Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 12:11:14 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to start bitcoin development  (Read 330 times)
carlsonwong (OP)

Activity: 35
Merit: 0

View Profile
January 17, 2018, 06:02:34 AM

Hi all,

I am very new to bitcoin. Where can we change the hashing algorithm, for example from SHA256 to X13?

Thanks,
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
pebwindkraft

Activity: 257
Merit: 343

View Profile
January 17, 2018, 08:10:41 AM

short answer: in the code  Grin
long answer: it is difficult to see, what you have done so far, cause this impacts the activity.
Probably you'd like to explain a bit, what system you have, which code base you use, what language, and so on. This type of information makes it more understandable, to give advice.
Hint: if you just cloned a github repository, and ask the community to help getting forward, you might not receive valuable info.
But I see that you have already some undertsanding by asking for the replacement of a hashing function - so you must already have some good experience.
makototachibana

Activity: 39

View Profile
January 24, 2018, 09:21:30 AM

Bitcoin is free software and any developer can contribute to the project.
The first: Code Review

Bitcoin Core is security software that helps protect assets worth billions of dollars, so every code change needs to be reviewed by experienced developers

The second: Starter Projects