Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 03:18:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why are Bitcoin core peers on ports other than 8333?  (Read 34 times)
Shackalacka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 02:24:00 PM
 #1

Hello, I'm just curious if this is normal.  I've had a bit of trouble finding out through searching.  Bitcoin core is connecting to peers on ports other than 8333.  I've only opened port 8333 on my router.

Bitcoin Client Software and Version Number: Bitcoin Core version v0.15.0.1 (64-bit)
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
System Hardware Specs: AMD Ryzen 1700X, 16GB Ram, SSD and HD
Description of Problem: Bitcoin core is crashing with DB corruption errors while syncing blockchain.  Assuming HD hardware error, but investigating possible system compromise
Any Related Addresses: N/A
Any Related Transaction IDs: N/A
Screenshot of the problem: https://imgur.com/a/3GyXh
Log Files from the Bitcoin Client:
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529421532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529421532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529421532
Reply with quote  #2

1529421532
Report to moderator
1529421532
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529421532

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529421532
Reply with quote  #2

1529421532
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1071


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 04:13:52 PM
 #2

8333 is the default port and is the one your node uses to transmit data.

If someone else has a node configured to use say port number 1200 as their 8333 could have a NAS drive or a server going through it. Then your data would go: bitcoin-qt --> yourip:8333 --> theirip:1200 -->  theirnode.

So you're still using your 8333 port on your router but they're using another port and your core client is just adapting to it.

Shackalacka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 04:42:49 PM
 #3

Awesome, thanks for the reply!
RGBKey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 615


rgbkey.github.io/pgp.txt


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2018, 06:14:19 PM
 #4

To give some more background on this, I run a full node but I route my traffic through a VPN. This VPN allows me to forward ports, but not specific ports, so I'm just given a random port number that I can use to be connectable from the outside Internet. This is the port I run my full node off of, so it's not standard but it's how I get it to be reachable.

Just another reason you might see someone using a non-standard port.

Shackalacka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 12:28:46 AM
 #5

That's great, interesting to note that about half my peers are doing this.  Sometimes more, sometimes less.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!