Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 07:57:41 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Primecoin Built-in Miner Sieve Performance Issue  (Read 69059 times)
Tgspring
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 12:11:20 PM
 #661

I'd like to know if I'm the only one having this problem:

The primecoin client appears to be working normally, it says up to date and everything, but when you restart it then it tells you it's about 6 hours behind and you have orphan blocks.

have the same problem.
1619164661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619164661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619164661
Reply with quote  #2

1619164661
Report to moderator
1619164661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619164661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619164661
Reply with quote  #2

1619164661
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nullbitspectre1848
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 12:21:52 PM
 #662

I'd like to know if I'm the only one having this problem:

The primecoin client appears to be working normally, it says up to date and everything, but when you restart it then it tells you it's about 6 hours behind and you have orphan blocks.

have the same problem.

Have you guys tried backing up your wallets, uninstalling and reinstalling?

mika1977
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:03:03 PM
 #663

I'm currently using this version: primecoin0712v2-ivyonly

Mining for 13 hours now with around 1200-1500 PPS and not a single coin yet... does anyone actually got a coin with this build?
I`ve try every build from this tread, and still nothing. I`ll appreciate any help for my still going problem.


im sure you are just unlucky Sad found 2 blocks last night with chemist build
Unlucky, unlucky how much to be? For 1-2 CPU may be but for 13-15 CPU`s.
Any help i`m still stuck on zero (0) found blocks - past 81 hours.
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:11:09 PM
 #664

I'm currently using this version: primecoin0712v2-ivyonly

Mining for 13 hours now with around 1200-1500 PPS and not a single coin yet... does anyone actually got a coin with this build?
I`ve try every build from this tread, and still nothing. I`ll appreciate any help for my still going problem.


im sure you are just unlucky Sad found 2 blocks last night with chemist build
Unlucky, unlucky how much to be? For 1-2 CPU may be but for 13-15 CPU`s.
Any help i`m still stuck on zero (0) found blocks - past 81 hours.

Welcome to the club.
dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:32:16 PM
 #665

I'm currently using this version: primecoin0712v2-ivyonly

Mining for 13 hours now with around 1200-1500 PPS and not a single coin yet... does anyone actually got a coin with this build?
I`ve try every build from this tread, and still nothing. I`ll appreciate any help for my still going problem.


im sure you are just unlucky Sad found 2 blocks last night with chemist build
Unlucky, unlucky how much to be? For 1-2 CPU may be but for 13-15 CPU`s.
Any help i`m still stuck on zero (0) found blocks - past 81 hours.

Welcome to the club.


Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.
mika1977
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:34:12 PM
 #666

I'm currently using this version: primecoin0712v2-ivyonly

Mining for 13 hours now with around 1200-1500 PPS and not a single coin yet... does anyone actually got a coin with this build?
I`ve try every build from this tread, and still nothing. I`ll appreciate any help for my still going problem.


im sure you are just unlucky Sad found 2 blocks last night with chemist build
Unlucky, unlucky how much to be? For 1-2 CPU may be but for 13-15 CPU`s.
Any help i`m still stuck on zero (0) found blocks - past 81 hours.

Welcome to the club.
I don`t believe that there is no solution about this "problem"
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:35:07 PM
 #667

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.
No, someone doesn't have to.

It might be kinda nice, but there is certainly no obligation, much less a mandate, on anyone to do so.
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1034


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:51:55 PM
 #668

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.
No, someone doesn't have to.

It might be kinda nice, but there is certainly no obligation, much less a mandate, on anyone to do so.

+1, nicely said.
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 01:59:36 PM
 #669

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.
No, someone doesn't have to.

It might be kinda nice, but there is certainly no obligation, much less a mandate, on anyone to do so.

+1, nicely said.
Indeed It's right up there with the difference between "want" and "need"
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:02:20 PM
 #670

PPS seems to max out for me at ~8 threads per CPU, but I have no idea if this is actually helping or hurting performance.

I haven't found many blocks by running with 8 threads per cpu, but that could be a factor of bad luck or a higher network speed.

Do folks believe the PPS numbers coming out of primecoind when running with many threads per cpu?
dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:05:15 PM
 #671

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.
No, someone doesn't have to.

It might be kinda nice, but there is certainly no obligation, much less a mandate, on anyone to do so.

Other than persona incentive and then sharing with everyone and feeling good about themselves. Also donations don't hurt.
Kouye
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


Cuddling, censored, unicorn-shaped troll.


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:06:52 PM
 #672

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.

I'll help you.
Consider we have currently ~1 block found every 5 seconds.
Consider the whole network has probably over 4m pps total right now.

It comes down to rolling a dice every 5 seconds.
For example, with my insane 250pps, I have approximatively 0.006% chance to get a block every 5 seconds.

Understand why you haven't found one, now ?  Smiley

[OVER] RIDDLES 2nd edition --- this was claimed. Look out for 3rd edition!
I won't ever ask for a loan nor offer any escrow service. If I do, please consider my account as hacked.
innovation
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:29:45 PM
 #673

I mine  zero block with 4 laptop during 24hrs.

难道我的人品有这么差吗?难道我就不能挖“人品币”-PrimeCoin吗?

QQ群:255519396
taturii
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:36:27 PM
 #674

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.

I'll help you.
Consider we have currently ~1 block found every 5 seconds.
Consider the whole network has probably over 4m pps total right now.

It comes down to rolling a dice every 5 seconds.
For example, with my insane 250pps, I have approximatively 0.006% chance to get a block every 5 seconds.

Understand why you haven't found one, now ?  Smiley



assuming a 4M pps network and that probability is proportional to pps, for each thousand of pps you should get four blocks per day.
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:38:44 PM
 #675

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.

I'll help you.
Consider we have currently ~1 block found every 5 seconds.
Consider the whole network has probably over 4m pps total right now.

It comes down to rolling a dice every 5 seconds.
For example, with my insane 250pps, I have approximatively 0.006% chance to get a block every 5 seconds.

Understand why you haven't found one, now ?  Smiley



assuming a 4M pps network and that probability is proportional to pps, for each thousand of pps you should get four blocks per day.

How high should the difficulty be at 4M pps?
taturii
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:43:44 PM
 #676

Someone has to determine the miner situation. Which one works best for intel and AMD, Sandy, Ivy, Haswell, FX etc.

I'll help you.
Consider we have currently ~1 block found every 5 seconds.
Consider the whole network has probably over 4m pps total right now.

It comes down to rolling a dice every 5 seconds.
For example, with my insane 250pps, I have approximatively 0.006% chance to get a block every 5 seconds.

Understand why you haven't found one, now ?  Smiley



assuming a 4M pps network and that probability is proportional to pps, for each thousand of pps you should get four blocks per day.

How high should the difficulty be at 4M pps?

That should be answered by a dev. I don't know the relation betwen difficulty and network 'pps power'
mhps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 500


CAT.EX Exchange


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 02:50:51 PM
 #677


I don`t believe that there is no solution about this "problem"


use addnode. search the thread for valid nodes to add.




|(
▄▄██████████▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄█████▀ ▀█████▀ ▀██████▄
██████ ███ ▀▀▀ ███ ███████
██████▀▄███████████▄▀███████
███████ █████████████ ████████
███████ █████████████ ████████
████████▄▀█████████▀▄█████████
██████████▄ █████ ▄█▀▄▄▄▀█████
██████████ ████▌▐█ █▀▄█ ████
████████▌▐█████ █▌▐█▄▄████
▀█████▀ ██████▄ ▀ █████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀██████████▀▀
)(.
)
▌   ANNOUNCE THREAD   ▌▐   BOUNTY   ▐
TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  TELEGRAM  |  DISCORD
(((((((   MOBILE APP [ ANDROID / IOS ]   )))))))
)
Kouye
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


Cuddling, censored, unicorn-shaped troll.


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 03:00:29 PM
 #678

The 4m pps total is an estimate, since a couple days ago, someone with 60k pps stated he was finding 1 block out of 50, which averaged in a 3m pps total at that time.
Since then, I know for sure big players (~100k pps) have joined, hence the 4m pps rough estimate.

[OVER] RIDDLES 2nd edition --- this was claimed. Look out for 3rd edition!
I won't ever ask for a loan nor offer any escrow service. If I do, please consider my account as hacked.
Zalfrin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 401
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 04:06:08 PM
 #679

Updated windows build using the new Chemisist source. Tuned for Intel Sandy and Ivy Bridge but compatible with other architecture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4k0xmuajxf5i4ly/primecoin0712v3-avx.zip

I'm seeing lower PPS than my v2 builds but I think that weaving will be better overall.

FYI I ran this overnight, it had the same bug as some of my builds where it dropped off the blockchain and never recovered. Woke up this morning to find current block was way behind.
fknsonikk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 04:21:48 PM
 #680

Updated windows build using the new Chemisist source. Tuned for Intel Sandy and Ivy Bridge but compatible with other architecture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4k0xmuajxf5i4ly/primecoin0712v3-avx.zip

I'm seeing lower PPS than my v2 builds but I think that weaving will be better overall.

FYI I ran this overnight, it had the same bug as some of my builds where it dropped off the blockchain and never recovered. Woke up this morning to find current block was way behind.

Yes, I have had this problem with several of your builds and the generic build based on Cheimisists changes (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253662.msg2716037#msg2716037) as well, but not the release 5 build. The strange thing is that the problem doesn't occur right away, I have observed it getting stuck on the same block after working flawlessly for 7 hours. I don't end up with any orphans though, I only observe that it's working on the same (old) block for a very long time.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!