Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:14:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 [823] 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4816846 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
wariner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 852


P2Pool.cloud


View Profile
December 02, 2015, 07:54:31 AM
 #16441

Hi -ck,

thank you for your job!

I have 3 Ant S5, if i install this version http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/4.9.0-150105/ the fan go to constantly 100%.
I'm doing something wrong?

P2Pool.cloud - Public Node P2Pool EU/AMERICA Bitcoin 0% fee ITA - ENG

my BTC: 1KiMpRAWscBvhRgLs8jDnqrZEKJzt3Ypfi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480860886
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480860886

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480860886
Reply with quote  #2

1480860886
Report to moderator
1480860886
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480860886

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480860886
Reply with quote  #2

1480860886
Report to moderator
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 06:52:12 PM
 #16442

Is it possible to modify cgminer is S3 to look for more than two hashboards? I have a test-board with 4-connectors (Tx and Rx lines + pwm). And I can also test with more devices connected to usb-hub. At least kernel log shows that software installs drivers for cp2102 usb/uart adapter (even with pic in circuit).
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 12:08:02 AM
 #16443

Is it possible to modify cgminer is S3 to look for more than two hashboards? I have a test-board with 4-connectors (Tx and Rx lines + pwm). And I can also test with more devices connected to usb-hub. At least kernel log shows that software installs drivers for cp2102 usb/uart adapter (even with pic in circuit).
Prolly change one of the S3 settings I put in driver-bitmain.h ...

Look for #ifdef USE_ANT_S3

No I've no idea ... it would probably be the combination of the settings re: the chains etc. to deal with more work.

However, the number of boards/chips is returned by the fpga/hardware and that doesn't come from cgminer settings
(if it's not seeing the extra boards/chips)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 02:59:50 AM
 #16444

Is it possible to modify cgminer is S3 to look for more than two hashboards? I have a test-board with 4-connectors (Tx and Rx lines + pwm). And I can also test with more devices connected to usb-hub. At least kernel log shows that software installs drivers for cp2102 usb/uart adapter (even with pic in circuit).
Prolly change one of the S3 settings I put in driver-bitmain.h ...

Look for #ifdef USE_ANT_S3

No I've no idea ... it would probably be the combination of the settings re: the chains etc. to deal with more work.

However, the number of boards/chips is returned by the fpga/hardware and that doesn't come from cgminer settings
(if it's not seeing the extra boards/chips)

Thanks for an answer. I suspected that pic's code is written for only two boards (what I can understand from hex-dump of it). I then connected second pic to hub's port 2 and that way kernel log shows both pic's are installed with bitmainbl driver. Second pic sends test-work to hashboards but it won't get any work after that. Pic nr 1 works though with 2 boards (and second pic installed). That made me wonder if I can modify drivers to look for more than 2 boards. It is also possible that only first downstream usb-port works with these drivers. I have to do more testing.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 03:53:16 AM
 #16445

S3 is serial (yeah that sux) so you'd prolly have to modify the detection to detect and configure both devices if they show up as 2 serial devices.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 04:17:04 AM
 #16446

Thanks again. These answers clarified many things and helped to narrow down my options.
d57heinz
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700



View Profile
December 06, 2015, 03:04:28 PM
 #16447

Kano,
edit:  meant to direct this to ck,

got a quick question.. is there a way you can incorporate the voting process into cgminer so that each mining machine can vote individually vs the pool wallet submitting the vote? What some people would like to do is stay on the pool of there liking and still vote with there mining hash regardless of the pool operators views;).  By allowing only the pool operators control, that centralizes this rather drastically!  Sorry if this was asked or is a stupid question:)

edit,,  i guess problem would still be that there is two asic manufacture backing two of the largest pools,  so really i think the issue still lies in getting mining back to decentralized means..   Ive always thought one way to get it back decentralized would be to limit the amount of hash each node can have.  One can only run so many instances of bitcoind before it becomes a problem... i dont know what would be a good number to limit it too.. say 100 ths per node.  im sure that could be worked out later maybe with the size of the network thats a bit too small. It would then become too costly to setup a massive farm or at least more prohibitive anyway.. not like there wouldnt be ways to circumvent it... Just thinking about all the issue we have with centralization.. Block propagation, network protocols being held up by one entity, and im sure it goes on and on..

Best Regards
d57heinz

As in nature, all is ebb and tide, all is wave motion, so it seems that in all branches of industry, alternating currents - electric wave motion - will have the sway. ~Nikola Tesla~
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2015, 07:58:30 PM
 #16448

got a quick question.. is there a way you can incorporate the voting process into cgminer so that each mining machine can vote individually vs the pool wallet submitting the vote? What some people would like to do is stay on the pool of there liking and still vote with there mining hash regardless of the pool operators views;).  By allowing only the pool operators control, that centralizes this rather drastically!  Sorry if this was asked or is a stupid question:)
I assume by "vote" you mean what transactions are included and what goes into the coinbase, in which case the answer is realistically no. By design pooled mining gives that control to the pool. While it is possible to redesign the protocol so the miners design their own work and send it to a pool, the ability to make the pools and mining majority change to such a system is quite beyond the level of improbability. The bulk of the hashrate you see on the network is not personal miners as they only account for maybe 5% of the network now and swaying those will have zero net effect and only make mining more difficult for them. If you're talking about political debates of BIP101 versus mainline bitcoin, that's even more unlikely as the choice of protocol is done and verified at the pool mining node, and pools consciously choose what software to run on their bitcoin node. When you are pooled mining, you are all mining to that pool's bitcoin node so you can't change its protocol from the mining end in any meaningful way.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Lorker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
December 09, 2015, 04:14:27 PM
 #16449

ty for the good software
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2015, 06:12:51 PM
 #16450

ty for the good software

...and thank you for the long term, continuous, constant and consistant support throughout the Bitcoin ages Cheesy

★ ⏳ BitcoinQueue.com β ★ 📈 Real-time Bitcoin Unconfirmed Transaction Queue Charts ⏳ ★ Forum Topic
durandal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 11:46:36 AM
 #16451

I'm not sure where the best place to put this is, so I'll leave it here to save someone else a couple of hours of tinkering.

I'm running an Antminer U3, and was struggling to get decent speeds on a linux host, and the bitmain branch kept going "errr, no". The windows binary was spot on, but the windows machine sounds like a jet engine so for the sake of marital harmony and my leccy bill, it was going to have to be the linux netbook. I'll fiddle with MinePeon at some point to make it really small, but this is a good way to start.

The steps I followed are:

Clone the 4.9.2 git tree into a directory.
git clone [latest tree]
./autogen.sh
./configure --enable-icarus
make (and when you're happy it works, sudo make install)

To start, I've made a little script. So nano (or vim, or emacs, or edlin if you're hardcore) cgm

Code:
#/bin/bash
sudo cgminer --au3-freq 250 --au3-volt 810

chmod +x cgm

And away you go. The frequency/voltage settings are at the higher end of the chart, but heatsinks are only warm to the touch and CGMiner is reporting 63Gh/s, which is well within expectations. No excessive rejections either, so it seems like the right trade-off between speed and longevity.


Edited to correct a typo

1P98UsccWB24gARAJ9XQazkD7FpMFDvthg
altcointalk14
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 02:27:03 PM
 #16452

Hello,

I am not sure I have really found 3 blocks in 8 days.   Looking for advice on how to really check if this is a lucky machine or NOT.
(side note- I am really tempted to solo on CKSolo, but the ckproxy setup has troubled me)

This machine cgminer is still running, before it reboots and I loose the data, is there anyway to grab the logs/shares info from this miner?  Bitmain S4.

The 10.70.130.10:8885 is my stratum proxy server I gather all my mining power then point to antpool.

I did switch all my hashrate over to nicehash for about 8-10 hours about 5 of 6 days ago and maybe that is where the found blocks came from, but I have 50+ machines and none show any blocks except this one. 

Here is where I am confused:
79102380900   btc diff
273901451   S4 page below best share
1449843295860  stratum proxy server gui best share

altcointalk14
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 03:07:41 PM
 #16453

OK, I found this in the cgminer readme, so probably no history on the machine?? 

Anyway to add this option to the existing bitmain system cgminer start command?  (S4 says 3.2GB free, but S7 says only 115MB free)

from cgminer readme:

If you start cgminer with the --sharelog option, you can get detailed
information for each share found. The argument to the option may be "-" for
standard output (not advisable with the ncurses UI), any valid positive number
for that file descriptor, or a filename.

To log share data to a file named "share.log", you can use either:
./cgminer --sharelog 50 -o xxx -u yyy -p zzz 50>share.log
./cgminer --sharelog share.log -o xxx -u yyy -p zzz

For every share found, data will be logged in a CSV (Comma Separated Value)
format
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
December 11, 2015, 06:59:03 PM
 #16454


I am not sure I have really found 3 blocks in 8 days.
Been answered many, many times.  You either rent out your hash somewhere that someone mines alt coins with, or you mine on a pool that mines alt coins.  You did not solve a bitcoin block if your best share is less than 79G.
BartSimpsn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 11:15:13 PM
 #16455

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Have a nice day!
Best
Bart
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 11, 2015, 11:50:12 PM
 #16456

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Sure, look in the top post of this thread.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
lama-hunter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 12, 2015, 12:48:24 AM
 #16457

Hi there Guys Smiley

Wanted to ask if you got experiences using cgminer with the Antmineru3 and also using higher votlage like this:

cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:0.54 -o stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u DavieT.1337 -p x --bmsc-voltage 0830 --bmsc-freq 0982

Would be great to hear of any experiences. I also have an cfg which claims the miner to 70gh/s via unit. I think this is quit nice Wink
If anybody is interested in this config just pm me Wink

regards
lama-hunter
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2015, 01:33:13 AM
 #16458

Hi there Guys Smiley

Wanted to ask if you got experiences using cgminer with the Antmineru3 and also using higher votlage like this:

cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:0.54 -o stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u DavieT.1337 -p x --bmsc-voltage 0830 --bmsc-freq 0982

Would be great to hear of any experiences. I also have an cfg which claims the miner to 70gh/s via unit. I think this is quit nice Wink
If anybody is interested in this config just pm me Wink

regards
lama-hunter
Those commands don't exist in the official cgminer which this is the thread for. If you wish to discuss voltages with the official cgminer please use the correct command line options. If you wish to discuss bitmain's fork, use the bitmain fork thread for support.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BartSimpsn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 12, 2015, 07:47:54 AM
 #16459

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Sure, look in the top post of this thread.

Thanks, i've ready it carefully but i still can't find solution for this. My bad if i missed something, is there a way to get cgminer with preloded driver for Bitfury?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 12, 2015, 09:45:46 PM
 #16460

Hi guys! CGminer works like a charm! Just one thing, i'am unable to compile it with --enable-bitfury command. I'am trying to run it on newest MAC OS X, 1000 issues with compiling... is there a way to download version with compiled driver for bitfury?

Sure, look in the top post of this thread.

Thanks, i've ready it carefully but i still can't find solution for this. My bad if i missed something, is there a way to get cgminer with preloded driver for Bitfury?

You didn't see the OSX download link from Karin at spaceman.ca?

Unofficial OSX binaries:
http://spaceman.ca/cgminer/

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 [823] 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!