Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2018, 02:41:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on HP Thin Clients  (Read 81 times)
quang.luan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:30:02 PM
 #1

Could be profitable mining on HP Thin Client be viable, if I already have them and they are just laying in warehouse and not ever going to be sold?

They have really low consumption, but some low-grade CPU.

Are there some CPU coins that are not outmined by GPU?

Thank you.

I've searched but last thread is from 2014.
1544928110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928110
Reply with quote  #2

1544928110
Report to moderator
1544928110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928110
Reply with quote  #2

1544928110
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544928110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928110
Reply with quote  #2

1544928110
Report to moderator
1544928110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928110
Reply with quote  #2

1544928110
Report to moderator
1544928110
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928110

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928110
Reply with quote  #2

1544928110
Report to moderator
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435
Merit: 252



View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:43:02 PM
 #2

Not worth it. If you're talking thin client, you're looking at something like atom cpus which is really low grade...a celeron does something like 30H/s on cryptonote, an atom might somewhere around 5-7.

Reliance.One - EOS based DEX - Join our discord => https://discord.gg/CtZrujv
BitBustah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 508


Make winning bets on sports with Sportsbet.io!


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:47:06 PM
 #3

A think client is a thin client. All the "work" is done on a server. So no, these are waaay to weak and slow to mine.

   ▄▄██████▄▄
  ████████████
███▄▄
 ██████████████▀▀▀██▄
████████████████   ▀██▄
████████████████     ▀██
██████████████       ██▌
██████████████        ▐██
██▌▀▀██████▀▀         ▐██
▐██                   ██▌
 ██▄                 ▄██
  ▀██▄             ▄██▀
    ▀██▄▄▄     ▄▄▄██▀
      ▀▀█████████▀▀





███████████████████████████
███████████▀▀         ▀▀███
████████▀   ▄▄██▄  ▀█▄  ▀██
██████▀  ▄████████▄  ▀█  ██
████▀  ▄██████▄▀  ██▄    ██
███▀  ██████▄▀  ▄▀████▄  ██
██▀  █████▄▀  ▄▀██████  ▄██
██  ▀███▄▀  ▄▀███████  ▄███
██    ▀██▄▄▀███████▀  ▄████
██  █▄  ▀████████▀  ▄██████
██▄  ▀█▄  ▀██▀▀   ▄████████
███▄▄         ▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████████▀▀       ▀▀████████
█████▀   ▄ ▀███▀ ▄   ▀█████
████  ▄████▄ ▀ ▄████▄  ████
███  ▄ ▀███▀ ▄ ▀███▀ ▄  ███
██  ▄██ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ██▄  ██
██  █▀ ▄█ ███████ █▄ ▀█  ██
██   ▄███▄ █████ ▄███▄   ██
███  ████▀ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▀████  ███
████  ▀ ▄ ▀█████▀ ▄ ▀  ████
█████▄  ▀▀▄ ███ ▄▀▀  ▄█████
████████▄▄       ▄▄████████
███████████████████████████
████████     INDUSTRY LEADING BITCOIN SPORTSBOOK     ████████
LIVE
STREAMING
DAILY PRICE
BOOSTS
LIVE DEALER
CASINO
FAST & SECURE
PAYMENTS
███████████████████████████
████████▀▀       ▀▀████████
█████▀  ▄█▄  ▀  ▄▄   ▀█████
████  ▄  ▀    ▀█████▄  ████
███  ▀█▀   ▀█▄   ▀▀██▄  ███
██  ▄    █▄  ▀██▄▄  ▀█▄  ██
██  █▀ ▄  ▀█▄  ▀███▄  ▀  ██
██    ▄██  ▀██▄  ▀███▄   ██
███  ▀████  ▀███▄  ▀█▀  ███
████  ▀████  ▀████▄    ████
█████▄   ▀▀█▄  ▀▀▀   ▄█████
████████▄▄       ▄▄████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████████▀▀ █████ ▀▀████████
█████▀    ▄█████▄    ▀█████
██████▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄██████
███▀███▀ ▄███▀███▄ ▀███▀███
██   █ ▄██▀     ▀██▄ █   ██
██   █ ██         ██ █   ██
██   █ ▀██▄▄█ █▄▄██▀ █   ██
███▄███▄ ▀██▄▄▄██▀ ▄███▄███
██████▀▀█▄▄ ▀▀▀ ▄▄█▀▀██████
█████▄    ▀█████▀    ▄█████
████████▄▄ █████ ▄▄████████
███████████████████████████





..WIN WITH US!..
ahmedjamal1998
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 537


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2017, 05:50:20 PM
 #4

I've searched but last thread is from 2014.

Well it's because that's the time when CPUs were any useful in mining coins.
You can try mining a coin using the CPU on those computers but just for fun. Don't expect to get coins that will have any value.
If you're too lucky, you'll get a dollar per month which would of course be useless since you'll pay much more on electricity to run them.

EDIT: I've found a coin that is relatively new and the devs impose that it's cpu mineable only.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2329470.0

I'm not sure if it's legit and I hold no responsibility for you mining this coin. You said that those CPUs are low-grade ? I'm not sure how it'll turn out with you. But I guess you won't get anything.

OR try investing in some mining hardware (build a gpu mining rig ?) if you're serious about this idea.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!