Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:12:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Use BBS software with "search within thread" feature  (Read 1030 times)
newunit16
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:43:29 AM
 #1

I am shamed by the amount of sites that do not have this feature.

When you have 300 pages in a single thread you cannot be expected to read every effing page to find the information you want. Searching the entire forum for answers is ridiculous. Often you are not able to formulate the specific words needed, or your terms are far too vague for the entire forum to return proper results.

vBulliten has it. I guess SMF is just behind the times, thus making bitcoin.org behind the times.

Whats the workaround for this, if any?
1481047972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047972
Reply with quote  #2

1481047972
Report to moderator
1481047972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047972
Reply with quote  #2

1481047972
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481047972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047972
Reply with quote  #2

1481047972
Report to moderator
1481047972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047972
Reply with quote  #2

1481047972
Report to moderator
1481047972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047972
Reply with quote  #2

1481047972
Report to moderator
BitcoinPorn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 11:48:03 AM
 #2

Every site I search for, I tend to do through Google by default.
site:Bitcoin.org searchtermhere
If I need more specific searches that what I can't do with some Google term changing, I will just delve into specific subforums.


newunit16
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 01:04:41 PM
 #3

more of a work around than a solution. if you know your answer is in a thread, best to search said thread for one or two keywords than have to use a more complicated search string on a broader pool.

knowwhatimsupersayin?
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 02:32:21 PM
 #4

The search box on the top right of the page works exactly in the context where you are right now (breadcrumb shown underneath the tabs).

So click on the thread and then do the search. It will only be in that thread.


Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
newunit16
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 02:51:53 PM
 #5

The search box on the top right of the page works exactly in the context where you are right now (breadcrumb shown underneath the tabs).

So click on the thread and then do the search. It will only be in that thread.



so user friendly i never noticed! thanks for the response:)
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 02:54:50 PM
 #6

The search box on the top right of the page works exactly in the context where you are right now (breadcrumb shown underneath the tabs).

So click on the thread and then do the search. It will only be in that thread.



so user friendly i never noticed! thanks for the response:)

NP. Enjoy !

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 05:05:22 PM
 #7

Whats the workaround for this, if any?

I agree, this feature is necessary and useful.

The workaround is to click "All" next to the list of page numbers, wait for it to load, then use your browser's find-on-page function (usually Ctrl-F).

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 07:00:41 PM
 #8

Whats the workaround for this, if any?

I agree, this feature is necessary and useful.

The workaround is to click "All" next to the list of page numbers, wait for it to load, then use your browser's find-on-page function (usually Ctrl-F).

Error, do you really mean you are not aware of what I wrote in post #4 above? You're a moderator for God's sake, I figured it out on my second day on the forum.

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 07:29:24 PM
 #9

Whats the workaround for this, if any?

I agree, this feature is necessary and useful.

The workaround is to click "All" next to the list of page numbers, wait for it to load, then use your browser's find-on-page function (usually Ctrl-F).

Error, do you really mean you are not aware of what I wrote in post #4 above? You're a moderator for God's sake, I figured it out on my second day on the forum.

I always have that hidden. Thanks!

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!