Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:26:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mtgox hit $2.99  (Read 8302 times)
dank
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


You cannot kill love


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:42:29 AM
 #21

they just did it again.  another $3 order just got filled....?
I didn't see any other $3 order.

Edit: Never mind I was making tacos at the time

13oZY8zzWEp48XZpEEi8zSkYJF5AWR2vXc DMhYmNzMnU2Avgu7sF3GSDybHumj8XH8V8
Currently seeking plot of land to host 1,000,000+ person music festival
Dankmusic - Hear the impossible, feel the impossible, be the impossible dankmusic.org dankcoin.org
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481347605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347605
Reply with quote  #2

1481347605
Report to moderator
done
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:42:36 AM
 #22

Mtgox is  Cheesy
Bazil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:44:18 AM
 #23

I saw what happened when I was looking at the order depth.  Almost all of the orders disappeared so some of the low ones got filled.  Then all the old orders reappeared.

17Bo9a6YpXN2SbwY8mXLCD43Wup9ZE4rwm
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:44:29 AM
 #24

look here with google chrome
http://mtgoxlive.com/orders
Hook^
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:45:13 AM
 #25

So I tried to sell .1 BTC at a rate of $1/btc ($0.10 total).  The system forced me to sell at the highest offer, not what I specified.

That means something other than a customer mistake was made in the system.

I was really hoping to screw with some people too....
 Roll Eyes

EDIT: No, I wasn't the person that did the $2.99 trade.  You can't do that from what I explained above anyway.  Give it a try if you want.  You will see the same thing.


So anyone have any idea on how this can happen?  It obviously isn't from the customer site.

Maybe it is just test trades they are doing on the production system?
1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:45:25 AM
 #26

you guys didn't learn your lesson from mt gox yet?
bitbetter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I want to feel your empty heart.


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 03:47:24 AM
 #27

you guys didn't learn your lesson from mt gox yet?

that even though the exchange gets hacked the currency stays intact?

  BitBetter | where your BitCoins are fun
12f4jinRUaqsHTn2mrDSxzkw9AQ9WBLwtX
Bazil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:48:13 AM
 #28

you guys didn't learn your lesson from mt gox yet?

yeah with these kinds of bugs I'm going to have to move my money somewhere else I think.  I can't risk the system selling coins at 3 bucks a coin.

17Bo9a6YpXN2SbwY8mXLCD43Wup9ZE4rwm
cmh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:50:15 AM
 #29

So I tried to sell .1 BTC at a rate of $1/btc ($0.10 total).  The system forced me to sell at the lowest offer, not what I specified.

That means something other than a customer mistake was made in the system.

I was really hoping to screw with some people too....
 Roll Eyes

EDIT: No, I wasn't the person that did the $2.99 trade.  You can't do that from what I explained above anyway.  Give it a try if you want.  You will see the same thing.


I just tried your experiment and the order went through. That's the way I would expect it to work. Is there something wrong with that? Wait... did you just trick me into selling 0.1 btc for a $0.10?
epi 1:10,000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:51:04 AM
 #30

If the new support level is $2.99 then a lot of people are screwed. Exciting times!
Hook^
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:52:32 AM
 #31

So I tried to sell .1 BTC at a rate of $1/btc ($0.10 total).  The system forced me to sell at the lowest offer, not what I specified.

That means something other than a customer mistake was made in the system.

I was really hoping to screw with some people too....
 Roll Eyes

EDIT: No, I wasn't the person that did the $2.99 trade.  You can't do that from what I explained above anyway.  Give it a try if you want.  You will see the same thing.


I just tried your experiment and the order went through. That's the way I would expect it to work. Is there something wrong with that? Wait... did you just trick me into selling 0.1 btc for a $0.10?
No, mine wouldn't do it.  The order goes through, but if you look in your trade history, you see it sold for the highest offer price (around $15 or so).

If you really got it to work, let us know.
dank
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


You cannot kill love


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:53:28 AM
 #32

So I tried to sell .1 BTC at a rate of $1/btc ($0.10 total).  The system forced me to sell at the lowest offer, not what I specified.

That means something other than a customer mistake was made in the system.

I was really hoping to screw with some people too....
 Roll Eyes

EDIT: No, I wasn't the person that did the $2.99 trade.  You can't do that from what I explained above anyway.  Give it a try if you want.  You will see the same thing.


I just tried your experiment and the order went through. That's the way I would expect it to work. Is there something wrong with that? Wait... did you just trick me into selling 0.1 btc for a $0.10?
It didn't show up on any graph of mine.

13oZY8zzWEp48XZpEEi8zSkYJF5AWR2vXc DMhYmNzMnU2Avgu7sF3GSDybHumj8XH8V8
Currently seeking plot of land to host 1,000,000+ person music festival
Dankmusic - Hear the impossible, feel the impossible, be the impossible dankmusic.org dankcoin.org
Hook^
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:53:47 AM
 #33

If you look at the low for Mt. Gox now, it is saying $15.4.  So they scrubbed the $2.99 trade.  I'm guessing it is test data they forgot to remove from production.
cmh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:54:11 AM
 #34

So I tried to sell .1 BTC at a rate of $1/btc ($0.10 total).  The system forced me to sell at the lowest offer, not what I specified.

That means something other than a customer mistake was made in the system.

I was really hoping to screw with some people too....
 Roll Eyes

EDIT: No, I wasn't the person that did the $2.99 trade.  You can't do that from what I explained above anyway.  Give it a try if you want.  You will see the same thing.


I just tried your experiment and the order went through. That's the way I would expect it to work. Is there something wrong with that? Wait... did you just trick me into selling 0.1 btc for a $0.10?

I take it back. I placed the order, but it was filled at the highest bid.
XRcode
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:58:08 AM
 #35

Thats enough for me lol

I think I will open an exchange for Canadian dollars.
I will look into what kind of accounts will be necessary to facilitate deposit/withdrawl in Canada and maybe make an exchange site.
jed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165

Jed McCaleb


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 03:59:00 AM
 #36

I think it is just a bug in the reporting not an actual trade.

stellar.org   |    twitter
evolve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


daytrader/superhero


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:59:07 AM
 #37

If you look at the low for Mt. Gox now, it is saying $15.4.  So they scrubbed the $2.99 trade.  I'm guessing it is test data they forgot to remove from production.


im still showing a 2.99 low on mtgox...15.4 is the current price.
XRcode
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:00:41 AM
 #38

If I were to take the time to setup a secure exchange, how many people would be interested in trading BTC with Canadian dollars??
evolve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


daytrader/superhero


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:02:00 AM
 #39

depends on how easy/quickly i can get usd into the exchange.    Wink
XRcode
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:03:30 AM
 #40

You would be able to directly deposit USD, you would get the current exchange rate on converting it into CAD upon entering the trading account.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!