Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 12:31:21 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't install. Says a password is required  (Read 50 times)
mycarol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 08:37:34 PM
 #1

Bitcoin Client Software and Version Number: 3.0.5
Operating System: MacOS Sierra 10.12.6
System Hardware Specs: MacBookPro with 16GB
Description of Problem:
I just downloaded Electrum for Mac. When I click on the app, it shows me a window with a default wallet fieldnand a password field.
What is the password for the default wallet to get past this window?
Any Related Addresses:
Any Related Transaction IDs:
Screenshot of the problem:
Log Files from the Bitcoin Client:
1537792281
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537792281

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537792281
Reply with quote  #2

1537792281
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537792281
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537792281

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537792281
Reply with quote  #2

1537792281
Report to moderator
AdolfinWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 590


-- “We are the biological bootloader for AI”


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 08:55:03 PM
 #2

Bitcoin Client Software and Version Number: 3.0.5
Operating System: MacOS Sierra 10.12.6
System Hardware Specs: MacBookPro with 16GB
Description of Problem:
I just downloaded Electrum for Mac. When I click on the app, it shows me a window with a default wallet fieldnand a password field.
What is the password for the default wallet to get past this window?
Any Related Addresses:
Any Related Transaction IDs:
Screenshot of the problem:
Log Files from the Bitcoin Client:

Not sure what you did, but if you first launch Electrum, there's no such thing as a default wallet yet, it still needs to be created, and it usually prompts you to do that.
https://bitzuma.com/posts/a-beginners-guide-to-the-electrum-bitcoin-wallet/
http://www.bitcoin-en.com/install-electrum-wallet.html

If you don't know your password anymore, and/or there are no funds on the wallet, you could either delete it, or simply make a new wallet.

mycarol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 10:01:51 PM
 #3

I deleted the program, ejected its volume and downloaded it again, but with the same results.

The links you provided were exactly what I did. But when I clicked on it after I'd moved it into my applications folder, I got the same window. I took a print of it, but I don't know how to attach it.

Could it have started to put something in a library folder somewhere that I need to delete to do a new install?
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1990


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2018, 10:15:00 PM
 #4

I deleted the program, ejected its volume and downloaded it again, but with the same results.
It seems like you've used Electrum before, and it's trying to open your old wallet. Deleting Electrum and reinstalling it won't help.

It is a bit weird Electrum doesn't give you the option to create a new wallet, if the last wallet you used has a password.
Solution: you can just rename ~/.electrum to ~/.electrum.old and restart Electrum for a fresh start.

Quote
Could it have started to put something in a library folder somewhere that I need to delete to do a new install?
I wouldn't delete your old wallet without remembering what's in there. That's why I suggest to rename it, just in case you remember your password later.

mycarol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 11:45:38 PM
 #5

I don't recall ever installing electrum but it's possible. In any event I did as you suggested and created a new wallet. It then had me create security stuff.

Thank you so much for your help. My next task is to put bitcoins in the wallet, but one thing at a time.

Thanks again.
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 925

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 09, 2018, 02:37:23 AM
 #6

For future reference, if it comes up with "default_wallet" and a password, you can just change/edit the wallet name in the textbox... the password box will disappear and you can continue to create a new wallet.

However, it should be noted, that if you have just installed Electrum and it is already showing a wallet file... then chances are that you have previously used Electrum, and already have a default_wallet in the Electrum wallets folder. This is because, for safety reasons, uninstalling Electrum does NOT automatically remove wallet files.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!