Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2019, 12:00:58 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anker 10 port Aluminum Hub - Not Working  (Read 751 times)
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 05:58:09 PM
 #1

One of my Anker 10 Port Hubs quit working after I restarted a computer.   It will work with 1 USB miner in it, but not more than one.... 

I've tried other power supplies that are known to be good and work fine on other hubs...  same issue...

any ideas? Undecided
1548331258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548331258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548331258
Reply with quote  #2

1548331258
Report to moderator
1548331258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548331258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548331258
Reply with quote  #2

1548331258
Report to moderator
1548331258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548331258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548331258
Reply with quote  #2

1548331258
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1548331258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548331258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548331258
Reply with quote  #2

1548331258
Report to moderator
1548331258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548331258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548331258
Reply with quote  #2

1548331258
Report to moderator
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 776
Merit: 500


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 06:04:14 PM
 #2

contact anker they probably help you with your issue
 
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:36:29 PM
 #3

sent them an email... time to play the waiting game... :/
centove
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:39:45 PM
 #4

Do they light up when plugged in and just not recognized?

I burned the wall wart out on my hub, couldn't find another one, so rigged up a molex -> bullet connector from the main PS and that works a treat (with lots of headroom on the AMP side to boot Wink )

Give me Btc: 1BRkf5bwSVdGCyvu4SyYBiJjEjbNiAQoYd Mine on my node: http://ask.gxsnmp.org:9332/
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 07:37:21 PM
 #5

yea it lights up if i only put a couple in,   if i do more they all go out
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 07:39:54 PM
 #6

Do they light up when plugged in and just not recognized?

I burned the wall wart out on my hub, couldn't find another one, so rigged up a molex -> bullet connector from the main PS and that works a treat (with lots of headroom on the AMP side to boot Wink )


can you post a pic?
centove
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 07:42:23 PM
 #7

yea it lights up if i only put a couple in,   if i do more they all go out

Sounds like the power brick died/weakened. My non anker generic cheap hub would only run two at a time without the external power, then I spent like $5 on a package of molex (male) connectors and the male pins, snipped the plug off the wall wart, connected it to the pins, fed them to the +5 and ground of one of the 'extra' connectors coming from the PS, plugged it in and now all six are humming away just fine (with a fan off the same source)
Code:

 cgminer version 3.3.4 - Started: [2013-08-24 15:34:20]
 (5s):1.936G (avg):1.776Gh/s | A:99848  R:6430  HW:1038  WU:24.8/m

Give me Btc: 1BRkf5bwSVdGCyvu4SyYBiJjEjbNiAQoYd Mine on my node: http://ask.gxsnmp.org:9332/
centove
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 07:48:02 PM
 #8

Do they light up when plugged in and just not recognized?

I burned the wall wart out on my hub, couldn't find another one, so rigged up a molex -> bullet connector from the main PS and that works a treat (with lots of headroom on the AMP side to boot Wink )


can you post of pic?
When I get home.. fairly simple to do though..

Though I did goof up and connected the - to the 12v ground, but it's all a common ground so it don't matter.

Give me Btc: 1BRkf5bwSVdGCyvu4SyYBiJjEjbNiAQoYd Mine on my node: http://ask.gxsnmp.org:9332/
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 09:39:48 PM
 #9

Do they light up when plugged in and just not recognized?

I burned the wall wart out on my hub, couldn't find another one, so rigged up a molex -> bullet connector from the main PS and that works a treat (with lots of headroom on the AMP side to boot Wink )


can you post of pic?
When I get home.. fairly simple to do though..

Though I did goof up and connected the - to the 12v ground, but it's all a common ground so it don't matter.

ty.. 
centove
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 11:41:26 PM
 #10


ty.. 

I can't get the image tag to work...


http://instagram.com/centove

Give me Btc: 1BRkf5bwSVdGCyvu4SyYBiJjEjbNiAQoYd Mine on my node: http://ask.gxsnmp.org:9332/
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 03:36:12 AM
 #11

thank you... that should help me out...  or help me fry....   we will see shortly...
 Undecided
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1024

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 03:40:30 AM
 #12

How many Anker hubs do you have chained together, in what type of configuration?

The problems you're describing sound exactly like when I tried chaining too many ANker hubs together.

I solved this by running multiple chains of only two hubs in length directly to the motherboard. So.. for 10 hubs, I had to do 5 chains of 2 hubs each (luckily I had 7+ USB ports on my mobo).
centove
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 10:28:20 AM
 #13

thank you... that should help me out...  or help me fry....   we will see shortly...
 Undecided

Just remember the molex connector has both +12 and +5 on it, the colored wires at each side are the + side while the middle two are ground (-)
Typically the red conductor is +5 and the yellow is +12. You'll want the male versions of the pins and the connector.

The wall wart or hub itself should identify the +/- config of the plug for the hub.

I used solder in addition to the crimp on the pin as the wire for the hub's power supply wasn't #18 awg.

Good luck.

Give me Btc: 1BRkf5bwSVdGCyvu4SyYBiJjEjbNiAQoYd Mine on my node: http://ask.gxsnmp.org:9332/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!