Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:01:40 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cards running soooooo slow  (Read 927 times)
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 07:36:47 AM
 #1

So I moved all my hardware over to a Am3 semprom 140 (3 5830's) now on diablo (an older version, dont remember which) I get 200mhs from all 3 cards. The newest version of diablo ges me 350. And on gui miner I get a random 180 on some, and 240 on another. Ive gone through every setting i beleave and I just cannot figure out why its just refusing to perfom.
Any help would be greatful.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263300
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263300

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263300
Reply with quote  #2

1481263300
Report to moderator
godofal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


TACNAYN - destroyer of worlds


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 03:16:44 PM
 #2

more info about hardware and OS would be helpful
also, how much Mhash/s were you doing before?

also, dunno if you are but dont use the crossfire cables

boaz2020
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:12:03 PM
 #3

Check your CPU, it might be pegging out, I had this problem on this CPU and had to run separate miners because of it.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 07:58:18 PM
 #4

Ok, so I somewhat solved it, but it created another problem.
But first. Hardware

MSI  Mobo (Dont know model off hand. AM3 with 2 16x and 2 1x slots
Semperon 140 CPU
512mb ddr 2 of some sort. I have a 1gb that will get tossed it later
Diablotek 600w PSU
2x5830 on 16x lane
1x5830 on 1x lane

Win7 32 bit (can goto 64 if needed)

When the 1x lane is connected via a 1x-16x adapter, the whole rig can barely mine at 200k. When I pull the 1x cable, it runs fine at like 520 for the two combined and I could really push them alot further if needed.

Now I would like to get a 3rd card running on this setup via the 1x lane, but with the speed issues, I worry that I am damaging hardware and its performing worse than if I just had two cards.

Discuss.

godofal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


TACNAYN - destroyer of worlds


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 11:44:03 AM
 #5

upgrading to 64bit really helps in most cases, so try that

shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2011, 03:45:02 PM
 #6

same performace in 64bit

Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:28:43 AM
 #7

Ok, so I somewhat solved it, but it created another problem.
But first. Hardware

MSI  Mobo (Dont know model off hand. AM3 with 2 16x and 2 1x slots
Semperon 140 CPU
512mb ddr 2 of some sort. I have a 1gb that will get tossed it later
Diablotek 600w PSU
2x5830 on 16x lane
1x5830 on 1x lane

Win7 32 bit (can goto 64 if needed)

When the 1x lane is connected via a 1x-16x adapter, the whole rig can barely mine at 200k. When I pull the 1x cable, it runs fine at like 520 for the two combined and I could really push them alot further if needed.

Now I would like to get a 3rd card running on this setup via the 1x lane, but with the speed issues, I worry that I am damaging hardware and its performing worse than if I just had two cards.

Discuss.

Dude, I think you're pushing that psu too hard with 3 5830's.
Each has a tdp of 175W wich totals to 525W.If you're overclocking it gets worse for that psu.
I could be misinterpreting the tdp value though, but please investigate how much power you are taking from the wall outlet.
Use kill a watt or something like it.


FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 06:49:46 AM
 #8

BIOS settings can you slow the 16x lane down to 1x so they all run the same? There might be some PCI-E tweaks in there.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!