Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2017, 08:36:04 AM *
News: Are you prepared for Aug 1 / BIP148?
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What does this mean (from Bitcoin wiki)  (Read 689 times)
99bitcoins
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:05:41 AM
 #1

On this page: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Fallback_nodes

Quote
Connect to nodes
You can connect to these nodes with the -addnode=ip switch instead[...]

I realize that is a command but where do I type it? In the google searchbox? Do I enter it into my browser address bar? Jokes aside, does every major OS accept the same command? What platform is this command for? Why is it not obvious from the article what type of system that command is for?
1500626164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500626164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500626164
Reply with quote  #2

1500626164
Report to moderator
1500626164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500626164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500626164
Reply with quote  #2

1500626164
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500626164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500626164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500626164
Reply with quote  #2

1500626164
Report to moderator
1500626164
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500626164

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500626164
Reply with quote  #2

1500626164
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:21:19 AM
 #2

On this page: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Fallback_nodes

Quote
Connect to nodes
You can connect to these nodes with the -addnode=ip switch instead[...]

I realize that is a command but where do I type it? In the google searchbox? Do I enter it into my browser address bar? Jokes aside, does every major OS accept the same command? What platform is this command for? Why is it not obvious from the article what type of system that command is for?

All systems, it's a built in command for bitcoin/bitcoind so you can add more connections, most people won't need it.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 08:25:05 AM
 #3

I realize that is a command but where do I type it? In the google searchbox? Do I enter it into my browser address bar? Jokes aside, does every major OS accept the same command? What platform is this command for? Why is it not obvious from the article what type of system that command is for?
You add it to the command line you use to launch the bitcoin program. If you use a shortcut on Windows, you can set the command line in the properties. (Shortcut -> Target)

I'm not sure why it's not an RPC command too. It really should be.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!