Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2020, 08:41:09 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New S9 won't power back on. Really dead panel or board already? or cold temp?  (Read 370 times)
Voltar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 2


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 04:02:34 AM
 #1

Ok so I just put my miners I got last week in the garage to keep them cool and not as annoying.   I didn't have what i needed to hook them all up so one was left out there a few hours not plugged in.  But now when I plugged it back in, nothing but the power supply making noise. 

Would something have fried already or should I bring it in to warm up?  I don't think it's that cold out there probably 35 degrees F.

Any tips or do i have a problem?
1600634469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600634469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600634469
Reply with quote  #2

1600634469
Report to moderator
1600634469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600634469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600634469
Reply with quote  #2

1600634469
Report to moderator
1600634469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600634469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600634469
Reply with quote  #2

1600634469
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1620


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 04:53:01 AM
 #2

Warm it up. There's something odd about R4's and A9's where cold shuts them down, probably opens a circuit.
Voltar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 2


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 07:52:28 AM
Merited by Sandal_Hat (1), frodocooper (1)
 #3

Thanks!  All it took was 45 seconds in the microwave at 70% and it's purring or should i say howling away again. 
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1620


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 12:06:48 PM
 #4

Tell me you didn't really put it in the microwave....
castiel0504
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 109

Ultra Mega Giga Super Cool Flying Oposum!


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 01:30:01 PM
 #5

I...I...dont...did you just....Did you really put miner into microwave or you are joking? Please tell me that you are joking Cheesy
Ameador1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 43

Do it right the first time!


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2017, 02:15:28 PM
 #6

The specs on these units does say operating temperature, which I assume to be ambient temp, is 0 to 40 Celsius. 0 Celsius in 32 Fahrenheit - you are only 3 degrees above that - maybe it's just a little too cold for it. The bearings in the fans probably have some lubricant in them. At cold temps the lubricant can get firm and maybe not let the fans turn. If the fans don't turn, the antminer will not run.

Just a thought.

"Money is the material shape of the principle that men who wish to deal with one another must deal by trade and give value for value." - Ayn Rand
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 290
Merit: 107


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 04:12:23 PM
 #7

I just had x3 S9's November batch and can't gey ANY to show a hashrate ??

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2485365.0

 Angry Angry
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 290
Merit: 107


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 06:57:10 PM
Last edit: December 01, 2017, 07:29:48 PM by Dragonizer
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #8

Thanks!  All it took was 45 seconds in the microwave at 70% and it's purring or should i say howling away again.  

Just put mine in mirowave for 1min 30secs and working fine now !!!

https://imgur.com/VWNlgwV

Cheers  Grin Grin
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1620


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 10:36:36 PM
 #9

You seriously have got to be fucking me. Then again this is so far beyond outside left field it might be true....
Dragonizer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 290
Merit: 107


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 11:55:42 AM
 #10

Only jokin mate, i have 1 out 4 running !!!

Other 3 will not kick in the hash boards ? Everything else is fine ??

Pissed right off... Angry
Voltar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 08:07:27 PM
 #11

Of course I didn't put it in the microwave!  I was just taking advantage of the "newbie" label to make a funny.

I have 2 degrees and besides ice cream, my microwave activity is normal.

But it is very true, the new s9's will not start below 45 degrees Fahrenheit.
Jinx3825
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 11, 2018, 10:13:17 PM
 #12

the new s9's will not start below 45 degrees Fahrenheit.

My S9's are located inside of my garage. They are from the March batch. The garage is a single car, open attic. The temperature outside was around 20 degrees fahrenheit when I first turned them on. All I did was place a space heater in the garage for about 4 hours (I was inside of the garage) and let it warm up. I highly doubt my air temp was above 45 degrees, and my machines fired right up. They started to hash right away.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 03:32:33 PM
 #13

S9s will start under 45f every time.

I am betting you are using the APW3 Bitmain power supply. When it is too cold it will not turn on, you will see the fan spinning but there will be no 12v output.

Ive turned s9s on that were as cold as 20f with no issues, there is no protection circuitry in them for such a thing.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Voltar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 2


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 11:43:16 PM
 #14

It had nothing to do with the power supply.  It was probably batch related though.  I had several kinds of psu and 2 s9s from the same batch that wouldn't start cold.  But that was the first time I had that problem but was not the first batch of s9s i got.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!