Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 11:35:47 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do we get the damn via btc accelerator service to work?  (Read 82 times)
timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 02:54:46 AM
 #1

I sent a payment from my bitcoin core wallet to my trading account nearly 2 weeks ago.  But I dumbly set the transaction fee to the minimum 1000 satoshis, and the transaction has been in limbo with 0 confirmations ever since.

Would the transaction eventually self cancel and return to my wallet?

I looked up the Via BTC accelerator service, made an account, and sent 0.0595 BCH to my wallet on via to pay for an accelerator.  But when I put my transaction ID in and the captcha, it just says "Transaction fee is too low" across the top of the screen.  No shit, Dick Tracy!  I'm clicking the blue PAID SERVICE button, but am never given a way to put a higher transaction fee on the transaction to kick it into getting confirmed.

I tried emailing Via BTC a couple times, got no response.

So what to do?

TX ID is 270055c61b31b78c01b2bdfc3b61873ef6a3038724635ba9f58efe2226750bef
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BrewMaster
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 632


There is trouble abrewing


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 06:00:49 AM
 #2

the good news is that your transaction has an extremely low fee (1000 satoshi is 4 satoshi/byte at best) which means it is not propagated through the network. majority of the nodes have rejected it. you can not find it on blockexplorers either.
in other words it is already "canceled".

this means you can simply double spend with a higher fee this time. and not need any accelerator and a separate fee to pay to them.

timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 03:09:19 AM
 #3

The transaction shows 488 bytes.  My Bitcoin Core 15.0.1 wallet is fully updated and it shows a 0.00 balance.  Am I able to resend a transaction for some amount of bitcoin even though it shows a zero balance?
timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 05:26:55 AM
 #4

I tried to resend the transaction and it says the amount exceeds my balance.  So my wallet knows it has 0 balance, so how can I do the double spend to get the transaction through?

It also said it charged only 488 satoshis for 488 bytes.

timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 04:12:13 PM
 #5

I got it to work, I found some links online to delete the mempool.dat folder, and restart Bitcoin Core through command line with a flag after it, then I was able to cancel the transaction, restart normally, and resend it.  Curiously, I got 2/3 of the BTC back right away, and it wasn't until the next morning and sending the first amount of BTC that the remaining amount of BTC showed up.  But it is on its way now with a higher fee.

I'm sure you're all relieved to hear this.
olushakes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 06:14:24 PM
 #6

I got it to work, I found some links online to delete the mempool.dat folder, and restart Bitcoin Core through command line with a flag after it, then I was able to cancel the transaction, restart normally, and resend it.  Curiously, I got 2/3 of the BTC back right away, and it wasn't until the next morning and sending the first amount of BTC that the remaining amount of BTC showed up.  But it is on its way now with a higher fee.

I'm sure you're all relieved to hear this.

I am relieved to hear that you were able to get a way out of the situation but my concern is how you were able to cancel a transaction that have been sent for days just because it has 0 confirmation. I want to ask if that is only possible because you are using bitcoin core or its applicable to every wallet provider because if that is possible, a lot of scams can be avoided if its yet to confirm.
Tyrantt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 564


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 08:13:18 PM
 #7

Could you not have used some free accelerators that are offered here in the service section? Also, be careful with the amount you're sending and the fee you're giving. Even blockchain.infos' proposed fee is sometimes low, happened to me once.
shursight
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 31, 2017, 09:33:14 PM
 #8

The transaction shows 488 bytes.  My Bitcoin Core 15.0.1 wallet is fully updated and it shows a 0.00 balance.  Am I able to resend a transaction for some amount of bitcoin even though it shows a zero balance?

Did it got fixed now? Those 488 bytes are right, and if you sent over 400/500 satoshis per byte your transaction should go through in a few minutes from now (take a look over the mempool charts)

I sent one with less than 300sat/byte and it got through in less than four hours (and that fee is extremely cheap)

Viabtc is crap, and all the free accelerators are the same crap.

█████                █████      ███████             
█████                ███    █████████████       
█████                ██  █████████████████   
█████                █  ██████              ██████ 
█████                    ████                      ████ 
█████████████  █████                        ████
█████████████  █████                        ████
█████████████  █████                        ████
█████                    █████                             
█████                █  ██████              ███████
█████                ██  ███████████    █████ 
█████                ███    █████████    ████   
█████                █████      ███████    ██
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
HyperQuant.net
Platform for Professional Asset Management
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
WhitePaper
One-Pager
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
Telegram 
Facebook
Twitter
Medium
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
█████                █████      ███████             
█████                ███    █████████████       
█████                ██  █████████████████   
█████                █  ██████              ██████ 
█████                    ████                      ████ 
█████████████  █████                        ████
█████████████  █████                        ████
█████████████  █████                        ████
█████                    █████                             
█████                █  ██████              ███████
█████                ██  ███████████    █████ 
█████                ███    █████████    ████   
█████                █████      ███████    ██
timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 01, 2018, 06:23:28 PM
 #9

When I resent the transaction, the fee I set was 83870 satoshis for 191 bytes of a transaction.  That was probably still low end, as it took a day to complete the transaction, but at least during that time I could look at the transaction details and see 0 confirmations, but it was sent to a number of nodes.  And that number of nodes slowly increased over time.  The first time around, it wasn't even getting sent to any nodes in 2 weeks.    This time it was up over 70 nodes before it completed.

ViaBTC still hasn't emailed me.  Screw them.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!