Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2018, 08:31:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S7 runs at 3.8 Th/s  (Read 104 times)
yga1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 05:11:54 AM
 #1

Hi everybody,

I am totally newbie to the world of mining and really need your help.

Recently I got a used Antminer S7 from Amazon. This is the first day, I use SlushPool.

The antminer runs on average of 3.8 TH/S. Is it a normal thing?
I am using two hp PSUs: one 750 W (4 connectors) connected to one hashing board + the controller; the other is 1200 W (6 connectors) connected to the other two hashing boards. My wall electricity is 110 v.

I am attaching two screenshots for the system configuration.
I appreciate your support.

Thank you
https://photos.app.[Suspicious link removed]/NAxZtNjoFtEidlJf1
https://photos.app.[Suspicious link removed]/bG8uy8lKjzCIxgqB3
1537302679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537302679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537302679
Reply with quote  #2

1537302679
Report to moderator
1537302679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537302679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537302679
Reply with quote  #2

1537302679
Report to moderator
1537302679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537302679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537302679
Reply with quote  #2

1537302679
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537302679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537302679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537302679
Reply with quote  #2

1537302679
Report to moderator
1537302679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537302679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537302679
Reply with quote  #2

1537302679
Report to moderator
castiel0504
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 109

Ultra Mega Giga Super Cool Flying Oposum!


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 03:05:56 PM
 #2

Ty to post pictures on Imgur, or use Lightshot tool to upload them, links are  removed because they are "suspicious" other then that Are you sure that all your hashboards work? You can try to turn off all your hashboards and turn them 1 by 1 and test them which hashes and which doesn't and you can start from there.
yga1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:14:03 PM
 #3

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestions about pictures uploading. I used Lightshot (below).
Sorry for my naive question: do you mean I can power on the miner with 0 boards connected. Then connect board 1, see the hash rate, then board 2.. etc.
I do not need to power off the miner itself in-between these tests? I mean I can connect or disconnect any board while the miner itself is powered on?

http://prntscr.com/htx3i5
http://prntscr.com/htx3wk

Many thanks
castiel0504
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 109

Ultra Mega Giga Super Cool Flying Oposum!


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:43:54 PM
 #4

According to UI, it looks like your hashing boards are dead Sad

1) Pull all cables
2) Put cable onto 1 board
3) Turn it on
4) Wait
5) Check UI
6) Repeat for every board
7) Try to clean it up(open miner and remove any dust and check parts)
8 ) Post pictures of broken boards, so some experienced people can tell if something is faulty or there is problem with chips/heatsinks
9) Good luck!

score1more
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 11:22:47 PM
 #5

Is that an S7?  It looks like the boards are working as expected.  I'm not sure why you have the empty slots.  You have the right number of hash boards installed. 

But I think your speed is low because batch 6 had a lower number of chips than other batches.  I have the same problem with my S7.

https://enforum.bitmain.com/bbs/topics/2402

lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1034

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 01, 2018, 03:10:06 AM
 #6

Looks like your clock is a bit slower than normal. 45 chips is the 700mhz units normally, you're running at 600. Which to be honest is fine; you could go up to 700mhz in miner config/advanced, up to you.

I like to run my benchmark S7 here at 500mhz. Single fan running at 60% speed (2400 rpm) gives me a nice quiet system at 3.5th with a temp of 65c that's efficient and puts out enough heat to keep the room warm at night. If I need the extra 600mhz, I'll fire up a Monarch.

C
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022



View Profile
January 01, 2018, 03:19:48 AM
 #7

Looks like your clock is a bit slower than normal. 45 chips is the 700mhz units normally, you're running at 600. Which to be honest is fine; you could go up to 700mhz in miner config/advanced, up to you.

I like to run my benchmark S7 here at 500mhz. Single fan running at 60% speed (2400 rpm) gives me a nice quiet system at 3.5th with a temp of 65c that's efficient and puts out enough heat to keep the room warm at night. If I need the extra 600mhz, I'll fire up a Monarch.

C
Is your S7 the single fan version or a two-fan version? I had one with two and once you disconnect a fan it beeps, and it doesn't seem like a great idea to flash the firmware with one from a S7-F1. Always been curious about the S7s, last okay machine from Bitmain.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1034

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 01, 2018, 04:10:40 AM
 #8

Looks like your clock is a bit slower than normal. 45 chips is the 700mhz units normally, you're running at 600. Which to be honest is fine; you could go up to 700mhz in miner config/advanced, up to you.

I like to run my benchmark S7 here at 500mhz. Single fan running at 60% speed (2400 rpm) gives me a nice quiet system at 3.5th with a temp of 65c that's efficient and puts out enough heat to keep the room warm at night. If I need the extra 600mhz, I'll fire up a Monarch.

C
Is your S7 the single fan version or a two-fan version? I had one with two and once you disconnect a fan it beeps, and it doesn't seem like a great idea to flash the firmware with one from a S7-F1. Always been curious about the S7s, last okay machine from Bitmain.
Well, I think you have the one with the six (or is it 9) white plugs on the controller, not the three correct? There were two types of controllers, one seems to have been for the 600mhz units with 54 chips, and the later controller for the 45 chip units. I have both here.

Does your unit have the boards with the chokes/inductors on it? I'm almost wondering if someone flashed the 600 code on a 700, or if someone put later boards in the unit.

The 54 chip units don't have any voltage stabilization that I have been able to find; the 45 chip units have voltage stabilization, much more reliable.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1034

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 01, 2018, 04:11:16 AM
 #9

And I run mine with the single fan code. Looks to be the same as double fan without the annoying beeping. A single fan in tractor mode (pulling air through the unit, never push air into the unit) is a good way to go: A second fan just increases pressure not overall airflow.

C
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022



View Profile
January 02, 2018, 02:12:54 AM
 #10

I no longer own the unit, but I recall it was indeed six. I peeked under the little metal hood on the miner briefly before receiving and selling the miner and I do recall seeing caps under it. Nice to know that it is possible to flash a two-fan with the one-fan code. It's been a question that was bugging me for a long time.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!