Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 03:58:19 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Old Wallet shows 50BTC balance, but blockchain shows 0 Any ideas  (Read 54 times)
tomasooz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 17, 2017, 04:19:00 PM
 #1

Hi Bitcoin Experts,

I was playing with bitcoin core v0.1.0 (really first version released back in 2009 or 2010).
I kept the software running for one week (mining) and when I looked back, I saw 600BTC generated.
I have sent those BTC to couple blockchain addresses, but never worked of course.
I know that newer versions of bitcoin core does not allow mining anymore.
The balance on my bitcoin core v0.1 show 50BTC and couple sent transactions...
https://imgur.com/a/vzIYf

Now, when I imported the wallet into bitcoin core 0.15, the balance says 0, but i can see the same history on transactions.
The transactions say: "0/unconfirmed, not in memory pool".
https://imgur.com/a/PKTtz
Any expert explains to me what I was exactly doing and what did I generated exactly?? How did the very first versions of bitcoin core synced to blockchain?




Big thank you!
1537934299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537934299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537934299
Reply with quote  #2

1537934299
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537934299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537934299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537934299
Reply with quote  #2

1537934299
Report to moderator
1537934299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537934299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537934299
Reply with quote  #2

1537934299
Report to moderator
1537934299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537934299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537934299
Reply with quote  #2

1537934299
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1659


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2017, 04:36:11 PM
 #2

Bitcoin 0.1.0 is unable to connect to the Bitcoin network because various network protocol changes and peer discovery changes have made that impossible. So you are not actually connected to the Bitcoin network and do not have the full blockchain synced. The coins that you have mined are effectively a fork of Bitcoin's and are completely worthless. They will not appear in an actual Bitcoin wallet or on a block explorer because the blocks and transactions do not exist on Bitcoin.

tomasooz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 17, 2017, 04:49:27 PM
 #3

Thank you very much Achow for the perfect explanation.
You saved me some time Wink

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!