Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 11:08:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin.exe not generating/processing any blocks  (Read 991 times)
BTC_TRADER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:00:02 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

I am really new to Bitcoin and am having an issue on my Windows 7 x64 machine.

It has just hung saying at the bottom 8 connections and 134405 blocks.

Yesterday it was working fine, then my machine ran some updates and automatically rebooted itself over night and now it doesn't work.

I have added Bitcoin.exe to the exceptions list in Microsoft Security Essentials and allowed it through the Firewall but still the blocks do not go up.

Sorry but I don't really have an understanding of what the blocks actually mean but I guess if the number isn't going up then its not crunching any numbers so to speak.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks
BTC_TRADER
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511348922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511348922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511348922
Reply with quote  #2

1511348922
Report to moderator
1511348922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511348922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511348922
Reply with quote  #2

1511348922
Report to moderator
1511348922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511348922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511348922
Reply with quote  #2

1511348922
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:28:37 PM
 #2

Hey guys,

I am really new to Bitcoin and am having an issue on my Windows 7 x64 machine.

It has just hung saying at the bottom 8 connections and 134405 blocks.

Yesterday it was working fine, then my machine ran some updates and automatically rebooted itself over night and now it doesn't work.

I have added Bitcoin.exe to the exceptions list in Microsoft Security Essentials and allowed it through the Firewall but still the blocks do not go up.

Sorry but I don't really have an understanding of what the blocks actually mean but I guess if the number isn't going up then its not crunching any numbers so to speak.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks
BTC_TRADER

Im not sure, but when the client is downloading blocks, it's not generating them, you need a separate miner for that.
BTC_TRADER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 04:35:05 AM
 #3

Ok so what's a 'separate miner' then?

Is this something additional to bitcoin.exe that's required?

Cheers
BTC_TRADER
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2011, 04:36:41 AM
 #4

What exactly are you trying to do? Are you trying to mine?

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 06:25:16 AM
 #5

Blocks are bundles of transactions.

You weren't generating them, you were downloading them (to catch up with everyone else).

You've caught up, and so you should only see a new one approximately every 10 minutes.

This is normal, your bitcoin client seems to be working fine.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!