Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 11:59:52 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is profitable bitcoin mining screaching to a halt?  (Read 1631 times)
spinnaker (OP)

Activity: 7
Merit: 0

View Profile
July 11, 2011, 10:10:46 PM

I'm not exactly new to bitcoins, but I am new to the hardcore mining side. I've got a few hundred Mhash/second coming in on about 100 computers I have mining on a pool almost 24/7, but I'm sick of it. I want to start raking in the G/hashes and am tired of using shitty computers.

The great thing about where I am is that there is an unlimited supply of power everywhere... Don't ask how or why. It just is.

Seeing that I don't have electricity bills, would BTC mining be worth it in the long run? Or would the coming difficulty hikes crush my dream of being a bitcoin millionaire?

If I had heard about BTC earlier I would probably be rich right now. I'm an IT guy and a self-taught computer whiz. One person said by the next difficulty change, I will likely see my daily BTC's cut in half. Is that true? If so, does that mean the next will be 1/4th? How is that even remotely profitable for long-term miners?

Lots of questions. If you could help answer a few, I would be eternally grateful.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Dargo
Legendary

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1000

View Profile
July 11, 2011, 10:20:46 PM