Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 12:19:02 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bfgminer - "Failed to load OpenCL library, no GPUs usable"  (Read 5039 times)
snowweb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 12, 2013, 02:39:37 PM
 #1

That's the message I get when starting bfgminer. It then goes on to load and run but using only CPU's.

I ran "bfgminer -D -T -d?" and this was the output:

Code:
$ bfgminer -D -T -d?
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] setrlimit: Increased soft fd limit from 1024 to hard limit of 4096                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] Timers: Using clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC_RAW)                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] Started bfgminer 3.1.4                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 1d6b:0002 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 1d6b:0002 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 1d6b:0002 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 1d6b:0003 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 8087:0024 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 8087:0024 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 1bcf:288a - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] ft232r_scan: Found 0489:e033 - not a ft232r                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:01] Failed to load OpenCL library, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 1d6b:0002                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 1d6b:0002                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 1d6b:0002                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 1d6b:0003                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 8087:0024                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 8087:0024                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 1bcf:288a                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Not a ZTEX device 0489:e033                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02] Devices detected:                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02]   0. CPU 0  (driver: cpu)                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02]   1. CPU 1  (driver: cpu)                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02]   2. CPU 2  (driver: cpu)                   
 [2013-08-12 22:27:02]   3. CPU 3  (driver: cpu)                   
4 devices listed

I'm running Ubuntu 12.04LTS with 3.2.0-38-generic-pae #61-Ubuntu SMP Tue Feb 19 12:39:51 UTC 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Hardware is an Acer Aspire 4752G laptop with Nividia GEforce GT 630M graphics card.

bfgminer version is 3.1.4

Any suggestions please?

1540253942
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540253942

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540253942
Reply with quote  #2

1540253942
Report to moderator
1540253942
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540253942

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540253942
Reply with quote  #2

1540253942
Report to moderator
1540253942
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540253942

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540253942
Reply with quote  #2

1540253942
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540253942
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540253942

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540253942
Reply with quote  #2

1540253942
Report to moderator
SirMintALot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


In POS we trust


View Profile
August 12, 2013, 04:37:21 PM
 #2

Are you using the propritary NVIDIA driver? You are probably using something like Noveau which hasn't support for OpenCL.

BTC: 142BHpdq4wey7PC3Cp5QiUoshF19u3yvHN LTC: LbiEUDYjohwpXnv1Gd4LvdGr1Jr1M5Usjc NMC: N3eeYkWqeLFWBJRmS3WyU1zz6WgKkjEVtb
IXC: xtR8uc2EFGWFJgrVEgZZ5yvRsWKhwAg8ZH DVC: 18oVWfSqHjvhJEuHHxsDpCfBeDMuLWyh5p CLR: CGZGWW16sooX69PJBEtJH2Xmo4KFupkow7
PPC: PLJ5uzFw21FkKdSrmfccT3MqubSfSB4soE YAC: Y7FM89AiFhWKBcXh2BzzRaw4eUAYkreXbs LBW: 5ygEWM7dMjeUV2sBeppTvkTTXCkeREKqf2
I0C: jatiogvXJYhK7auegbjPnQRV3kQgFvz482 JPU: JE7fhhPfP1Kjyd1hj8zevNsf7THeMqHo6A NVC: 4Hvecu2fzC2rCwYbKBeYXr8y9pdAZLFZHH
snowweb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 08:05:45 AM
 #3

Sorry for the delay replying.

I'm certainly attempting to use the the proprietory Nvidia driver, however, I'm finding it difficult to tell whether I've succeeded.

I've removed bumblebee as I gather that forces the integrated graphics and I have installed the appropriate graphics driver from Geforce. Although, when doing that, it complained that the existing hardware did not match the driver, but unless the machine is mislabled, it was.

The machine is clearly labeled as having Nvidia GEForce 630M card and the driver I installed explicitly stated that that support for that exact model was included, then at runtime it questions it but allows you to continue install, which I did.

I ran nvidia-xconfig and restarted X, but still no joy.

I also installed opencl sdk but then removed it since it is apparently for AMD architecture which I don't think mine is.

I also installed nvidia-cuda support, the equivalent of opencl but for nvidia devices.

Now, not only am I left with a screen resolution of 640 x 480, I'm out of ideas how to proceed. Any help much appreciated!

Thanks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!