Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 04:37:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Slush's Stratum Proxy Questions  (Read 2838 times)
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 12:56:54 AM
 #1

How much of a load does this put on the CPU? Is it light enough to co-host on a rig running cgminer with USB Erupters? What is important to this program? Is it RAM intensive? Disk intensive? I/O intensive? Can it run well on a 12 year old laptop running win XP.

I'm just trying wrap my head around this. Is Python interpreted or compiled? never used Python.
1542472660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542472660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542472660
Reply with quote  #2

1542472660
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542472660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542472660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542472660
Reply with quote  #2

1542472660
Report to moderator
1542472660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542472660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542472660
Reply with quote  #2

1542472660
Report to moderator
1542472660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542472660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542472660
Reply with quote  #2

1542472660
Report to moderator
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 501



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 09:41:02 AM
 #2

None.  Yes.  Not important at all if you use a miner that supports stratum.  No.  Not at all.  No.  Yes.

You don't need it unless you're using something that only can communicate via Getwork, and you want to use the more efficient stratum communications across the internet.  It doesn't do anything other than that.

You'd want to use the proxy if you had, for example a ASICMiner Blade which only communicates via Getwork, and you were using a pool that no longer supports Getwork.  There' no other reason to use it.



  ██████████
 ████████▀▀██
 ████▀▀    ██
 █▀    ▄▀  ██
 █▄▄▄ █    ██
 ████  ▄█▄ ██
 ████████████
  ██████████


▄█████████████▄
██▀▀████▀  ▀▀██
██   ▀▀     ▀██
██▄         ███
███▄       ▄███
██▀▀      ▄████
███▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
▀█████████████▀
    |   
    eSPORTS   
ECOSYSTEM "Empowering Gamers!"
|       




▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█ ███████████████████████ █
█ █████     █ ▀██████████ █
█ █████     █   ▀████████ █
█ █████  ██ █     ▀██████ █

█ █████  ▀▀ █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄  █████ █
█ █████             █████ █
█ ███████████████████████ █
▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 04:38:20 PM
 #3

Thank's for the reply. Yes, i just acquired an ASICminer Blade which is why i'm asking. Smiley
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 10:00:54 PM
 #4

Of course nothing ever goes simple, anyone have a clue for this;

~/slush0-stratum-mining-proxy-52e6fd2$ ./mining_proxy.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./mining_proxy.py", line 49, in <module>
    from stratum import settings
ImportError: No module named stratum
 Huh
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 27, 2013, 12:29:34 AM
 #5

Of course nothing ever goes simple, anyone have a clue for this;

~/slush0-stratum-mining-proxy-52e6fd2$ ./mining_proxy.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./mining_proxy.py", line 49, in <module>
    from stratum import settings
ImportError: No module named stratum
 Huh

Well, i managed to make this go away, how? by rerunning the two comands for installing this. I hate when this happens. So now i'm fighting with making the computer's ip fixed. i found a few howto's on google, but no joy yet. i have a couple more to try tomorrow. This is on ubuntu 12.04 lts.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!