Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 04:49:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
rwg4th
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 08:59:03 AM
Last edit: January 28, 2018, 09:20:50 AM by rwg4th
 #921

I just got my first miner today and I have spent last few hours with NO RESULTS I got a Virus warning from AVG when I opened BFGMINER from this thread a Malware Gen it says I attached s screen capture...
below is my batch file and I keep getting host unresolved error even when I run the test bat that came with the program the Start_Moonlander2 gives same host unresolved. I cut and paste my pool address and bat file was created by their config generator on their site so I don't see why I get these errors here is my info:
user is rwg4th miner is Mack and his password is jingle all in the bat file below... where am I going wrong? and is that really a virus or is it false positive? I can't attach image it seems but I'll upload it somewhere if you want or just scan bfgminer with AVG and you will see its got a Win64 malware gen virus



bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.aikapool.com:7915 -u rwg4th.Mack -p jingle

and again I tried to mine NYC Coin which is also a scrypt and I mine there using CPU already so I know this address is good but still I get "Unresolved host" error

bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://eu1.altminer.net:3433 -u RQkUXUFfDHR9u8wxG9vRjwyhq8YvzmuXQT -p c=NYC

where username is wallet address and password is NYC for new york coin this works fine in CPUMiner with same address so unresolved doesn't make sense maybe the card is defective? the driver loaded ok and its shown in printers and devices with no exclamation mark looks ok there can't find where it went in device manager I saw it when drivers weren't all in yet and after I updated drivers it disappeared and I opened all groups but didn't see it anywhere (which group should it be in?)
1638031765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031765
Reply with quote  #2

1638031765
Report to moderator
1638031765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031765
Reply with quote  #2

1638031765
Report to moderator
1638031765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031765
Reply with quote  #2

1638031765
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638031765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031765
Reply with quote  #2

1638031765
Report to moderator
1638031765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031765
Reply with quote  #2

1638031765
Report to moderator
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 02:58:54 PM
 #922

I just got my first miner today and I have spent last few hours with NO RESULTS I got a Virus warning from AVG when I opened BFGMINER from this thread a Malware Gen it says I attached s screen capture...
below is my batch file and I keep getting host unresolved error even when I run the test bat that came with the program the Start_Moonlander2 gives same host unresolved. I cut and paste my pool address and bat file was created by their config generator on their site so I don't see why I get these errors here is my info:
user is rwg4th miner is Mack and his password is jingle all in the bat file below... where am I going wrong? and is that really a virus or is it false positive? I can't attach image it seems but I'll upload it somewhere if you want or just scan bfgminer with AVG and you will see its got a Win64 malware gen virus



bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.aikapool.com:7915 -u rwg4th.Mack -p jingle

and again I tried to mine NYC Coin which is also a scrypt and I mine there using CPU already so I know this address is good but still I get "Unresolved host" error

bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://eu1.altminer.net:3433 -u RQkUXUFfDHR9u8wxG9vRjwyhq8YvzmuXQT -p c=NYC

where username is wallet address and password is NYC for new york coin this works fine in CPUMiner with same address so unresolved doesn't make sense maybe the card is defective? the driver loaded ok and its shown in printers and devices with no exclamation mark looks ok there can't find where it went in device manager I saw it when drivers weren't all in yet and after I updated drivers it disappeared and I opened all groups but didn't see it anywhere (which group should it be in?)

Sounds like your antivirus/firewall software is blocking internet access to bfgminer. Check your software and make sure access is enabled for bfgminer.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1760
Merit: 1032


Value will be measured in sats


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2018, 03:02:42 PM
 #923

I just got my first miner today and I have spent last few hours with NO RESULTS I got a Virus warning from AVG when I opened BFGMINER from this thread a Malware Gen it says I attached s screen capture...
below is my batch file and I keep getting host unresolved error even when I run the test bat that came with the program the Start_Moonlander2 gives same host unresolved. I cut and paste my pool address and bat file was created by their config generator on their site so I don't see why I get these errors here is my info:
user is rwg4th miner is Mack and his password is jingle all in the bat file below... where am I going wrong? and is that really a virus or is it false positive? I can't attach image it seems but I'll upload it somewhere if you want or just scan bfgminer with AVG and you will see its got a Win64 malware gen virus



bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.aikapool.com:7915 -u rwg4th.Mack -p jingle

and again I tried to mine NYC Coin which is also a scrypt and I mine there using CPU already so I know this address is good but still I get "Unresolved host" error

bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://eu1.altminer.net:3433 -u RQkUXUFfDHR9u8wxG9vRjwyhq8YvzmuXQT -p c=NYC

where username is wallet address and password is NYC for new york coin this works fine in CPUMiner with same address so unresolved doesn't make sense maybe the card is defective? the driver loaded ok and its shown in printers and devices with no exclamation mark looks ok there can't find where it went in device manager I saw it when drivers weren't all in yet and after I updated drivers it disappeared and I opened all groups but didn't see it anywhere (which group should it be in?)

it will be a false positive. most virus scanners flag up mining software as malware.
host unresolved would normally mean your mining pool is type the pool and port into your browser to check that.
Add pause to the end of your bat file, then it will not close automatically in the event of an error
maybe an error with your mining pool settings i suspect or antivirus blocking bfgminer. you can disable the virus scanner and try again
soccerdude71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 09:51:00 PM
 #924

Hello,

   I have 10 MLDs on a powered USB data hub.  Everything seems to be working fine at the moment...  What I am looking to find out is, can I make each MLD a separate worker?  Anyone know how to do that (if possible)?


thanks
George

do u mean each MLD mine different coin? or each using different worker name? if its about different coin, u can try check page 45. if worker name just edit like a normal .bat file Smiley

No, I mean same coin each using different worker name.  XXX.1 XXX.2, etc.

thanks!
soccerdude71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2018, 10:26:42 PM
 #925

Hello,


  I have 5 MLDs mining at about 23MH total, so I am doing fine...  They are setup on a high powered usb hub connected to my laptop.  I setup the BFGminer on my Rasperry Pi (as I want to have that be my permanent solution), but after about 5 or so minutes of the MLDs being connected, the hashrate drops dramatically...  to around 17MH/sec.  Anyone experience anything like this?  It happens very consistently ...  when I connect back to my laptop, works fine for days straight...


thanks
Fiasco6
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 03:34:21 AM
 #926

... I will start up bfg, they all will connect and hash, after about 2-4 minutes it will say Pool 0 interrupted and they will stop hashing.
... what could the issue be? im using bfg for moonlander 5.4.2.
anyone have any thoughts/ideas?
Network connection. There are a lot of google hits on 'pool 0 interrupted' (not related specifically to MLD or BFGMiner).

so you are saying it has to do with my internet connection?

Yes those errors are either related with a pool issue or network issue.

If anyone is having this issue, I have written a bat file that can help you until you get your internet fixed.

@echo off
:loop
start thisismybatfile.bat ...
timeout /t 130 >null
taskkill /f /im bfgminer.exe >nul
goto loop

if anyone see's an issue with this please let me know!
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 05:52:25 AM
 #927

Hello,


  I have 5 MLDs mining at about 23MH total, so I am doing fine...  They are setup on a high powered usb hub connected to my laptop.  I setup the BFGminer on my Rasperry Pi (as I want to have that be my permanent solution), but after about 5 or so minutes of the MLDs being connected, the hashrate drops dramatically...  to around 17MH/sec.  Anyone experience anything like this?  It happens very consistently ...  when I connect back to my laptop, works fine for days straight...


thanks


Try lowering the frequency on the sticks that are slowing down, or increase their core/mem voltage. Next drive release will have additional checks for slow sticks that will be restarted as well (currently it only checks if a stick has stopped hashing).

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Bitfort
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 327

invest trade and gamble wisely


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 06:27:10 AM
 #928

Hello,


  I have 5 MLDs mining at about 23MH total, so I am doing fine...  They are setup on a high powered usb hub connected to my laptop.  I setup the BFGminer on my Rasperry Pi (as I want to have that be my permanent solution), but after about 5 or so minutes of the MLDs being connected, the hashrate drops dramatically...  to around 17MH/sec.  Anyone experience anything like this?  It happens very consistently ...  when I connect back to my laptop, works fine for days straight...


thanks


I've experienced also wierd behaviour when moved to PI.
In my case the sticks start hashing at very low rate (like 300 kH each, some even shows 0 from start) .. but it slowly keeps growing and it takes few minutes to get into full hashrate. Never notice such behave when using them in PC ports. I assume the issue could be temps. They are now in cold enviroment, so probably need to get warm up. Other idea it's because it runs over wifi now.
But no big issue as my sticks runs steadily for long time. Just wanted to share.

I've heard that to many sticks set with too low difficulty can cause network issues. Are you running them over wifi?

MY HINTs
◄M► MINING
◄G► GAMBLING
◄E► EXCHANGE

◄E► (KCS) Kucoin-Staking, Auto-Lending, Trading-Bot
◄E► (BNB) Binance-Staking, Savings, 10% RefBack
◄E► (TRX) Poloniex-Staking, Lending, Fee Discount
◄E► (LEO) Bitfinex-Staking, Auto-Lending

◄G► Betfury-Faucet, Dividend Earnings (BFG holders, mine BFG by playing)
◄G► Bitvest -  Faucet, Bankroll Invest
◄G► CryptoGames-Faucet, Lotto
◄G► PrimeDice-Faucet

◄M► Prohashing (Multipool)-Payout in any coin, get 0.50% bonus for 30 days
◄M► MiningRigRentals (Marketplace)-buy hashrate or rent your miners
◄M► Viabtc  (Pool)-payout to Coinex (exchnage) without fees


aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 05:14:30 PM
 #929

Oh boy.  I seem to be having trouble with the small heatsinks.  The tape is splitting when I try to pull off the protective layer.

Any tips? 

Any recommendations for replacement tape or heatsinks?

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3862



View Profile
January 29, 2018, 06:53:09 PM
 #930

Oh boy.  I seem to be having trouble with the small heatsinks.  The tape is splitting when I try to pull off the protective layer.

Any tips?  

Any recommendations for replacement tape or heatsinks?



Do you have good fingernails?

If you don't and it sounds like you don't use a fine tweezers.

I have lousy eyes for close  so I wore my corrective eyeglasses. I used a fine tweezers  and I used this


https://www.amazon.com/Carson-DeskBrite-Illuminated-Magnifier-LM-20/dp/B003EW1ZNC/ref=sr_1_3?


fine tweezers

https://www.amazon.com/Topro-Stainless-Straight-Tweezers-Protective/dp/B00SCNPAO8/ref=sr_1_4_a_it?


I now have 8 sticks working well.  No stock fans as I use my own.

I mine here

http://ltc.tbdice.org/users.htm



User..................MM Addr..... 1 Min Hash..... 5 Min Hash........... 60 Min Hash........... 1 Day................. 7 Day .................... Best Share

LWdix...uDYH8------------Self-----------38.2M / 0.000%---37.5M / 0.016%--28.2M / 0.092%---- 9.38M / 0.231%--6.67M / 0.269%------1710.02120

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 06:56:50 PM
 #931

Oh boy.  I seem to be having trouble with the small heatsinks.  The tape is splitting when I try to pull off the protective layer.

Any tips? 

Any recommendations for replacement tape or heatsinks?



umm why are you removing the heatsinks?

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3862



View Profile
January 29, 2018, 07:01:14 PM
 #932

Oh boy.  I seem to be having trouble with the small heatsinks.  The tape is splitting when I try to pull off the protective layer.

Any tips? 

Any recommendations for replacement tape or heatsinks?



umm why are you removing the heatsinks?

He got them delivered in pieces.  you need to peel the 2 sided tape to stick the heatsink on

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
soccerdude71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 07:12:48 PM
 #933

Hello,


  I have 5 MLDs mining at about 23MH total, so I am doing fine...  They are setup on a high powered usb hub connected to my laptop.  I setup the BFGminer on my Rasperry Pi (as I want to have that be my permanent solution), but after about 5 or so minutes of the MLDs being connected, the hashrate drops dramatically...  to around 17MH/sec.  Anyone experience anything like this?  It happens very consistently ...  when I connect back to my laptop, works fine for days straight...


thanks


I've experienced also wierd behaviour when moved to PI.
In my case the sticks start hashing at very low rate (like 300 kH each, some even shows 0 from start) .. but it slowly keeps growing and it takes few minutes to get into full hashrate. Never notice such behave when using them in PC ports. I assume the issue could be temps. They are now in cold enviroment, so probably need to get warm up. Other idea it's because it runs over wifi now.
But no big issue as my sticks runs steadily for long time. Just wanted to share.

I've heard that to many sticks set with too low difficulty can cause network issues. Are you running them over wifi?


Thanks for your reply...  I seem to be having the opposite happening.  Starts off strong, and then just dies over about 20 minutes.  I've tried wifi and eth, with same results.  Brand new Pi that I have tried to reimage with Raspian twice to make sure no OS error.  Very strange...

George
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 07:28:31 PM
 #934

Oh boy.  I seem to be having trouble with the small heatsinks.  The tape is splitting when I try to pull off the protective layer.

Any tips? 

Any recommendations for replacement tape or heatsinks?



umm why are you removing the heatsinks?

He got them delivered in pieces.  you need to peel the 2 sided tape to stick the heatsink on

ahh completely mis-read that. Yea, peeling off the protective layer should be super easy. I just peel them off with my fingernail.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 07:31:40 PM
 #935

Ok, I have to apologize for my dumb-assery.  Turns out I was splitting the paper film on top of the adhesive.  I thought I was splitting the adhesive.... I just had to peel a little more off.   Undecided

I'm all good, sorry for the false alarm, and Thanks for all the fast responses... 4 more ML2 are live in the field!


Oh boy.  I seem to be having trouble with the small heatsinks.  The tape is splitting when I try to pull off the protective layer.

Any tips? 

Any recommendations for replacement tape or heatsinks?


Fenboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 07:44:29 PM
 #936

Well I finally got my ball bearing fans in for the stock replacements.

They work well but they are extremely loud compared to the stock sleeve fan.

They are the same type/brand as the stock fan, just ball bearing, direct replacement.

You probably bought one that is really high RPM...these fans can go up to 15k RPM. You only need about 7-10k RPM to properly cool these. Stock fans run around 9-11k.

would a 8000rpm fan cool the sticks sufficiently at 5 MH/s

http://gdstime.com/product/?99_471.html
aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 08:27:24 PM
 #937

That is s sleeve bearing.  Unless yours are REALLY noisy, no reason to replace with this one.

Well I finally got my ball bearing fans in for the stock replacements.

They work well but they are extremely loud compared to the stock sleeve fan.

They are the same type/brand as the stock fan, just ball bearing, direct replacement.

You probably bought one that is really high RPM...these fans can go up to 15k RPM. You only need about 7-10k RPM to properly cool these. Stock fans run around 9-11k.

would a 8000rpm fan cool the sticks sufficiently at 5 MH/s

http://gdstime.com/product/?99_471.html
aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 08:57:04 PM
 #938

yes, it was plenty.  I filled the holes like in your photo.  Scraped off as much as possible . Then I cleaned up a square around the holes with a q-tip and isopropyl alchohol.

also, I noticed the new moonlanders have "lines" on the back of the board showing where the heatsink should be attached.  Nice touch.  Looks like the large heatsink is perfectly centered around the chip on the other side.

Mine are all running strong @700 right out of the box, under .5% error rate, I'll tune them later tonight for MOAR SPEED!



Anyone try Thermal Grizzly on the moonlander 2?

https://www.amazon.com/Thermal-Grizzly-Kryonaut-Grease-Paste/dp/B011F7W3LU/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1517072281&sr=1-1&keywords=thermal+grizzly+kryonaut

I'm wondering is 1gram will be enough for 4 moonlanders?  My order for AsicPuppy should be arriving soon, and I want to make sure I have enough on hand.



If your putting on thermal material its only to fill in the via holes, please check the assembly instructions...that is way more than enough. Don't put a layer on there like you would with a CPU otherwise the heatsink wont stick and it will fall off and you'll most likely be left with a fried miner.
mdtrav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 09:50:41 PM
 #939

I am having a strange issue.

I am unable to adjust the clockspeed on my miner if I set it to anything other than 800 it fails to hash anything and stops responding
here are my settings
bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://poolurl.com:4224 -u bla.user -p password --no-longpoll -S MLD:\\.\COM5 --set MLD:clock=800 --verbose

This seems to be the only setting that works, If I set it higher, or lower it fails to respond. 800 is not even in your list of preset clock speeds. I've adjusted the power, lowered it, raised it, not difference. It is hashing at about 3.4Mh/s with HW:251/.20% in the last 21hrs.
TimBuck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2018, 10:44:15 PM
 #940


I received this one in amongst the others that I received today. All are working fine except for this one. After visually inspecting with magnifying glass I could see the 'L1" (inductor ??) appears damaged.

Question: would that be the reason that the device starts mining and then after just a minute or less, constantly drops out and can no longer be restarted by the driver?

Second Question: Does this get handled by the distributor or possibly yourself, or am I just out of luck on this one?

https://bit2dollar.com/image/cache/catalog/IMG_0936-725x725.JPG
https://bit2dollar.com/image/cache/catalog/IMG_0937-725x725.JPG
https://bit2dollar.com/image/cache/catalog/IMG_0938-725x725.JPG

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!