help rather than asking me to do a google search.  Anyone can do that.  Crazy thought - create a community of Moonlander users that share ideas and experiences! 

Also, I did a search and didn't find much. 

Thanks


Page 81 of this thread has the last discussion about fans, Like I said you just need to look!


Per my previous post, I did search.  Either my search criteria was bad or I just missed it - Which is why I asked in the first place..... 



gdstime is where I found some brushless fans for replacement. I believe it just might be better to remove all the fans and put the chips under one larger cooling fan that i can get at walmart for 5 dollars.
thatblackguy823
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2018, 04:06:45 PM
 #1783

I keep getting- futurebit write error: input/output error. I have a lketc miner and a gekko science hooked up to the raspberry pi. not for sure what i did wrong
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
November 25, 2018, 09:41:28 PM
 #1784

I keep getting- futurebit write error: input/output error. I have a lketc miner and a gekko science hooked up to the raspberry pi. not for sure what i did wrong

Probably one or more of the other device drivers are screwing up the Moonlander. Last I checked the gekkoscience driver does some not so nice things to other USB devices attached to the system.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2018, 03:41:15 PM
 #1785

https://spectrum.ieee.org/geek-life/reviews/ieee-spectrums-2018-holiday-gift-guide

Moonlander 2 made on the 2018 Holiday Gift Guide list.

Hintsal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2018, 12:25:57 AM
 #1786

Jstefanop

Not trying to be crazy here but your last message October 23rd said you were sending me a new moonlander back. I haven't heard a reply from you since or received any miner. I've messaged you multiple times. What is up? Cause I could have saved the 20 bucks it cost to ship it to you and just chucked it in the bin thinking I made a silly noob mistake buying a miner. If you're sending it please let me know. If you aren't please let me know so I can close the messages tab I've had open for 2 months refreshing waiting for a response.
xorxfon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2018, 03:18:58 AM
 #1787

Side note, one of my miners lights up and doesnt sync with the pool I'm in. I was wondering if there were any schematics or wiring diagrams with measurements I can take at certain points to diagnose and repair that one? It's my main job to do that and i could measure the proper one i was just asking for a time saver for me.
xorxfon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2018, 03:40:15 AM
 #1788

Unless it's my scrypt core, in which case what's the market for everything but?
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 07, 2018, 06:58:41 AM
 #1789

Jstefanop

Not trying to be crazy here but your last message October 23rd said you were sending me a new moonlander back. I haven't heard a reply from you since or received any miner. I've messaged you multiple times. What is up? Cause I could have saved the 20 bucks it cost to ship it to you and just chucked it in the bin thinking I made a silly noob mistake buying a miner. If you're sending it please let me know. If you aren't please let me know so I can close the messages tab I've had open for 2 months refreshing waiting for a response.

You just have to keep messaging me...I have a million things to keep track of especially now with the Apollo launch so ill forget unless your remind me. Shoot me a message with details and ill get to it tomorrow.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
xorxfon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 12, 2018, 10:55:02 AM
Last edit: January 03, 2019, 04:14:23 AM by xorxfon
 #1790

What are the name and part number for the two potentiometers?
The caps of mine flew off from dialing them in.
digitalcitizen
Copper Member
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 4


View Profile
December 19, 2018, 09:10:21 AM
 #1791

HI fellow miners, anyone know how to use bfgminer to solo mine with any scrypt wallet? read all the help from google but to no avail, can't connect to my wallet at all, is it bfgminer problem or something else, did all the conf files and all as per google search, i just wanna know is it possibe or anyone have any luck with scrypt coins.

I second this.  I have a defcoin server set up, and I'd like to verify if I can solo mine, even if I get nothing.

I have tried this: (in my Start_Moonlander2.bat file):

// Port 1335 is defcoin's RPC port

bfgminer.exe --scrypt --url https://1.2.3.4:1335 --no-getwork --no-stratum --userpass james:702af16f58b01369642719c2ffecf13$9ad3087dc33a066c8e23965596d7f3fc7bab82f40d467f856adfeee4e01e3968 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=756

I don't put my coinbase there, because it says it's an invalid coinbase address.  It's defcoin not Litecoin.  So I enabled wallet in my daemon, and mining rewards presumably go straight to the default wallet.

I have allowed input from me to RPC and server, and it's no stratum so I put that in there, the daemon doesn't support getwork, so I assume it uses getblocktemplate internally to mine.  I have specified listen, server, rpcuser, rpcpassword, rpcauth, rpcallowip.  I don't know if I have to specify txfee or anything like that.

I'm stuck and nothing seems to work :-/

All I want to do is verify I have set it up correctly and that I can solo mine on it.

This is the output from the console window:

 [2018-12-19 20:02:35] Press any key to exit, or BFGMiner will try again in 15s.
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] No servers were found that could be used to get work from.
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] Please check the details from the list below of the servers you have input
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] Most likely you have input the wrong URL, forgotten to add a port, or have not set up workers
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] Pool: 0  URL: http://1.2.3.4:1335  User: james  Password: 702af16f58b01369642719c2ffecf13$
9ad3087dc33a066c8e23965596d7f3fc7bab82f40d467f856adfeee4e01e3968
 
Any help please?  Is it hopeless if this doesn't support anything other than getwork?  My defcoin.conf (identical to bitcoin.conf for options to connect, run as server, mine)?  Does anyone have a contrived example if they run a full node and what's in bitcoin.conf or any altcoin.conf to solo mine with?

Or maybe I will try the stratum thing.  But it seems like a lot of work for something which should be fairly simple, like connect to server, send credentials, mine the output from the server, submit and see what happens.  But then I am no expert... just trying to become a competent user at some time, and run my own defcoin pool later down the road.
digitalcitizen
Copper Member
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 4


View Profile
December 19, 2018, 11:15:49 AM
 #1792

Well, I got cpuminer-gw64-avx.exe to work just fine.

The problems seem to be with coinbase address, and getwork not implemented.  Miner has to support non-stratum server and getblocktemplate properly.

Too bad no ASIC mining or GPU mining on my solo mining server just yet.  Have to find a decent updated AMD GPU mining program that I can test with.

If anyone needs to get their solo mine on wants some details of how I got it to work, albeit only with a cpu miner at the moment, please post here.  Smiley
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
December 19, 2018, 01:11:21 PM
 #1793

HI fellow miners, anyone know how to use bfgminer to solo mine with any scrypt wallet? read all the help from google but to no avail, can't connect to my wallet at all, is it bfgminer problem or something else, did all the conf files and all as per google search, i just wanna know is it possibe or anyone have any luck with scrypt coins.

I second this.  I have a defcoin server set up, and I'd like to verify if I can solo mine, even if I get nothing.

I have tried this: (in my Start_Moonlander2.bat file):

// Port 1335 is defcoin's RPC port

bfgminer.exe --scrypt --url https://1.2.3.4:1335 --no-getwork --no-stratum --userpass james:702af16f58b01369642719c2ffecf13$9ad3087dc33a066c8e23965596d7f3fc7bab82f40d467f856adfeee4e01e3968 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=756

I don't put my coinbase there, because it says it's an invalid coinbase address.  It's defcoin not Litecoin.  So I enabled wallet in my daemon, and mining rewards presumably go straight to the default wallet.

I have allowed input from me to RPC and server, and it's no stratum so I put that in there, the daemon doesn't support getwork, so I assume it uses getblocktemplate internally to mine.  I have specified listen, server, rpcuser, rpcpassword, rpcauth, rpcallowip.  I don't know if I have to specify txfee or anything like that.

I'm stuck and nothing seems to work :-/

All I want to do is verify I have set it up correctly and that I can solo mine on it.

This is the output from the console window:

 [2018-12-19 20:02:35] Press any key to exit, or BFGMiner will try again in 15s.
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] No servers were found that could be used to get work from.
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] Please check the details from the list below of the servers you have input
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] Most likely you have input the wrong URL, forgotten to add a port, or have not set up workers
 [2018-12-19 20:02:51] Pool: 0  URL: http://1.2.3.4:1335  User: james  Password: 702af16f58b01369642719c2ffecf13$
9ad3087dc33a066c8e23965596d7f3fc7bab82f40d467f856adfeee4e01e3968
 
Any help please?  Is it hopeless if this doesn't support anything other than getwork?  My defcoin.conf (identical to bitcoin.conf for options to connect, run as server, mine)?  Does anyone have a contrived example if they run a full node and what's in bitcoin.conf or any altcoin.conf to solo mine with?

Or maybe I will try the stratum thing.  But it seems like a lot of work for something which should be fairly simple, like connect to server, send credentials, mine the output from the server, submit and see what happens.  But then I am no expert... just trying to become a competent user at some time, and run my own defcoin pool later down the road.

i tried it with digibyte scrypt. i couldnt get it working.
its not as easy as you make it tho.. you missed a step.
you need to run the qt and enable rpc and then you have to run bfgminer as a stratum proxy..
then you run another bfgminer for the moonlanders.

bfgminer wont connect directly to the rpc server in mining mode.

digitalcitizen
Copper Member
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 4


View Profile
December 19, 2018, 01:24:47 PM
 #1794

Thanks, so I have to figure out the stratum proxy part.

I think I will give this a go, install the stratum part, try to configure it and see what happens.

Thank you kindly for the response.
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
December 21, 2018, 06:20:57 PM
 #1795

Thanks, so I have to figure out the stratum proxy part.

I think I will give this a go, install the stratum part, try to configure it and see what happens.

Thank you kindly for the response.

SETTING UP A PERSONAL POOL WORKS--

The pool will require setting up Node.js.  The instructions for all the setup work get lengthy, and fitting them in a single post is too much.

Apparently, CGminer can mine on a wallet with little more than a "bitcoin.conf" file for bitcoin-qt and "--btc-address <btcaddr>" in the launch line for CGminer.  I have 2 GekkoScience 2Pac sticks solo-mining on a full BTC-qt node.  It took less than 1/2 hour to set up.

Is there a version of CGminer that will mine with a MoonLander or an Apollo?

My MoonLander2 is mining on a pool that I set up just for solo-mining LTC.  It uses stratum.  My Gekko sticks are mining with "http" on my LAN with better efficiency than they had when mining at a pool with stratum.       --scryptr


TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 21, 2018, 06:51:14 PM
 #1796

Thanks, so I have to figure out the stratum proxy part.

I think I will give this a go, install the stratum part, try to configure it and see what happens.

Thank you kindly for the response.

SETTING UP A PERSONAL POOL WORKS--

The pool will require setting up Node.js.  The instructions for all the setup work get lengthy, and fitting them in a single post is too much.

Apparently, CGminer can mine on a wallet with little more than a "bitcoin.conf" file for bitcoin-qt and "--btc-address <btcaddr>" in the launch line for CGminer.  I have 2 GekkoScience 2Pac sticks solo-mining on a full BTC-qt node.  It took less than 1/2 hour to set up.

Is there a version of CGminer that will mine with a MoonLander or an Apollo?

My MoonLander2 is mining on a pool that I set up just for solo-mining LTC.  It uses stratum.  My Gekko sticks are mining with "http" on my LAN with better efficiency than they had when mining at a pool with stratum.       --scryptr



Not currently, but will have this set up for the Apollo, so should be able to merge support for the Moonlander as well.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
December 21, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Last edit: December 22, 2018, 01:06:32 AM by scryptr
 #1797

Thanks, so I have to figure out the stratum proxy part.

I think I will give this a go, install the stratum part, try to configure it and see what happens.

Thank you kindly for the response.

SETTING UP A PERSONAL POOL WORKS--

The pool will require setting up Node.js.  The instructions for all the setup work get lengthy, and fitting them in a single post is too much.

Apparently, CGminer can mine on a wallet with little more than a "bitcoin.conf" file for bitcoin-qt and "--btc-address <btcaddr>" in the launch line for CGminer.  I have 2 GekkoScience 2Pac sticks solo-mining on a full BTC-qt node.  It took less than 1/2 hour to set up.

Is there a version of CGminer that will mine with a MoonLander or an Apollo?

My MoonLander2 is mining on a pool that I set up just for solo-mining LTC.  It uses stratum.  My Gekko sticks are mining with "http" on my LAN with better efficiency than they had when mining at a pool with stratum.       --scryptr



Not currently, but will have this set up for the Apollo, so should be able to merge support for the Moonlander as well.

KEEP THE FAMILY IN ORBIT--

It would be cool to slave a USB hub(s) off of an Apollo.  GekkoScience just came out with a robust USB hub.  It requires a power supply, of course.

Currently, my sticks are each in separate USB 3.0 ports on different mining rigs.  This gives enough power for low clocks and steady use.  My chances of hitting a block are small, but I am "playing the Lottery" for no more than a nickle a day, total.

Thanks for your efforts!  Looking forward to an Apollo in the future.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
Bill48105
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 8


View Profile
December 23, 2018, 11:20:51 PM
 #1798

EDIT:
Figured it out.. It's a Samsung tablet I had plugged into the computer charging..  Roll Eyes  It's powered off but shows up as USB Serial Device (COM5) in device manager.. If I unplug the tablet, or uninstall COM5 the error goes away.. Seems bfgminer sees COM5 & tries to mine with my tablet Cheesy  I'll leave this post up in case anyone else runs into this issue.  I bet other devices could result in errors as well.. I figure there's a way to disable COM5 on command line so I'll look into that or just keep it unplugged.

ORIGINAL POST:
Anyone know what this means?
Code:
FutureBit Write error: Invalid argument

Odd thing is it mines fine other than complaining at startup and repeatedly while mining:
Code:
[2018-12-23 18:03:41] FutureBit Write error: Invalid argument
 [2018-12-23 18:03:42] Accepted 0795fdcc MLD 0  Diff 514u/244u
 [2018-12-23 18:03:42] Accepted 0231393a MLD 0  Diff 1m/244u
 [2018-12-23 18:03:43] Accepted 0c411dbd MLD 0  Diff 318u/244u
 [2018-12-23 18:03:44] FutureBit Write error: Invalid argument
 [2018-12-23 18:03:44] Accepted 03873fc3 MLD 0  Diff 1m/244u
 [2018-12-23 18:03:44] Accepted 0b6289fd MLD 0  Diff 343u/244u

I've got 4 Moonlander 2's all doing the same thing, 1 alone or all together.  They work fine using same hub on rasp pi & another win10 box but 2nd win10 box giving this invalid argument error. Of course the one I want to mine with is the one giving the error.. lol

Nothing exciting in my config:
Code:
bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://pool:5555 -u user -p x -S ALL

It gives the same error if moonlander 2 plugged in directly to computer (usb2 or usb3) or in hub and in fact it gives the same error even if no moonlanders are plugged in at all.. I installed the win10 drivers listed on the 1st post: https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers  About only thing I haven't tried yet is rebooting because I'm unable to conveniently at the moment but will do that once I'm able.
Thx
Bill
Jmcdaniel0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 23, 2018, 11:37:25 PM
 #1799

Hello gents,


I am wanting to dip my toes into litecoin and merged mining and I am planning to pick up 34 of these and run them off of a USB hub.

My question for now is, will this hub be sufficient for 3-4 of these?

AmazonBasics 7 Port USB 3.0 Hub with 12V/3A Power Adapter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E6GX4BG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_SjbiCbFAPGWJ1
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 24, 2018, 12:02:07 AM
 #1800

Hello gents,


I am wanting to dip my toes into litecoin and merged mining and I am planning to pick up 34 of these and run them off of a USB hub.

My question for now is, will this hub be sufficient for 3-4 of these?

AmazonBasics 7 Port USB 3.0 Hub with 12V/3A Power Adapter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E6GX4BG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_SjbiCbFAPGWJ1

Moonlander is really designed for people to run a few of these to get started with mining. If your going to get 34, you might as well pick up a few Apollos, still have a few in stock and will be shipping next week after holiday.

The Apollo is just as quiet as the Moonlander (and probably quieter if your going to run 34 together), and it will definitely be less of a hassle to run 2-3 Apollos instead of dozens of Moonlanders (and you hashrate will be higher with less cost).

Check it out here: https://shop.futurebit.io/products/apollo-ltc-pod-asic-miner-for-scrypt-algorithm-cryptocurrencies
 

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!