Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2019, 02:00:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: For those wondering about the utility of MondoHub  (Read 2227 times)
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1042


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 05:50:59 AM
 #1

MondoHub 28-port:

so I ordered and received this: http://www.cyberguys.com/product-details/?productid=63202

after testing it, I determined that it can only handle 9 USB miners for those of you wondering...
obviously when you read the spec (it comes with a 4A PSU), it's clear that it would not have powered as many miners as there are ports.
however, being the Canary and all, I decided to test it anyways so that there's no question and others don't waste their time...
a few other observations:
- the usb ports on the edges are not well thought out... the miner's heatsink is facing downward toward the surface, so terrible with trying to get fans on it
- there are magets on the bottom, once I moved the hub around gingerly, a few fell off... not a good quality product in my opinion...
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1573956028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573956028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573956028
Reply with quote  #2

1573956028
Report to moderator
1573956028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573956028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573956028
Reply with quote  #2

1573956028
Report to moderator
1573956028
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573956028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573956028
Reply with quote  #2

1573956028
Report to moderator
kapdog74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 10:47:31 PM
 #2

I have also tested this hub, and it has many issues.  I think the current is limited per port to 500ma, and because this is borderline they seem to power down unpredictably.   I also was using a 12 amp power supply instead of the 4amp supply they included with almost equally poor results.  I did get to 16 sapphires for a short time, then they just shut down.  It also ran hot and eventually would have burned out at 12 amps, even though I removed it from its plastic casing for cooling reasons.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
July 29, 2013, 01:37:32 AM
 #3

I have used all 28 ports on that hub with no problem for miners. The magnets are definitely a issue though.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1042


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 01:41:00 AM
 #4

I have used all 28 ports on that hub with no problem for miners. The magnets are definitely a issue though.
ASICMiner USB Erupter's? or BFL miners that do not get powered by the USB port itself?
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 02:02:45 AM
 #5

I have used all 28 ports on that hub with no problem for miners. The magnets are definitely a issue though.

you must be referring to BFL units that draw power from elsewhere. For block eruptors, 4A will only power 8 or 9  <500mA  devices

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
batt01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 06:29:57 AM
 #6

Thanks for checking it out, I was bout to pull the trigger on that one.
You saved me a few bucks.

Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1020


Christian Antkow


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 02:43:55 PM
 #7

I have used all 28 ports on that hub with no problem for miners. The magnets are definitely a issue though.
you must be referring to BFL units that draw power from elsewhere. For block eruptors, 4A will only power 8 or 9  <500mA  devices

 Yeah, @ only 4A it'll drive max 8 USB Erupters (9 with some stress). I have a Mondohub28 collecting dust right now that I'll be brushing off once my 18 K16's arrive.

 The Mondohub should theoretically have no problem utilizing all 28 ports hosting self-powered USB devices.
Ridicuss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 03:31:58 PM
 #8

Thanks for posting this.  I bought one of these for other purposes but now have quite a few usb erupters on the way. You saved me much aggravation with this post. I guess I can run a few fans off of it and use it for its original intended purpose. Providing I ever receive that gear.

Man, I wish I could change my avatar!
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
July 29, 2013, 03:43:39 PM
 #9

Ah.. yeah unpowered units, not the BE's.  It's a decent hub as far as that goes, haven't tried powering anything off it though.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
suprabitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 11:04:42 PM
 #10

is it possible to use a psu power supply or an open case power supply (like on ebay) to increase the amps and power more slots? or are the internal power cables too small gauge
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 11:11:10 PM
 #11

I knew this about a month ago just by looking at the power specs.  Wink


That was my initial choice. Here is another link to it with specs: http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/eecf/#tabs

Power Adapter
cUL, FCC
Input: 100 - 240 V, 50/60 Hz; 1.6A, maximum
Output: 5 V / 4 A
Cable: 1.2 m (6 ft.)

Only enough power to run 8   Cry

I dunno why there are so many threads on USB hubs for ASICMINER block Erupter USBs, it makes it hard to find all known information.

EDIT: I guess I was wrong about it only being able to run 8, since you said you got 9 working canary. I wonder where it squeezes the extra power from, that baffles me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!