Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2022, 04:41:12 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 [129] 130 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397530 times)
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 979
Merit: 510



View Profile
April 05, 2014, 01:25:11 AM
 #2561

To donate 1% of the blocks you will find, add this line to the .conf file:
Code:
donationpercentage=1.0

Any other command-line option also works in the .conf file the same way. The source code tarball for HP12 is still the latest code. There's nothing new on Github yet.

If you really want to optimize, you can try getting the latest version of libgmp which was released a few days ago.

Thanks, so https://gmplib.org/download/gmp/gmp-6.0.0a.tar.lz then https://gmplib.org/manual/Installing-GMP.html#Installing-GMP ?


Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
1653669672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653669672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653669672
Reply with quote  #2

1653669672
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1653669672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653669672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653669672
Reply with quote  #2

1653669672
Report to moderator
rdebourbon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 05, 2014, 05:11:45 AM
 #2562

To donate 1% of the blocks you will find, add this line to the .conf file:
Code:
donationpercentage=1.0

Any other command-line option also works in the .conf file the same way. The source code tarball for HP12 is still the latest code. There's nothing new on Github yet.

If you really want to optimize, you can try getting the latest version of libgmp which was released a few days ago.

Thanks, so https://gmplib.org/download/gmp/gmp-6.0.0a.tar.lz then https://gmplib.org/manual/Installing-GMP.html#Installing-GMP ?


I've been running GMP6 in my Linux port for a few days now and I can confirm that on a Core2 it's about 5% faster. . Apparently AVX systems will see even more increase,  but I haven't been able to find some one capable of confirming this increase. .

XPM:AUwKMCYCacE6Jq1rsLcSEHSNiohHVVSiWv LTC:LV7VHT3oGWQzG9EKjvSXd3eokgNXj6ciFE BTC:1Fph7y622HJ5Cwq4bkzfeZXWep2Jyi5kp7
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 05, 2014, 08:27:08 AM
 #2563


Yes, that will install the latest version of GMP in /usr/local. However, you then need to use some special flags to link against it. Here's a snippet from my Linux compilation guide which modifies makefile.unix.

Code:
cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

After that run "make -f makefile.my clean" and then "make -f makefile.my".
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 05, 2014, 03:24:59 PM
 #2564


Yes, that will install the latest version of GMP in /usr/local. However, you then need to use some special flags to link against it. Here's a snippet from my Linux compilation guide which modifies makefile.unix.

Code:
cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

After that run "make -f makefile.my clean" and then "make -f makefile.my".

Also, it's possible to check that you're using your own custom libgmp by typing "ldd primecoind". The output should say something like this:
Code:
        libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10 (0x0000003822600000)

That means it's using the libgmp installed in /usr/local.
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 979
Merit: 510



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 12:57:56 AM
 #2565


Yes, that will install the latest version of GMP in /usr/local. However, you then need to use some special flags to link against it. Here's a snippet from my Linux compilation guide which modifies makefile.unix.

Code:
cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

After that run "make -f makefile.my clean" and then "make -f makefile.my".

Also, it's possible to check that you're using your own custom libgmp by typing "ldd primecoind". The output should say something like this:
Code:
       libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10 (0x0000003822600000)

That means it's using the libgmp installed in /usr/local.

Thanks, even without the changes, I have:
 libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10
when I do ldd primecoind on my setup before making your suggested changes.
Does that mean it's using the latest version?


Here is a little script I made:


wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.2-hp12/primecoin-0.1.2-hp12.tar.bz2/download

tar jxf download

cd primecoin-0.1.2-hp12/src

cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

make -f makefile.my USE_UPNP=-

echo "rpcuser=changethis
rpcpassword=changethis
daemon=1
gen=1
donateaddress=AUc6TAbjCEz8DuY4mr6z5yr1pgMTSjDNP3
donatepercent=1.5" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf


Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
BenAnh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 01:57:22 AM
 #2566

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 02:18:45 AM
 #2567

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.

I'm going to guess it is (or will soon be) roughly equal to the more profitable scrypt coins but 10-20% less profitable than vertcoin (on highly optimised cards reaching their limit for scrypt-n). Everything has its way of working out...

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 979
Merit: 510



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 02:21:32 AM
 #2568

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
BenAnh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 02:59:26 AM
 #2569

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.
Love to know the stats or benchmark to see which one is better, let me know!
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 696
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:41:59 AM
 #2570

please update hp12 cause it uses vulnerable to heartbleed bug openssl v1.0.1e

Bleutrade
10,000 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 08:17:13 PM
 #2571

please update hp12 cause it uses vulnerable to heartbleed bug openssl v1.0.1e

AFAIK it just uses the libs, so you'll be fine by upgrading openssl and restarting primecoind.
No changes required on primecoind's side (unless you have used SSL for your rpc calls)
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:46:22 PM
 #2572

I'm working on a new release with updated OpenSSL. AFAIK, there's two ways to exploit the OpenSSL bug in the wallet:
1.) Using -rpcssl with a wallet daemon. This turns the RPC port into an SSL server which can be exploited. If the port is open to the internet, your wallet may be compromised.
2.) Opening payment protocol links which makes the wallet connect to an SSL server. If the server is malicious, your wallet may be compromised. So don't open any links starting with primecoin: .
MayDee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:54:12 PM
 #2573

Hi, Mikaelh.

I did a partial double spend by accident since I have installed Primecoin-Qt on two computers. Do you know how long the transaction will be in the memory pool and block my funds?

Cryptokk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 12:44:54 AM
 #2574


http://www.cryptokk.com/gfx/externals/pres/logo3.png

www.cryptokk.com

An unique Exchange market,
including services for your altcoins,
we have the biggest tipbot service of the world,
on a safe and friendly platform,
we give wings to your coins, instead of giving dump,
50+ coins listed,
easy-to-use and suitable to all supports,
multi-lingual.


Official thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=507303.0


Is now trading

http://www.cryptokk.com/gfx/coins/xpm.png

Swap your XPM with 50+ other coins !

mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 10:24:50 AM
 #2575

HP13 released! Download links are on the first page. Links point to my own server because SourceForge is being especially slow for me.

Changes:
 * Binaries compiled with OpenSSL 1.0.1g which addresses the Heartbleed vulnerability
 * Faster blockchain download
 * Bonus: Also compiled with GMP 6.0.0a

Mac OS X version will be delayed because it failed to build this time.
yhgfhy8
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 02:06:17 AM
 #2576

Hmm, how well will this work with my i3?

GMP has optimized assembly for several processors. I'd expect it to give decent performance on an i3.

Bwincoin - 100% Free POS.B7TkusEJ3N9bTrCrwC6xCBj7NnK1J4WciJ
yhgfhy8
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 02:10:31 AM
 #2577

Simmer down TheSwede75...

I've always loved the term " simmer down " . Lol

yeah, me too. It's a soothing/relaxing and non-threatening/defensive term. Crisp and clear.

Bwincoin - 100% Free POS.B7TkusEJ3N9bTrCrwC6xCBj7NnK1J4WciJ
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 17, 2014, 01:17:39 PM
 #2578

Mac OS X version will be delayed because it failed to build this time.

I fixed the OS X build and it's now available for download.
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 979
Merit: 510



View Profile
April 24, 2014, 05:46:37 PM
 #2579

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.

Sadly seems CPU mining is quite unprofitable(Unless you have the gear already and free electricity, but then what isn't profitable at that point).  The 3770 processors(5) only hit 1 block since my last post.
I had a 4770 pointed to beeeeer and I got around .05 XPM a day, which seems about right?

Though it's hard to judge, next month could have hit a ton of blocks, but seems these CPU's will need to find a new purpose.
CPU coins become GPU, and Scrypt now belongs to ASICs.
Wonder what things will be like a year from now.

I'm still running them though for now, will update if luck changes.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
BenAnh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 24, 2014, 05:51:52 PM
 #2580

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.

Sadly seems CPU mining is quite unprofitable(Unless you have the gear already and free electricity, but then what isn't profitable at that point).  The 3770 processors(5) only hit 1 block since my last post.
I had a 4770 pointed to beeeeer and I got around .05 XPM a day, which seems about right?

Though it's hard to judge, next month could have hit a ton of blocks, but seems these CPU's will need to find a new purpose.
CPU coins become GPU, and Scrypt now belongs to ASICs.
Wonder what things will be like a year from now.

I'm still running them though for now, will update if luck changes.
Mine it when you still can!
Pages: « 1 ... 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 [129] 130 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!