Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2018, 04:16:54 AM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin core wallet shows empty balance and no transactions after "-zapwallettxe  (Read 373 times)
po-od
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 01, 2017, 10:26:25 PM
 #1

bitcoin core wallet shows empty balance and no transactions after "-zapwallettxes"

i think i have done a big mistake.
I tried to transfer BTC from my bitcoin core to bitfinex with minimum transaction fee.
After 2 days it stil shows unconfirmed. I googled for "delete unconfirmed transactions bitcoin core" and found this link:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/59h8f4/how_to_delete_unconfirmed_transactions_on_bitcoin/

i didnt read the whole thread and so i started my bitcoin core (v15.0) with "-zapwallettxes -rescan"
After that i read next line in thread and found "-rescan is not necessary". Then i stopped the just starting bitcoin core wallet and started again with -zapwallettxes but without -rescan.

after that it shows empty balance and it shows no transactions.

My last backup of my wallet is 3 month old and after that i recived some of BTC transactions.
Now (after my mess) i exported my wallet and the DAT-file is 1MB size so i think there must be something inside? My wallet has a passphrase and bitcoin core also shows.
Now i stopped my bitcoin core and i am waiting hopefully for some instructions.
1537330614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537330614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537330614
Reply with quote  #2

1537330614
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 05:23:18 AM
 #2

-zapwallettxes removes ALL transactions from your wallet history (not just unconfirmed ones)... it then usually forces a -rescan on restart to rescan the blockchain for your "confirmed" transactions, however you stopped it, so it may not do that now.

So, you should try and start Bitcoin Core with the -rescan option to force a rescan of all your transactions. Assuming your Bitcoin Core is fully synced, then it should show your correct balance once it is completed.

LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1929


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2017, 09:35:14 AM
 #3

My last backup of my wallet is 3 month old and after that i recived some of BTC transactions.
If you have an HD-wallet, your backup will work just fine. If don't have a HD-wallet, your backup will still be fine if you used less than 100 (or depending on the version even 1000) new transactions (including change) on different addresses.

In short: try using your backup. While doing this, DO NOT delete your other wallet, just rename it.

po-od
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 11:40:28 AM
 #4

thanx a lot.

-rescan worked fine

how can i see, if my wallet is hd?
AdolfinWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 590


-- “We are the biological bootloader for AI”


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 12:17:18 PM
 #5

thanx a lot.

-rescan worked fine

how can i see, if my wallet is hd?

If you started USING* bitcoin core after version 0.13.0, or are using a wallet that has been generated after 0.13.0, you will automatically by default using a HD wallet.

If you've generated your wallet before v0.13.0, it is highly unlikely that you have/are using one.

See https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Deterministic_wallet and https://bitcoin.org/en/developer-guide#hardened-keys for more information on them.

EDIT: *

cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1007


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 12:17:44 PM
 #6

thanx a lot.

-rescan worked fine

how can i see, if my wallet is hd?

It will have a little “hd” icon on the screen.

Similar to the lower right here:
https://goo.gl/images/QT8tYw
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1007


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 12:21:07 PM
 #7

thanx a lot.

-rescan worked fine

how can i see, if my wallet is hd?

If you started bitcoin core after version 0.13.0, or are using a wallet that has been generated after 0.13.0, you will automatically by default using a HD wallet.

See https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Deterministic_wallet

Starting Bitcoin Core isn’t sufficient, there are more steps involved than launching it. If you mean he started using Bitcoin Core, after 0.13.0, and didn’t previously have a wallet.dat created, that is different.

AdolfinWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 590


-- “We are the biological bootloader for AI”


View Profile
December 02, 2017, 01:45:46 PM
 #8

thanx a lot.

-rescan worked fine

how can i see, if my wallet is hd?

If you started bitcoin core after version 0.13.0, or are using a wallet that has been generated after 0.13.0, you will automatically by default using a HD wallet.

See https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Deterministic_wallet

Starting Bitcoin Core isn’t sufficient, there are more steps involved than launching it. If you mean he started using Bitcoin Core, after 0.13.0, and didn’t previously have a wallet.dat created, that is different.



You're right. I formulated that pretty badly, indeed.

I don't think there's a way to make previous non-HD bitcoin core wallets HD right? Other then importing all the private keys (walletdump) into a new ( wallet generated AFTER .13.0) wallet.dat

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!