Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2018, 02:15:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin wallet crashes my computer  (Read 4086 times)
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1138



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 01:11:52 AM
 #21

Try doing the following:
1. make a copy of your %appdata%\bitcoin folder
2. delete %appdata%\bitcoin
3. run a clean install of 0.8.3 (latest version)
4. start bitcoin
5. go to task manager and set the bitcoin's process affinity to only 1 cpu core
6. wait for it to sync

see if you get any more crashes.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
1529460927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529460927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529460927
Reply with quote  #2

1529460927
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529460927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529460927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529460927
Reply with quote  #2

1529460927
Report to moderator
1529460927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529460927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529460927
Reply with quote  #2

1529460927
Report to moderator
1529460927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529460927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529460927
Reply with quote  #2

1529460927
Report to moderator
aminkorea
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 10:28:02 PM
 #22

Try doing the following:
1. make a copy of your %appdata%\bitcoin folder
2. delete %appdata%\bitcoin
3. run a clean install of 0.8.3 (latest version)
4. start bitcoin
5. go to task manager and set the bitcoin's process affinity to only 1 cpu core
6. wait for it to sync

see if you get any more crashes.


The new version loaded with a new address and 0 bitcoins.  I hope that putting my saved bitcoin folder back in my appdata folder will give me my BTC back.

edit: I put the bitcoin folder that I saved back into the appdata folder.  This restored my original address and bitcoins, but everything is out of sync again. So, I changed the proicess to allow only one processor, as suggested.  Time will tell if this fixed the problem.
aminkorea
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 11:40:25 PM
 #23

That didn't take long.  Less than a minute after my last post my computer shut down again.  I think the problem is not that I don't have enough ram. I am using a Samsung Sens R530 with only 2gigs of ram. I am thinking that adding some ram may solve the problem, but the max for this unit is only 3gigs, so I wonder if 1 gig would really make that much difference.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1138



View Profile
August 27, 2013, 12:29:06 AM
 #24

That didn't take long.  Less than a minute after my last post my computer shut down again.  I think the problem is not that I don't have enough ram. I am using a Samsung Sens R530 with only 2gigs of ram. I am thinking that adding some ram may solve the problem, but the max for this unit is only 3gigs, so I wonder if 1 gig would really make that much difference.
Check task manager and see how much ram you're using. If RAM usage nowhere near 90%, you probably have enough ram.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
aminkorea
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 01:19:39 AM
 #25

That didn't take long.  Less than a minute after my last post my computer shut down again.  I think the problem is not that I don't have enough ram. I am using a Samsung Sens R530 with only 2gigs of ram. I am thinking that adding some ram may solve the problem, but the max for this unit is only 3gigs, so I wonder if 1 gig would really make that much difference.
Check task manager and see how much ram you're using. If RAM usage nowhere near 90%, you probably have enough ram.

With the only the bitcoin wallet running, the computer is using just over 50% of available ram. It seems that as long as I don't try to use the computer for anything while the wallet is synchronizing, then there is no problem. I have let it run for about 2 hours and no crash. I will let it run until it finishes or crashes, whichever comes first.   
Hekuro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 11:04:12 AM
 #26

Could you boot memtest86 and run it for a few hours (maybe over night)? Sounds like your RAM might be damaged.
http://www.memtest86.com/technical.htm
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1138



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 02:46:23 PM
 #27

Could you boot memtest86 and run it for a few hours (maybe over night)? Sounds like your RAM might be damaged.
http://www.memtest86.com/technical.htm
Please read the thread. He has already checked his ram.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!