Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:18:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo mining: How bad are reboots?  (Read 836 times)
besco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 10:13:27 PM
 #1

Hi,

I've a quick question: I have 6 rigs (8 Ghash per sec) and I'm solo mining. Is it a problem if I reboot my rigs 2 times a day, I mean, when my miners have to start over after each reboot, would that be bad for finding new blocks?

besco
1481458739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458739
Reply with quote  #2

1481458739
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 10:22:56 PM
 #2

no, it won't make a difference - each time you getwork from the bitcoin network you get a new header to solve, because new transactions are being added and new blocks are being solved by other miners, so rebooting won't make any difference since this information is so ephemeral.  You will want to check that any scripts you have for starting your miners, overclocking your cards etc etc survive a reboot though.

Will

JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2011, 10:25:09 PM
 #3

I've a quick question: I have 6 rigs (8 Ghash per sec) and I'm solo mining. Is it a problem if I reboot my rigs 2 times a day, I mean, when my miners have to start over after each reboot, would that be bad for finding new blocks?
Mining is like flipping 50 coins trying to get them all to come up heads. You just have to keep flipping. You never make any progress you could lose. I've noticed that mining programs do need some time to "come up to speed", but it's usually just a second or two. All you've lost is the time it took your computer to reboot, launch the mining program, and come up to speed.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
besco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 10:29:50 PM
 #4

willphase & JoelKatz: Thanks a lot for your quick replies, you definitely answered my questions Smiley
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 10:44:53 PM
 #5

unless your rigs take a long time (more than a couple minutes) to reboot and start mining again, no issue, as the above guys have mentioned.

though why are you needing to reboot so often?
besco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 11:04:19 PM
 #6

though why are you needing to reboot so often?

The reason is very simple: because of the noise & heat I move my rigs every day from my office to the (public) park garage and back to the office when I go home....  Grin
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 11:05:17 PM
 #7

...mining truck?

Will

besco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 11:20:25 PM
 #8

...mining truck?

Will


No, I don't have a car, but I own a parking lot and I and some very long power / lan cables haha!  Grin

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!