Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:19:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: using x1 to x16, card does not show in device manager  (Read 3263 times)
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 09:49:28 PM
 #1

(see title)
using windows 7 x64, with shorted presence detect pins. If i plug in a monitor, nothing shows up.

edit:
this only occurs when sapphire 5850 xtreme is plugged in using x1->x16; both cards show up if ASUS 5850 is plugged in using x1->x16

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
1480702740
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702740

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702740
Reply with quote  #2

1480702740
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480702740
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702740

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702740
Reply with quote  #2

1480702740
Report to moderator
1480702740
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702740

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702740
Reply with quote  #2

1480702740
Report to moderator
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:27:24 AM
 #2

When you say you shorted the detection pins, are you simply referring to dummy plugs for the monitor?

I do know that some cards and motherboard require a presence detection pin the be shorted out on the PCIe bus when down-connecting to a 1x slot. Is that what you've tried?

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:30:04 AM
 #3

When you say you shorted the detection pins, are you simply referring to dummy plugs for the monitor?

I do know that some cards and motherboard require a presence detection pin the be shorted out on the PCIe bus when down-connecting to a 1x slot. Is that what you've tried?
i did both, the vga + pcie

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:47:59 PM
 #4

anyone?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 11, 2011, 04:22:10 PM
 #5

sigh.. bump

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 12:52:54 AM
 #6

sigh.. bump

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 05:16:11 AM
 #7

this only occurs when sapphire 5850 xtreme is plugged in using x1->x16; both cards show up if ASUS 5850 is plugged in using x1->x16

Then aren't you fine if you can get both to show up?
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 06:33:22 PM
 #8

Hmm that's weird, what motherboard do you have?

I'm curious to see if others have the same Sapphire card in one of these PCI-e 1x -> PCI-e 16x adapters.

FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 07:29:59 PM
 #9

I am just waiting on a cable and will then be wondering how to do this myself. Do you have a 1x card you can try in the slot to confirm it is indeed working properly?

Wait a sec. if the ASUS card works ok there then what is the big deal?

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 10:49:08 PM
 #10

well, the asus card has better cooling, so it's better to place it in the x16 slot than the x1 slot

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 04:36:06 AM
 #11

Ahh ok. So it's an issue with the card. That makes me nervous. Mine is a 5830 and not an extreme however. Someone else with the same card will have to confirm if it works for them or not.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 10:56:24 PM
 #12

fails:
asus 5850 -> x16
5850 xtreme -> x1

works:
5850 xtreme -> x16
asus 5850 -> x1

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
WebMonkey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2011, 12:15:23 AM
 #13

it's too xtreme for the 1x slot.

=]

sorry, i'm warped.

good luck though...

'monkey

Team Calvary Racing

support the ministry
BTC: 1KXvwsDwRM2RUdwtnff3feuYrHH2a1JHnR
LTC: LWdf2pnmQqBkg7GP7rmfGYCZaAQrjsu2Yx
Sideways
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:21:55 AM
 #14

fails:
asus 5850 -> x16
5850 xtreme -> x1

works:
5850 xtreme -> x16
asus 5850 -> x1

Maybe a BIOS update for the xtreme 5850? Maybe the card doesn't know how to handle being in a x1 slot? Just an idea..
Have you tried it with the extender on a diff mobo ?
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 09:33:25 AM
 #15

are your pci-e presence pins shorted correctly? the hole to stick the wire in is so small and the wire is so flimsy that sometimes it doesn't actually make contact with one of the pins. i also had a problem similar to this one, and all i did was reseat the wires and it worked fine afterwards.

Fjordbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588

firstbits.com/1kznfw


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 02:01:24 PM
 #16

When you say you shorted the detection pins, are you simply referring to dummy plugs for the monitor?

I do know that some cards and motherboard require a presence detection pin the be shorted out on the PCIe bus when down-connecting to a 1x slot. Is that what you've tried?
i did both, the vga + pcie

I don't understand "shorting" vga. What I've read says you need to use resistors in the 50-150ohm range.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:52:32 PM
 #17

are your pci-e presence pins shorted correctly? the hole to stick the wire in is so small and the wire is so flimsy that sometimes it doesn't actually make contact with one of the pins. i also had a problem similar to this one, and all i did was reseat the wires and it worked fine afterwards.
did that as well. and asus 5850 works fine without shorting the pins.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!