Bitcoin Forum
November 28, 2020, 08:20:15 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Network Monitor -- different blockcount for peers  (Read 1662 times)
jonathan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 05:04:41 PM
 #1

Not sure if this belongs in this forum but when I check in Bitcoin Wallet 3.14's Network Monitor, I find all peers are showing block 249844. Bitcoind's getblockcount on my desktop computer is showing the same block number. But this peer:

pool-96-241-72-174.washdc.fios.verizon.net

... has been showing 249845 for several minutes now. What's that about then? No fork I trust :-O
1606551615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606551615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606551615
Reply with quote  #2

1606551615
Report to moderator
1606551615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606551615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606551615
Reply with quote  #2

1606551615
Report to moderator
1606551615
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1606551615

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1606551615
Reply with quote  #2

1606551615
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Andreas Schildbach
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 483
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 05, 2013, 01:51:24 PM
 #2

Afaik the block count is just an advertised number. It can be wrong. If the node cannot prove that he actually knows the block in question then the others will not take that for granted, so they stay at the lower number.

Much less likely: The node has actually found a block but did not broadcast it.
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1011


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 07:54:50 PM
 #3

Actually, height tracking of peers is buggy. It can't really be completely accurate because there's no way to query a node for its height other than by reconnecting to it and getting a new ver handshake. So bitcoinj just counts announced blocks. Because of where this code is in the system, if a peer has announced a side chain block then its count will still be increased even though height didn't.

I want to fix this, but it's going to be a little awkward.
jonathan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 11:53:13 AM
 #4

: "I want to fix this"

We should make this your middle name Mike. Busy guy.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!