Bitcoin Forum
May 13, 2024, 11:26:14 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Working on a GPU miner for Primecoin  (Read 102748 times)
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1035



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 01:55:26 AM
 #281

Thanks for the update!
1715642774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715642774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715642774
Reply with quote  #2

1715642774
Report to moderator
1715642774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715642774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715642774
Reply with quote  #2

1715642774
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715642774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715642774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715642774
Reply with quote  #2

1715642774
Report to moderator
1715642774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715642774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715642774
Reply with quote  #2

1715642774
Report to moderator
1715642774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715642774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715642774
Reply with quote  #2

1715642774
Report to moderator
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 02:54:22 AM
 #282

Alright, I have written the GPU code for the sieve. It compiles, but I haven't gotten to test it yet. I have to code the OpenCL interface first. I can't really use my existing code since all the other coins are "GPU does all the work", but the Primecoin miner is currently "CPU and GPU work together". The ultimate plan is, of course, to do everything on the GPU, but that's not gonna be the case in the first betas.

Thanks for the update! It's really refreshing to see this much communication when some other bitcoin merchants and individuals barely communicate at all. I know a few people that got money tied up in bitfloor back in april and they went up until about two weeks ago with no updates on when they might see their money again. You on the other hand have been giving regular updates about your work that people aren't even going to pay for when it goes live. I can't wait for this to go live just to see the results and what it means for this new growing cryptocurrency. If I had the BTC to get into the beta I would definitely donate it. With that said, when this gets out of beta I would be happy to support your work by donating the fractions of a bitcoin I have from selling my primecoins.

Gread job so far - I can't wait to see what you have when the beta is released tomorrow!

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
mhps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 500


CAT.EX Exchange


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 03:01:32 AM
 #283

Alright, I have written the GPU code for the sieve. It compiles, but I haven't gotten to test it yet. I have to code the OpenCL interface first. I can't really use my existing code since all the other coins are "GPU does all the work", but the Primecoin miner is currently "CPU and GPU work together". The ultimate plan is, of course, to do everything on the GPU, but that's not gonna be the case in the first betas.


The GPU doesn't have to do everything. Cudaminer for LTC uses both CPU and GPU and works out nicely.  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0




|(
▄▄██████████▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄█████▀ ▀█████▀ ▀██████▄
██████ ███ ▀▀▀ ███ ███████
██████▀▄███████████▄▀███████
███████ █████████████ ████████
███████ █████████████ ████████
████████▄▀█████████▀▄█████████
██████████▄ █████ ▄█▀▄▄▄▀█████
██████████ ████▌▐█ █▀▄█ ████
████████▌▐█████ █▌▐█▄▄████
▀█████▀ ██████▄ ▀ █████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀██████████▀▀
)(.
)
▌   ANNOUNCE THREAD   ▌▐   BOUNTY   ▐
TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  TELEGRAM  |  DISCORD
(((((((   MOBILE APP [ ANDROID / IOS ]   )))))))
)
22naru
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 01:40:12 PM
 #284

good news. cheers.
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 03:28:30 PM
Last edit: July 29, 2013, 06:01:31 PM by Bogart
 #285

Sounds like good progress.  Donated.  Smiley

Do you think any of this work can be used towards an FPGA solution?

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
colinistheman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 872
Merit: 1003



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 03:51:01 PM
 #286

How much faster will GPU mining be than CPU mining for primecoin?

Same ratios of speed improvement in bitcoin or not as much?



.
.BIG WINNER!.
[15.00000000 BTC]


▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████▀▀██████████
█████████░░░░█████████
██████████▄▄██████████
███████▀▀████▀▀███████
██████░░░░██░░░░██████
███████▄▄████▄▄███████
████▀▀████▀▀████▀▀████
███░░░░██░░░░██░░░░███
████▄▄████▄▄████▄▄████
██████████████████████

▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀▀████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████
█████░░▄███▄░░░░██████
█████▄▄███▀░░░░▄██████
█████████░░░░░░███████
████████░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░███████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████

██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
███████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███████████▀▀▄▄█░░░░░█
█████████▀░░█████░░░░█
███████▀░░░░░████▀░░░▀
██████░░░░░░░░▀▄▄█████
█████░▄░░░░░▄██████▀▀█
████░████▄░███████░░░░
███░█████░█████████░░█
███░░░▀█░██████████░░█
███░░░░░░████▀▀██▀░░░░
███░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░

██░▄▄▄▄░████▄▄██▄░░░░
████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██
█████████████░█▀▀▀█░███
██████████▀▀░█▀░░░▀█░▀▀
███████▀░▄▄█░█░░░░░█░█▄
████▀░▄▄████░▀█░░░█▀░██
███░▄████▀▀░▄░▀█░█▀░▄░▀
█▀░███▀▀▀░░███░▀█▀░███░
▀░███▀░░░░░████▄░▄████░
░███▀░░░░░░░█████████░░
░███░░░░░░░░░███████░░░
███▀░██░░░░░░▀░▄▄▄░▀░░░
███░██████▄▄░▄█████▄░▄▄

██░████████░███████░█
▄████████████████████▄
████████▀▀░░░▀▀███████
███▀▀░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀▀▀██
██░▀▀▄▄░░░▀▀▀░░░▄▄▀▀██
██░▄▄░░▀▀▄▄░▄▄▀▀░░░░██
██░▀▀░░░░░░█░░░░░██░██
██░░░▄▄░░░░█░██░░░░░██
██░░░▀▀░░░░█░░░░░░░░██
██░░░░░▄▄░░█░░░░░██░██
██▄░░░░▀▀░░█░██░░░░░██
█████▄▄░░░░█░░░░▄▄████
█████████▄▄█▄▄████████

▀████████████████████▀




Rainbot
Daily Quests
Faucet
A L I E N
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 04:02:17 PM
 #287

How much faster will GPU mining be than CPU mining for primecoin?

Same ratios of speed improvement in bitcoin or not as much?


I'm sure he will know after beta testing

pavimus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 07:21:46 PM
 #288

Alright, I have written the GPU code for the sieve. It compiles, but I haven't gotten to test it yet. I have to code the OpenCL interface first. I can't really use my existing code since all the other coins are "GPU does all the work", but the Primecoin miner is currently "CPU and GPU work together". The ultimate plan is, of course, to do everything on the GPU, but that's not gonna be the case in the first betas.
so we must upgrade cpus on our rigs? or 2 core amd cpu is enough to load by 100% 4*7970?
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 08:17:11 PM
 #289

Alright, I have written the GPU code for the sieve. It compiles, but I haven't gotten to test it yet. I have to code the OpenCL interface first. I can't really use my existing code since all the other coins are "GPU does all the work", but the Primecoin miner is currently "CPU and GPU work together". The ultimate plan is, of course, to do everything on the GPU, but that's not gonna be the case in the first betas.
so we must upgrade cpus on our rigs? or 2 core amd cpu is enough to load by 100% 4*7970?
If you have a 2 core system, I'd say stick to other alt coin mining.  If this port is like other math-heavy projects I've seen go to GPU, it'll take 2-4 cores to load a single 7970.

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
miningatnight
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 08:32:40 PM
 #290

All estimates would really be a guess on what CPU is needed till we know more.
mtrlt (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 02:10:16 AM
 #291

Okay, the first GPU-enabled version is ready. Right now it only does the sieving on the GPU. Primality tests are still done on the CPU. The code hasn't been optimized at all yet; the performance is equivalent (+- a few %) on these setups:
1) Phenom x6 1055T, all 6 cores
2) Phenom x6 1055T, all 6 cores, plus a HD6990 using both cores

I don't think the current version is worth releasing. It still needs a bit of work, I want it to be twice as fast. I estimate there is room for a five-fold improvement, especially when I get the primality tests done on the GPU as well.

Tomorrow I will do tests using a slow CPU with lots of GPU power (Sempron 140 with 2x6990).
atavacron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


The definition of insanity is doing the same thing


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 02:20:30 AM
 #292

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!!!!!!!!
craslovell
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1021



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 02:26:47 AM
 #293

Good stuff, look forward to the pre-release. My rig is ready  Cheesy
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 02:28:36 AM
 #294

Okay, the first GPU-enabled version is ready. Right now it only does the sieving on the GPU. Primality tests are still done on the CPU. The code hasn't been optimized at all yet; the performance is equivalent (+- a few %) on these setups:
1) Phenom x6 1055T, all 6 cores
2) Phenom x6 1055T, all 6 cores, plus a HD6990 using both cores

I don't think the current version is worth releasing. It still needs a bit of work, I want it to be twice as fast. I estimate there is room for a five-fold improvement, especially when I get the primality tests done on the GPU as well.

Tomorrow I will do tests using a slow CPU with lots of GPU power (Sempron 140 with 2x6990).

That's better than I expected - don't most projects like this have worse performance when they first start working than the equivalent? I remember valve talking about optimizing left 4 dead for linux and saying they were getting 2-3 fps on linux when it first started running compared to 200 fps on the same machine in windows.

Maybe it would help to have someone test this on a machine with an intel processor too - sometimes the proc brand can make a pretty big difference even when two procs are equivalent in performance overall.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 06:13:35 AM
 #295

Okay, the first GPU-enabled version is ready. Right now it only does the sieving on the GPU. Primality tests are still done on the CPU. The code hasn't been optimized at all yet; the performance is equivalent (+- a few %) on these setups:
1) Phenom x6 1055T, all 6 cores
2) Phenom x6 1055T, all 6 cores, plus a HD6990 using both cores

I don't think the current version is worth releasing. It still needs a bit of work, I want it to be twice as fast. I estimate there is room for a five-fold improvement, especially when I get the primality tests done on the GPU as well.

Tomorrow I will do tests using a slow CPU with lots of GPU power (Sempron 140 with 2x6990).

So will this work on my Pentium dual core with 3x 7970? Can it handle 3x GPUs?

Or will I gain no mining increase until you have a full GPU version?

96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 06:31:35 AM
 #296

So after you give out round 1 to beta testers are you going to release early to others who donate after?

I don't think its too crazy to ask for some results before we donate.  I bet there are lots of people on the fence with donations ready once some proof of work and or results can be seen.
relm9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 06:48:15 AM
 #297

So after you give out round 1 to beta testers are you going to release early to others who donate after?

I don't think its too crazy to ask for some results before we donate.  I bet there are lots of people on the fence with donations ready once some proof of work and or results can be seen.

He just posted some results on the other page...
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 07:12:51 AM
 #298

So after you give out round 1 to beta testers are you going to release early to others who donate after?

I don't think its too crazy to ask for some results before we donate.  I bet there are lots of people on the fence with donations ready once some proof of work and or results can be seen.

He just posted some results on the other page...

Where? I don't see any testing data any where in this thread?
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 07:38:13 AM
 #299

So after you give out round 1 to beta testers are you going to release early to others who donate after?

I don't think its too crazy to ask for some results before we donate.  I bet there are lots of people on the fence with donations ready once some proof of work and or results can be seen.

He just posted some results on the other page...

Where? I don't see any testing data any where in this thread?

While it isn't concrete data he said that the performance of his 6990 and phenom II x6 together were equal to the cpu performance alone. The fact that it's working with part being done on the gpu is a result in itself. As he said, it has yet to be optimized and he hopes to have it run twice as fast. All we can do is be patient and wait to see what works.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
pyromaniac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 12:01:40 PM
 #300

How about Xeon Phi for XPM mining? Xeon Phi is OpenCL device and multi core x86 CPU in one. Does somebody try it? Is it more profitable, than CPU or GPU?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!