Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2019, 10:06:04 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 ... 120 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Happy New Years! Seventh alt coin thread!  (Read 33460 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (4 posts by 3 users deleted.)
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 02:29:50 PM
 #841

Thank you for trying to help !
Unfortunately it doesn't seems to be enough !
I do it each time I roll back, but it finally end installing the update anyway ... (generally I wake up and see the rig is down, then I check and see the fall creators update is installed  Cry )
1569060364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569060364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569060364
Reply with quote  #2

1569060364
Report to moderator
1569060364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569060364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569060364
Reply with quote  #2

1569060364
Report to moderator
1569060364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569060364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569060364
Reply with quote  #2

1569060364
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1569060364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569060364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569060364
Reply with quote  #2

1569060364
Report to moderator
1569060364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569060364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569060364
Reply with quote  #2

1569060364
Report to moderator
1569060364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569060364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569060364
Reply with quote  #2

1569060364
Report to moderator
soothaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 520



View Profile
January 26, 2018, 02:34:10 PM
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #842

Thank you for trying to help !
Unfortunately it doesn't seems to be enough !
I do it each time I roll back, but it finally end installing the update anyway ... (generally I wake up and see the rig is down, then I check and see the fall creators update is installed  Cry )
I have all Microsoft domains blocked from my entire network via a DNS hole.

Want increased coin support within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for nearly any coin! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2979494
Want Masternode income stats within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for them! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3047367
bubbAJoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 03:17:53 PM
 #843

yeah that makes me nervous too. potentially ~2000 watts if your cards come up at full power due to whatever. are there any published specs on what the upper power limit per card is for this board?


How does it work for GPUs that require 8+6/8+8 power connections?

You can just bypass those onboard power connections and plug directly into the GPU, correct?
jimmykl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 102


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 03:23:01 PM
 #844

So if you're powering a GTX 1080 Ti that uses 250 watts and power is supplied by 2x 8 pin PCIe power connectors, you'd feed the power to the board on the short side.  That single lead would give the board the bus power it needs and then the power for the cards would route through the board out the long side connector to a double headed PCIe power lead to the top of the GPU?

I can see how cabling and wire management would be neat and clean.  BUT, seems like you'd be pushing a ton of watts through the board as a result.

Maybe run the cards direct from the PSU not through the board? If it's like the clone mobos then you can run the pcie to the board with splitters because they're just powering the pcie slots etc.
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 556


VEIL - PRIVACY WITHOUT COMPROMISE


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 03:35:04 PM
 #845

Thank you for trying to help !
Unfortunately it doesn't seems to be enough !
I do it each time I roll back, but it finally end installing the update anyway ... (generally I wake up and see the rig is down, then I check and see the fall creators update is installed  Cry )
Have you tried setting your connection as metered? That prevents Windows from downloading the updates.

Then again maybe you're past that stage, i.e. it's already downloaded and is just waiting for you to go afk to reinstall it cheekily! Sad



▄▄                                  ▄▄
 ███▄                            ▄███
  ██████                      ██████
   ███████                  ███████
    ███████                ███████
     ███████              ███████
      ███████            ███████
       ███████▄▄      ▄▄███████
        ██████████████████████
         ████████████████████
          ██████████████████
           ████████████████
            ██████████████
             ███████████
              █████████
               ███████
                █████
                 ██
                  █
veil|     PRIVACY     
     WITHOUT COMPROMISE.       
▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂
|   NO ICO. NO PREMINE. 
   X16RT GPU Mining. Fair distribution.   
|      The first Zerocoin-based Cryptocurrency       
   WITH ALWAYS-ON PRIVACY.   
|



                   ▄▄████
              ▄▄████████▌
         ▄▄█████████▀███
    ▄▄██████████▀▀ ▄███▌
▄████████████▀▀  ▄█████
▀▀▀███████▀   ▄███████▌
      ██    ▄█████████
       █  ▄██████████▌
       █  ███████████
       █ ██▀ ▀██████▌
       ██▀     ▀████
                 ▀█▌




   ▄███████
   ████████
   ███▀
   ███
██████████
██████████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███




     ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
   ▐██▄▄██████████████▄▄██▌
   ████████████████████████
  ▐████████████████████████▌
  ███████▀▀▀██████▀▀▀███████
 ▐██████     ████     ██████▌
 ███████     ████     ███████
▐████████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████████▌
▐████████████████████████████▌
 █████▄▄▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▄▄█████
  ▀▀██████          ██████▀▀
      ▀▀▀            ▀▀▀
gregfromo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 03:40:35 PM
 #846

Thank you for trying to help !
Unfortunately it doesn't seems to be enough !
I do it each time I roll back, but it finally end installing the update anyway ... (generally I wake up and see the rig is down, then I check and see the fall creators update is installed  Cry )

follow this

https://www.rizonesoft.com/disable-windows-10-updates-group-policies/
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 04:08:34 PM
 #847

thanks guys, giving a try!
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 649
Merit: 503


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 04:16:43 PM
 #848

Genesis Mining switched to using these Onda/Colorful style B250 based motherboards for their latest facility.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W43Vl8FeIfA

You can see the systems they are using near the end of the video - clearly 8GPU riserless systems.
Now I wonder if they are the customers that the new "soldered CPU" boards were built for Smiley

The BEST Crypto exchange in India, where you can buy/sell/trade Bitcoin, BitcoinCash, Litecoin, Ethereum and Ripple, and use a credit card https://koinex.in/?ref=eaa2b3 Stay away, Horrible service.
Minimalist Indian Ethereum Exchange https://ethx.in/u/?ref=RAVIN14
Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
cryptoinvestor_x
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 04:39:31 PM
 #849

The Onda boards seem fairly cost efficient. Only issue is cooling but if it's in a server rack style with fans it's a non-issue
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
January 26, 2018, 04:47:11 PM
 #850

So if you're powering a GTX 1080 Ti that uses 250 watts and power is supplied by 2x 8 pin PCIe power connectors, you'd feed the power to the board on the short side.  That single lead would give the board the bus power it needs and then the power for the cards would route through the board out the long side connector to a double headed PCIe power lead to the top of the GPU?

I can see how cabling and wire management would be neat and clean.  BUT, seems like you'd be pushing a ton of watts through the board as a result.

yeah that makes me nervous too. potentially ~2000 watts if your cards come up at full power due to whatever. are there any published specs on what the upper power limit per card is for this board?

I talked about this  on  another board like this the k17  you can not run  more then  3 1080ti's  using the board pass through

so  you do the other 5 1080ti  direct from the psu to 5 of the 1080ti.  and feed  6 cables  from the board into 3 1080ti.s

then  3 x 200 please don't set 250 for tdp  and some juice  in the five slots  to the 5 1080ti's  means under  1000 watts pass through the board

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
TheYankeesWin!
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 257


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 04:48:43 PM
 #851

What are your opinions about 1080ti founders edition? I can choose from Gainward, Asus and Gigabyte.

Also, I could get a close price for palit 1070ti or evga 1080 watercooled? Which one would you choose to build a rig from above (1080ti founder, 1080 watercooled or 1070ti)?? I will do it with risers.

Thanks

RISERS =  lots of spacing  so you do not need waterblocks
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
January 26, 2018, 04:50:01 PM
 #852

The Onda boards seem fairly cost efficient. Only issue is cooling but if it's in a server rack style with fans it's a non-issue

Onda  are great with EVGA Hybrid and MSI seahawk

my major builds are 1080ti hybrid evga or msi 1080ti seahawk.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
GabryRox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563
Merit: 251


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 06:39:57 PM
 #853

thanks guys, giving a try!

Have you tried re-installing your old AMD drivers?  I mistakenly installed this update on 1 of my rigs last weekend and in the process, it installed newer drivers that were rendering my 470's useless.  Once I rolled back to the old drivers it works fine now. Granted, I wasted half a day re-installing about 4 times because I forgot that you have to run pixel-patcher after installing any recent AMD drivers, but as long as you run DDU in safe mode, then install your go-to drivers, then run PP, it should work.
rs1x
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 284
Merit: 102


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 07:13:46 PM
 #854

thanks guys, giving a try!

Have you tried re-installing your old AMD drivers?  I mistakenly installed this update on 1 of my rigs last weekend and in the process, it installed newer drivers that were rendering my 470's useless.  Once I rolled back to the old drivers it works fine now. Granted, I wasted half a day re-installing about 4 times because I forgot that you have to run pixel-patcher after installing any recent AMD drivers, but as long as you run DDU in safe mode, then install your go-to drivers, then run PP, it should work.

AMD drivers were 2/3rd the reason I sold my RX cards and flipped to NVIDIA.  I was pretty tired of DDU / Install, pixel patch , restart, cross fingers.
soothaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 520



View Profile
January 26, 2018, 07:57:58 PM
 #855

thanks guys, giving a try!

Have you tried re-installing your old AMD drivers?  I mistakenly installed this update on 1 of my rigs last weekend and in the process, it installed newer drivers that were rendering my 470's useless.  Once I rolled back to the old drivers it works fine now. Granted, I wasted half a day re-installing about 4 times because I forgot that you have to run pixel-patcher after installing any recent AMD drivers, but as long as you run DDU in safe mode, then install your go-to drivers, then run PP, it should work.

AMD drivers were 2/3rd the reason I sold my RX cards and flipped to NVIDIA.  I was pretty tired of DDU / Install, pixel patch , restart, cross fingers.
Dude SMOS makes all that a thing of the past. I wouldn't dream of getting more nVidia cards with how totally stable SMOS + AMD is.

Want increased coin support within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for nearly any coin! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2979494
Want Masternode income stats within AwesomeMiner? Try my free plugin to add support for them! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3047367
MagicSmoker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 182



View Profile
January 26, 2018, 08:36:38 PM
 #856

Have you tried re-installing your old AMD drivers?  I mistakenly installed this update on 1 of my rigs last weekend and in the process, it installed newer drivers that were rendering my 470's useless.  Once I rolled back to the old drivers it works fine now. Granted, I wasted half a day re-installing about 4 times because I forgot that you have to run pixel-patcher after installing any recent AMD drivers, but as long as you run DDU in safe mode, then install your go-to drivers, then run PP, it should work.

AMD drivers were 2/3rd the reason I sold my RX cards and flipped to NVIDIA.  I was pretty tired of DDU / Install, pixel patch , restart, cross fingers.

I am beginning to understand this sentiment... I moved some cards around yesterday and ended up putting an RX 570 on a board that previously had a GTX 1080. Before I removed the 1080 I selected "clean and shutdown" in DDU because that seemed like it would save some time with Windows freaking out about the different GPU and resetting the display to 1024 x 768. I was not too pleased when I finally powered up the rig with the new 1080 installed and got a "no bootable media found" error. Ended up having to repartition the hdd, format it and reinstall Windows from scratch because I absolutely could not get the bootrec to rebuild the BCD. Then of course I completely forgot about Pixel Patcher and spent another hour trying wondering why my screen was at the correct resolution of 1280 x 1024 but MSI AB said there was no driver installed and none of my miners would work.

If I had learned something from this experience it wouldn't have been a total waste, but I have no idea why or how DDU managed to delete/corrupt "critical system files" as that was the only explanation I got from searching online for the various errors reported during my unsuccessful attempts to recover the existing installation.

Xapodat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 08:46:57 PM
 #857

So if you're powering a GTX 1080 Ti that uses 250 watts and power is supplied by 2x 8 pin PCIe power connectors, you'd feed the power to the board on the short side.  That single lead would give the board the bus power it needs and then the power for the cards would route through the board out the long side connector to a double headed PCIe power lead to the top of the GPU?

I can see how cabling and wire management would be neat and clean.  BUT, seems like you'd be pushing a ton of watts through the board as a result.

yeah that makes me nervous too. potentially ~2000 watts if your cards come up at full power due to whatever. are there any published specs on what the upper power limit per card is for this board?

Not many people will run the cards at the full power if there is electricity to pay. I only run them at around 60-70% to get higher efficiency.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2431
Merit: 1226


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 09:10:05 PM
 #858

yeah that makes me nervous too. potentially ~2000 watts if your cards come up at full power due to whatever. are there any published specs on what the upper power limit per card is for this board?

Not many people will run the cards at the full power if there is electricity to pay. I only run them at around 60-70% to get higher efficiency.

programs used to power limit cards sometimes fail for whatever reason. ive woke up to my cards at 100% a couple times.

i still test my rigs at full power for a day just to stress test them and check temps at power outlets, psu connectors etc. that way no worries about the odd crash and reboot causing overheat problems with cards or melting connectors with all cards at 100% for prolonged periods when im not around.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 270


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 10:37:22 PM
 #859

yeah that makes me nervous too. potentially ~2000 watts if your cards come up at full power due to whatever. are there any published specs on what the upper power limit per card is for this board?

Not many people will run the cards at the full power if there is electricity to pay. I only run them at around 60-70% to get higher efficiency.

programs used to power limit cards sometimes fail for whatever reason. ive woke up to my cards at 100% a couple times.

i still test my rigs at full power for a day just to stress test them and check temps at power outlets, psu connectors etc. that way no worries about the odd crash and reboot causing overheat problems with cards or melting connectors with all cards at 100% for prolonged periods when im not around.

Yep, I do the same thing for the exact same reason.  It's always wise to prepare for the worst so that you don't destroy hardware (or worse) if and when the worst eventually happens. Smiley
GabryRox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563
Merit: 251


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 11:51:18 PM
 #860

Well, after numerous days of not being able to get any GPU despite being on every auto-notify list known to man, I was able to procure 2 Asus rog-strix 1080 A8G Gaming cards today from an unexpected source.  The Employee Purchase store of my employer apparently got some of these and also the 1080ti equivalent in today. This also happened earlier in the week but i missed out on it as I wasn't able to get in within the first 5 minutes.  Today i got really lucky as they sent the notice out at like 3pm and most people were already gone for the day i think lol.  Cost was $550, which is probably just above regular retail for these but in this market, I snapped up 2 of them pronto.  Ideally, was looking for more 1070ti's but i think the only real benefit to those is that they are better on ETH, and I've got this rig mining ZCL anyway so shouldn't matter much.  And this will let me finally complete this rig that's been running with only 4 GPUs for 2 weeks lol, so it's all good.

The only slight PITA is that these are 8+6 connectors and I only have single 8-pin PSU cables left. But, I assume 8+6 splitters should be relatively easy to find, so looking for those next.  Or... is this even needed?  meaning, could i just plug by single 8-pin PSU cable into those GPUs and still have it work fine?  I only plan to run these at max 70% anyway, so not real sure if that extra 6-pin is needed or if there is an actual difference power wise in adding a 8+6 adapter when the power is still coming from a single PSU cable.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 ... 120 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!