Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 02:17:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on HP Thin Clients  (Read 156 times)
quang.luan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:23:46 PM
 #1


Could be profitable mining on HP Thin Client be viable, if I already have them and they are just laying in warehouse and not ever going to be sold?

They have really low consumption, but some low-grade CPU.

Are there some CPU coins that are not outmined by GPU?

Thank you.

I've searched but last thread is from 2014.
1534817821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534817821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534817821
Reply with quote  #2

1534817821
Report to moderator
1534817821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534817821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534817821
Reply with quote  #2

1534817821
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534817821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534817821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534817821
Reply with quote  #2

1534817821
Report to moderator
1534817821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534817821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534817821
Reply with quote  #2

1534817821
Report to moderator
1534817821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534817821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534817821
Reply with quote  #2

1534817821
Report to moderator
cod3gen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 293
Merit: 66

PowerMining.pw


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2017, 09:41:40 PM
 #2

I also have a couple HP Thin Client laying around, but even with they're low power usage, they where not profitable mining Monero at least. Just to compare i got higher hash rates mining with my cell phone.. :-O

https://www.powermining.pw ⮚ Hit us with your power while mining for over 30 listed coinz in various algorithms! Get in touch on Discord: https://discord.gg/qSV6b9d
Aegean Skipper
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 09:45:11 PM
 #3

You are going to loose your time, pay the electricity bill, destroy the PCs, and all that for some pennies in return, it does not worth the trouble at all

Don' t do it for sure
cpmcgrat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 226
Merit: 20

DCAB


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 04:41:30 AM
 #4


Could be profitable mining on HP Thin Client be viable, if I already have them and they are just laying in warehouse and not ever going to be sold?

They have really low consumption, but some low-grade CPU.

Are there some CPU coins that are not outmined by GPU?

Thank you.

I've searched but last thread is from 2014.


As long as your electricity is cheap enough to be profitable you can go for a CryptoNight coin like Electroneum or Monero and get a couple bucks out a day. Just remember, the number of cores you can allocate is the size of your L3 Cache divided by 2 (each core needs 2MB of L3 Cache to work).

Aeon only needs 1MB of L3 cache per core, so you could look into the one as well

Member, Dero Community Advisory Board (DCAB)
joshuajones02
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 05:31:51 AM
 #5

You are going to loose your time, pay the electricity bill, destroy the PCs, and all that for some pennies in return, it does not worth the trouble at all

Don' t do it for sure

this, its a waste of time

| World Fintech Startups | Microsoft Azure Partner | $1,5 M Raised During pre-ICO |
     BANKEX - Proof-of-Asset Protocol     
| WHITE PAPER | BLOGSLACKTELEGRAMBITCOINTALKGITHUBTWITTERYOUTUBEFACEBOOK |☰
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!