Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2018, 04:04:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Becoming Frustrated as a Newbie Miner  (Read 742 times)
bo122081
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 02:18:53 PM
 #1

Setup a 3 Gpu Mining rig with plans to expand to 5 (it has the slots and the PSU can handle it), but I'm having a lot of issue.

First, one of the GPUs I got off ebay had horrendous overheat issues, so I resold it on Ebay, leaving me with 2 GPUs.

Next, after tweaking I kept having random crashes. CGminer wouldn't report dead, or sick, or give me any indication of a problem, it would just say "Cgminer attempting to restart" out of the blue, then hang indefinitely.

I reset all the settings in CGminer back to defaults (no powertune, no overclock on anything. The only non-default is auto-fan is on), and all that stopped.

But now, I'm having an issue where after Cgminer says "Stratum from pool 0 detected new block" it will sometimes just stop working. No crash. No error. No "attempting to restart", no DEAD/SICK, nothing.

The fans continue to run like normal, but the pool reports the worker IDLE, when I remote in, it connects, but the screen never appears, and when I check the logs, everything appears to have just stopped.

It doesn't blue-screen. It just STOPS.

How do I begin to debug this? There are no errors, there's nothing set to non-defaults. I'm at a loss.
1532361876
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532361876

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532361876
Reply with quote  #2

1532361876
Report to moderator
1532361876
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532361876

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532361876
Reply with quote  #2

1532361876
Report to moderator
1532361876
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532361876

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532361876
Reply with quote  #2

1532361876
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532361876
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532361876

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532361876
Reply with quote  #2

1532361876
Report to moderator
1532361876
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532361876

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532361876
Reply with quote  #2

1532361876
Report to moderator
1532361876
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532361876

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532361876
Reply with quote  #2

1532361876
Report to moderator
LHB
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 11, 2013, 04:02:03 PM
 #2

change pools or miner software

It's not enough....I need more....Nothing seems to satisfy....I don't want it....I just need it....to breathe....to feel....to know I'm alive
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 04:49:18 PM
 #3

Are you Bitcoin mining?  If so I would replace the 3 GPU's with 3 Block Erupters.  You'll loose allot less money in the long run.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
bo122081
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 05:15:42 PM
 #4

Been mining alt-coins (Scrypt), because by my math, even block eruptors aren't great ROI. Unless you're gonna put out a few thousand for some top-end ASICs, GPUs on Scrypt seem to be the way to go.
nachius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 07:34:51 PM
 #5

That sounds like an issue with the pool you are mining or connectivity in general.  Have you tested a different pool to see if it behaves the same?
bo122081
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 07:58:33 PM
 #6

No, but I will. Thanks for the tip.
Ex0deus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2013, 06:27:44 AM
 #7

You could solo mine Bitcoins... it would be like playing the lottery.... you could think of it like fun... and maybe one day... you actually hit a block.... and get it all to yourself Tongue

Buy and sell your Bitcoins on Coinbase! (https://coinbase.com/?r=529d8eafd50d84727a00067d&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=referral-link)
Want to Mine? Buy and Sell GH/s with none of the Hassle of Hardware!! (https://cex.io/r/1/Exodeus/0/)
An Exchange for all your CryptoCoins!! Join Today!! (https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=40973)
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 06:31:05 AM
 #8

You could solo mine Bitcoins... it would be like playing the lottery.... you could think of it like fun... and maybe one day... you actually hit a block.... and get it all to yourself Tongue


I hit 12.1 million last week.  Almost...

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!