Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 03:18:17 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining on HP Thin Clients  (Read 76 times)
quang.luan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:30:02 PM
 #1

Could be profitable mining on HP Thin Client be viable, if I already have them and they are just laying in warehouse and not ever going to be sold?

They have really low consumption, but some low-grade CPU.

Are there some CPU coins that are not outmined by GPU?

Thank you.

I've searched but last thread is from 2014.
1513307897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513307897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513307897
Reply with quote  #2

1513307897
Report to moderator
1513307897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513307897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513307897
Reply with quote  #2

1513307897
Report to moderator
1513307897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513307897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513307897
Reply with quote  #2

1513307897
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513307897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513307897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513307897
Reply with quote  #2

1513307897
Report to moderator
1513307897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513307897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513307897
Reply with quote  #2

1513307897
Report to moderator
1513307897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513307897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513307897
Reply with quote  #2

1513307897
Report to moderator
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:43:02 PM
 #2

Not worth it. If you're talking thin client, you're looking at something like atom cpus which is really low grade...a celeron does something like 30H/s on cryptonote, an atom might somewhere around 5-7.
BitBustah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 05:47:06 PM
 #3

A think client is a thin client. All the "work" is done on a server. So no, these are waaay to weak and slow to mine.
ahmedjamal1998
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Democratizing Global Trade - ICO NOW LIVE


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2017, 05:50:20 PM
 #4

I've searched but last thread is from 2014.

Well it's because that's the time when CPUs were any useful in mining coins.
You can try mining a coin using the CPU on those computers but just for fun. Don't expect to get coins that will have any value.
If you're too lucky, you'll get a dollar per month which would of course be useless since you'll pay much more on electricity to run them.

EDIT: I've found a coin that is relatively new and the devs impose that it's cpu mineable only.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2329470.0

I'm not sure if it's legit and I hold no responsibility for you mining this coin. You said that those CPUs are low-grade ? I'm not sure how it'll turn out with you. But I guess you won't get anything.

OR try investing in some mining hardware (build a gpu mining rig ?) if you're serious about this idea.


            ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄███████████████▄
     ▄█████████████████████▄
   ▄█████████████████████████▄
  █████████████████████████████
 ███████████████████████████████
▐██████   ▀████▀  ▐▌       █████▌
██████▌    ▀█▀    ███▌  █████████
██████  ▐▄    ▄  ▐███  ▐█████████
█████▌  ██▄ ▄█▌  ███▌  █████████▌
▐███████████████████████████████
 ▀█████████████████████████████
   ██████████████████████████▀
    ▀██████████████████████▀
       ▀████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀















▬▬  ▬▬  ▬▬  ▬▬  ▬▬
White Paper
▬▬  ▬▬  ▬▬  ▬▬  ▬▬
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!