Bitcoin Forum
November 14, 2018, 03:50:21 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sending Tx from Core 0.15.1 to bech32/base32 address  (Read 180 times)
TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728
Merit: 674


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2017, 10:34:37 AM
 #1

When trying to send a transaction from my core 0.15.1 node on Windows I cannot enter a base32/bech32 address to send a transaction to my Electrum wallet (addresses beginning bc1q).

Is it a misunderstanding on my part that this should be supported from 0.15.1 or is there some setting I need to use to turn it on?

1542167421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542167421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542167421
Reply with quote  #2

1542167421
Report to moderator
1542167421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542167421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542167421
Reply with quote  #2

1542167421
Report to moderator
1542167421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542167421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542167421
Reply with quote  #2

1542167421
Report to moderator
Unlike traditional banking where clients have only a few account numbers, with Bitcoin people can create an unlimited number of accounts (addresses). This can be used to easily track payments, and it improves anonymity.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542167421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542167421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542167421
Reply with quote  #2

1542167421
Report to moderator
BillyBobZorton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1019


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 01:07:02 PM
 #2

When trying to send a transaction from my core 0.15.1 node on Windows I cannot enter a base32/bech32 address to send a transaction to my Electrum wallet (addresses beginning bc1q).

Is it a misunderstanding on my part that this should be supported from 0.15.1 or is there some setting I need to use to turn it on?


Unfortunately I don't think you can do that in Bitcoin Core yet, it's coming in 0.15.2 with GUI support too, I think Core only supports P2SH-P2WSH for now. Only Electrum 3.0 has bech32 support thus far. But its strange that some other wallet would add this before Core does if they created it? maybe they are conservative and waiting for the right time to do this instead of rushing it. I think 0.16 will be the big update to have this all nicely put in the GUI so you don't screw up with the command line.
TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 728
Merit: 674


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2017, 01:17:32 PM
 #3

Thanks for your reply BillyBobZorton. Someone told me it was going to be supported in 0.15.1 so I'll just put that down to misinformation and wait for the next version. Cheers.

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1739


bc1qshxkrpe4arppq89fpzm6c0tpdvx5cfkve2c8kl


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2017, 06:40:15 PM
 #4

The released versions of Bitcoin Core currently do not support bech32 addresses nor do they have full Segwit wallet support (not just GUI, but support in the wallet itself). The next major release of Bitcoin Core will have all of this available.

Thanks for your reply BillyBobZorton. Someone told me it was going to be supported in 0.15.1 so I'll just put that down to misinformation and wait for the next version. Cheers.
It was originally planned for 0.15.1 but that was pushed back because 0.15.1 was used for some Segwit2x fork handling things.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!