Bitcoin Forum
June 27, 2017, 10:57:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 [131] 132 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 384185 times)
rdebourbon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
April 05, 2014, 05:11:45 AM
 #2601

To donate 1% of the blocks you will find, add this line to the .conf file:
Code:
donationpercentage=1.0

Any other command-line option also works in the .conf file the same way. The source code tarball for HP12 is still the latest code. There's nothing new on Github yet.

If you really want to optimize, you can try getting the latest version of libgmp which was released a few days ago.

Thanks, so https://gmplib.org/download/gmp/gmp-6.0.0a.tar.lz then https://gmplib.org/manual/Installing-GMP.html#Installing-GMP ?


I've been running GMP6 in my Linux port for a few days now and I can confirm that on a Core2 it's about 5% faster. . Apparently AVX systems will see even more increase,  but I haven't been able to find some one capable of confirming this increase. .

XPM:AUwKMCYCacE6Jq1rsLcSEHSNiohHVVSiWv LTC:LV7VHT3oGWQzG9EKjvSXd3eokgNXj6ciFE BTC:1Fph7y622HJ5Cwq4bkzfeZXWep2Jyi5kp7
1498604253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498604253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498604253
Reply with quote  #2

1498604253
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498604253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498604253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498604253
Reply with quote  #2

1498604253
Report to moderator
1498604253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498604253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498604253
Reply with quote  #2

1498604253
Report to moderator
1498604253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498604253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498604253
Reply with quote  #2

1498604253
Report to moderator
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
April 05, 2014, 08:27:08 AM
 #2602


Yes, that will install the latest version of GMP in /usr/local. However, you then need to use some special flags to link against it. Here's a snippet from my Linux compilation guide which modifies makefile.unix.

Code:
cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

After that run "make -f makefile.my clean" and then "make -f makefile.my".
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
April 05, 2014, 03:24:59 PM
 #2603


Yes, that will install the latest version of GMP in /usr/local. However, you then need to use some special flags to link against it. Here's a snippet from my Linux compilation guide which modifies makefile.unix.

Code:
cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

After that run "make -f makefile.my clean" and then "make -f makefile.my".

Also, it's possible to check that you're using your own custom libgmp by typing "ldd primecoind". The output should say something like this:
Code:
        libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10 (0x0000003822600000)

That means it's using the libgmp installed in /usr/local.
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 655


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 12:57:56 AM
 #2604


Yes, that will install the latest version of GMP in /usr/local. However, you then need to use some special flags to link against it. Here's a snippet from my Linux compilation guide which modifies makefile.unix.

Code:
cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

After that run "make -f makefile.my clean" and then "make -f makefile.my".

Also, it's possible to check that you're using your own custom libgmp by typing "ldd primecoind". The output should say something like this:
Code:
       libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10 (0x0000003822600000)

That means it's using the libgmp installed in /usr/local.

Thanks, even without the changes, I have:
 libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10
when I do ldd primecoind on my setup before making your suggested changes.
Does that mean it's using the latest version?


Here is a little script I made:


wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.2-hp12/primecoin-0.1.2-hp12.tar.bz2/download

tar jxf download

cd primecoin-0.1.2-hp12/src

cp makefile.unix makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH) \/usr\/local\/include)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH))/$(OPENSSL_LIB_PATH) \/usr\/local\/lib)/' makefile.my
sed -i -e 's/$(LDHARDENING) $(LDFLAGS)/$(LDHARDENING) -Wl,-rpath,\/usr\/local\/lib $(LDFLAGS)/' makefile.my

make -f makefile.my USE_UPNP=-

echo "rpcuser=changethis
rpcpassword=changethis
daemon=1
gen=1
donateaddress=AUc6TAbjCEz8DuY4mr6z5yr1pgMTSjDNP3
donatepercent=1.5" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf

BenAnh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 01:57:22 AM
 #2605

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 02:18:45 AM
 #2606

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.

I'm going to guess it is (or will soon be) roughly equal to the more profitable scrypt coins but 10-20% less profitable than vertcoin (on highly optimised cards reaching their limit for scrypt-n). Everything has its way of working out...

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 655


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 02:21:32 AM
 #2607

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.
BenAnh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 02:59:26 AM
 #2608

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.
Love to know the stats or benchmark to see which one is better, let me know!
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 603


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:41:59 AM
 #2609

please update hp12 cause it uses vulnerable to heartbleed bug openssl v1.0.1e

Bleutrade
1200 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 08:17:13 PM
 #2610

please update hp12 cause it uses vulnerable to heartbleed bug openssl v1.0.1e

AFAIK it just uses the libs, so you'll be fine by upgrading openssl and restarting primecoind.
No changes required on primecoind's side (unless you have used SSL for your rpc calls)
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:46:22 PM
 #2611

I'm working on a new release with updated OpenSSL. AFAIK, there's two ways to exploit the OpenSSL bug in the wallet:
1.) Using -rpcssl with a wallet daemon. This turns the RPC port into an SSL server which can be exploited. If the port is open to the internet, your wallet may be compromised.
2.) Opening payment protocol links which makes the wallet connect to an SSL server. If the server is malicious, your wallet may be compromised. So don't open any links starting with primecoin: .
MayDee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:54:12 PM
 #2612

Hi, Mikaelh.

I did a partial double spend by accident since I have installed Primecoin-Qt on two computers. Do you know how long the transaction will be in the memory pool and block my funds?


Cryptokk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

www.cryptokk.com


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 12:44:54 AM
 #2613




www.cryptokk.com

An unique Exchange market,
including services for your altcoins,
we have the biggest tipbot service of the world,
on a safe and friendly platform,
we give wings to your coins, instead of giving dump,
50+ coins listed,
easy-to-use and suitable to all supports,
multi-lingual.


Official thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=507303.0


Is now trading



Swap your XPM with 50+ other coins !


Cryptokk.com | An Innovative Exchange Market | Biggest Tipbot Service | 70+ Coins Listed | Give wings to your coins
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 10:24:50 AM
 #2614

HP13 released! Download links are on the first page. Links point to my own server because SourceForge is being especially slow for me.

Changes:
 * Binaries compiled with OpenSSL 1.0.1g which addresses the Heartbleed vulnerability
 * Faster blockchain download
 * Bonus: Also compiled with GMP 6.0.0a

Mac OS X version will be delayed because it failed to build this time.
yhgfhy8
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 02:06:17 AM
 #2615

Hmm, how well will this work with my i3?

GMP has optimized assembly for several processors. I'd expect it to give decent performance on an i3.

Bwincoin - 100% Free POS.B7TkusEJ3N9bTrCrwC6xCBj7NnK1J4WciJ
yhgfhy8
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 02:10:31 AM
 #2616

Simmer down TheSwede75...

I've always loved the term " simmer down " . Lol

yeah, me too. It's a soothing/relaxing and non-threatening/defensive term. Crisp and clear.

Bwincoin - 100% Free POS.B7TkusEJ3N9bTrCrwC6xCBj7NnK1J4WciJ
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
April 17, 2014, 01:17:39 PM
 #2617

Mac OS X version will be delayed because it failed to build this time.

I fixed the OS X build and it's now available for download.
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 655


View Profile
April 24, 2014, 05:46:37 PM
 #2618

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.

Sadly seems CPU mining is quite unprofitable(Unless you have the gear already and free electricity, but then what isn't profitable at that point).  The 3770 processors(5) only hit 1 block since my last post.
I had a 4770 pointed to beeeeer and I got around .05 XPM a day, which seems about right?

Though it's hard to judge, next month could have hit a ton of blocks, but seems these CPU's will need to find a new purpose.
CPU coins become GPU, and Scrypt now belongs to ASICs.
Wonder what things will be like a year from now.

I'm still running them though for now, will update if luck changes.
BenAnh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
April 24, 2014, 05:51:52 PM
 #2619

Anyone do or have a benchmark to compare http://primegpu.com http://rapidprime.com as GPU vs CPU on Primecoin? It would be interesting to see whether it's profitable to do CPU anymore and how profitable with GPU.
I'm updating everything and fine tuning a pair of 3770 processors, using hp12.  Will see how a month of them going goes, and the electric cost.
Wondering this as well, GPU miners could spike the price though, hash rate goes up, so does coin value generally as does market cap.

Sadly seems CPU mining is quite unprofitable(Unless you have the gear already and free electricity, but then what isn't profitable at that point).  The 3770 processors(5) only hit 1 block since my last post.
I had a 4770 pointed to beeeeer and I got around .05 XPM a day, which seems about right?

Though it's hard to judge, next month could have hit a ton of blocks, but seems these CPU's will need to find a new purpose.
CPU coins become GPU, and Scrypt now belongs to ASICs.
Wonder what things will be like a year from now.

I'm still running them though for now, will update if luck changes.
Mine it when you still can!
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 26, 2014, 02:11:07 AM
 #2620

If you want to do profitable CPU mining, my tips are:

- Have a lot of hardware ready to go, sourced as cheap as you can
- Free / leached electricity helps. By leached I mean at work or low cost tarrifs, not coathangering your power box
- If you must pay for power, use newer CPU with fab sizes not larger than 34 nm. Newer CPU are amazingly more efficient.
- Avoid buying old servers from eBay or site auctions. Yes they're extremely cheap but they'll always be disappointingly slow, inefficient, and noisy.

Lastly but most importantly, you must sink a lot of time into researching and looking for new CPU coins, which means browsing the altcoin forum daily. You have to get onto the new coins as soon as they're out as that is always where the profits lay in the long run. The time you spend doing this and tweaking mining software/hardware may not ever exceed your profits if you put a value on your time.

Unless you are lucky your efforts will probably be in vain when compared to margins from scrypt/scrypt-n/SHA-256 coins and hardware.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
Pages: « 1 ... 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 [131] 132 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!