Bitcoin Forum
March 23, 2017, 08:34:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin.exe not generating/processing any blocks  (Read 942 times)
BTC_TRADER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:00:02 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

I am really new to Bitcoin and am having an issue on my Windows 7 x64 machine.

It has just hung saying at the bottom 8 connections and 134405 blocks.

Yesterday it was working fine, then my machine ran some updates and automatically rebooted itself over night and now it doesn't work.

I have added Bitcoin.exe to the exceptions list in Microsoft Security Essentials and allowed it through the Firewall but still the blocks do not go up.

Sorry but I don't really have an understanding of what the blocks actually mean but I guess if the number isn't going up then its not crunching any numbers so to speak.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks
BTC_TRADER
1490258079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490258079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490258079
Reply with quote  #2

1490258079
Report to moderator
1490258079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490258079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490258079
Reply with quote  #2

1490258079
Report to moderator
The grue lurks in the darkest places of the earth. Its favorite diet is adventurers, but its insatiable appetite is tempered by its fear of light. No grue has ever been seen by the light of day, and few have survived its fearsome jaws to tell the tale.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490258079
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490258079

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490258079
Reply with quote  #2

1490258079
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:28:37 PM
 #2

Hey guys,

I am really new to Bitcoin and am having an issue on my Windows 7 x64 machine.

It has just hung saying at the bottom 8 connections and 134405 blocks.

Yesterday it was working fine, then my machine ran some updates and automatically rebooted itself over night and now it doesn't work.

I have added Bitcoin.exe to the exceptions list in Microsoft Security Essentials and allowed it through the Firewall but still the blocks do not go up.

Sorry but I don't really have an understanding of what the blocks actually mean but I guess if the number isn't going up then its not crunching any numbers so to speak.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks
BTC_TRADER

Im not sure, but when the client is downloading blocks, it's not generating them, you need a separate miner for that.
BTC_TRADER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 04:35:05 AM
 #3

Ok so what's a 'separate miner' then?

Is this something additional to bitcoin.exe that's required?

Cheers
BTC_TRADER
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2011, 04:36:41 AM
 #4

What exactly are you trying to do? Are you trying to mine?

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
July 03, 2011, 06:25:16 AM
 #5

Blocks are bundles of transactions.

You weren't generating them, you were downloading them (to catch up with everyone else).

You've caught up, and so you should only see a new one approximately every 10 minutes.

This is normal, your bitcoin client seems to be working fine.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!