Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:36:29 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 [824] 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4819438 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
btcxyzzz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 803

Monero - secure, private and untraceable currency.


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2015, 09:56:22 PM
 #16461

Anyone managed to execute / compile / install cgminer on FreeBSD 10.2?

Monero - secure, private and untraceable currency. http://www.getmonero.org
1481027789
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027789

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027789
Reply with quote  #2

1481027789
Report to moderator
1481027789
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027789

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027789
Reply with quote  #2

1481027789
Report to moderator
1481027789
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027789

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027789
Reply with quote  #2

1481027789
Report to moderator
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
tkalfaoglu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
January 04, 2016, 10:06:09 AM
 #16462

Hi there. I have 3 identical devices, all hooked up to a usb hub, and that hub connects to a port on the Fedora 22 computer running cgminer  4.9.2.

When it first started, the cgminer was seeing all the devices, but now, without changing any configuration,  it says that one of them is inactive.

Bus 2 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60 Silicon Labs CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller Active
Bus 2 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60 Silicon Labs CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller Active
Bus 2 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60 Silicon Labs CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller inactive

and therefore, it only sees 2 devices running and the mining has slowed down by 1/3.
I tried USB  Enable,  Whitelist, etc, nothing helped.. Power off/on was tried many times as well.

The 3 devices look OK physically. Power supply LED's lit, device LED's lit, fans running.

What else should I check?
Thanks! -t


kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 04, 2016, 10:14:04 AM
 #16463

The OS saying there's something wrong, means you have to look into why the OS says that, nothing to do with cgminer.

My guess would be one of: the hub, the cables or the available power was borderline
(and now with one not working, there's more than enough power for the other 2)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
January 29, 2016, 01:57:24 PM
 #16464

hello,

What is the difference between the official cgminer 4.9.2 and this one:
https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

it seems it is specifically designed for antminer devices, but is there more details ?

Thank you

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 30, 2016, 12:05:56 AM
 #16465

hello,

What is the difference between the official cgminer 4.9.2 and this one:
https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer

it seems it is specifically designed for antminer devices, but is there more details ?

Thank you
There's has lots of bugs - that are not in my antminer version - and have been fixed for years - but they're too stupid to realise they should work off my master cgminer version.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
February 11, 2016, 01:30:43 PM
 #16466

i just picked up an s5. 

The cgminer version is v4.8.0. 

What is the best cgminer version for this box that I should be running?
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
February 11, 2016, 06:24:30 PM
 #16467

Not sure if this is correct, but here's a link to 4.9.0 for S5: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/antminer/s5/

There's a more thorough update for the S1 and S3, but I can't find a similar link for S5, so hopefully someone who knows more can chime in about the link I posted above.
Skyflier
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 17, 2016, 11:56:08 PM
 #16468

Hi guys - I've been working on getting (2) BFL Monarchs back online.
Using Win7 64, the OS sees them fine and I can switch between FTDI and WinUSB connections.
So, I've been attempting to get CGMiner to work.

Code:
[2016-02-17 17:59:52.866] BAS looking for and found BAS 0403:6014
 [2016-02-17 17:59:52.897] USB lock BitForceSC 2-1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:52.918] RES: BitForceSC (2:1) lock=1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:52.936] USB res lock BitForceSC 2-1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:52.954] RES: BitForceSC (2:1) lock ok=1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:52.977] USB init, iManufacturer mismatch - BAS device 2:1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.010] Found BUTTERFLY LABS vs FTDI
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.032] USB free BAS
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.056] USB init, iManufacturer mismatch - BAS device 2:1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.089] Found BUTTERFLY LABS vs Butterfly Labs
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.121] USB free BAS
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.160] USB init - BMA device 2:1 usbver=0200 prod='BitFORCE SHA256 SC' manuf='BUTTERFLY LABS' serial='FTYOP7Z9'
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.213] BMA0: reset got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.233] BMA: cgid 0 SetLatency got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.258] BMA0: setdata got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.279] BMA0: setbaud got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.301] BMA0: setflowctrl got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.324] BMA0: setmodemctrl got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.347] BMA0: purgetx got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.368] BMA0: purgerx got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.604] BitForceSC detect (2:1) Warning unknown firmware ' 1.4.50x00' using Ver2
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.656] BMA: cgid 0 SetLatency got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.678] BitForceSC (2:1) identified as: 'BMA'
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.708] BAS looking for and found BAS 0403:6014
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.738] USB lock BitForceSC 8-1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.760] RES: BitForceSC (8:1) lock=1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.777] USB res lock BitForceSC 8-1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.797] RES: BitForceSC (8:1) lock ok=1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.819] USB init, iManufacturer mismatch - BAS device 8:1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.852] Found BUTTERFLY LABS vs FTDI
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.875] USB free BAS
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.895] USB init, iManufacturer mismatch - BAS device 8:1
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.929] Found BUTTERFLY LABS vs Butterfly Labs
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.961] USB free BAS
 [2016-02-17 17:59:53.992] USB init - BMA device 8:1 usbver=0200 prod='BitFORCE SHA256 SC' manuf='BUTTERFLY LABS' serial='FTYORM07'
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.043] BMA0: reset got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.063] BMA: cgid 0 SetLatency got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.087] BMA0: setdata got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.109] BMA0: setbaud got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.129] BMA0: setflowctrl got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.151] BMA0: setmodemctrl got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.174] BMA0: purgetx got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.195] BMA0: purgerx got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.432] BitForceSC detect (8:1) Warning unknown firmware ' 1.4.50x00' using Ver2
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.489] BMA: cgid 0 SetLatency got err 0
 [2016-02-17 17:59:54.513] BitForceSC (8:1) identified as: 'BMA'

I can communicate with the Pool, but get nothing but hardware errors.

I've switched out every cable, switched between USB 2/3.0 (no hubs used).
Has anyone seen this before?  Can anyone help?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 09:56:45 AM
 #16469

I actually wanted to have nothing to do with BFL and their monarch and said so when Josh offered to pay me to implement it.
I don't support a scam once I know it is a scam.

Code:
[2016-02-17 17:59:54.432] BitForceSC detect (8:1) Warning unknown firmware ' 1.4.50x00' using Ver2

I only had one version of the monarch supplied to me by someone who wasn't BFL who had a lot of them so we made a driver.
I never had any other version of it and I'm not interested in getting another version since it would be effort without reward to help people make money.

While bitcoin was a community project with lots of people mining at home and lots of people buying small amounts of hardware, I considered it OK to be underpaid and work on cgminer as a low paying or free project. Some people even donated BTC. Yes it was almost always slave labour rewards, but working on mining code back then was fun.
I no longer do that for free or slave wages, so don't ask.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
irgendwasmitb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 22, 2016, 01:25:37 PM
 #16470

Hello,
what can I do when I get: "Share is about target"?
ksoze75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
February 24, 2016, 12:21:34 AM
 #16471

Hi there,

I have been working on a project and am using BFGminer as a stratum proxy. I am told CGMiner has/had this functionality but I don't seem to see any documentation for it or how to use it in such a manner.

I have an array of undervolted S1s (had the resistors swapped). I am working on a crafty project with them that requires me to run a local stratum proxy. I am using a RPi 2B to as the server box. BFGMiner is just too unstable and I have never had a problem with your app so I thought I would ask.

Thanks for the help.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 24, 2016, 01:21:30 AM
 #16472

Hi there,

I have been working on a project and am using BFGminer as a stratum proxy. I am told CGMiner has/had this functionality but I don't seem to see any documentation for it or how to use it in such a manner.

CGMiner is mining software.  That's probably whats in your miners.  ckProxy is what your most likely looking for.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=790323.msg8907134#msg8907134

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
ksoze75
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
February 24, 2016, 05:47:31 AM
 #16473

Hi there,

I have been working on a project and am using BFGminer as a stratum proxy. I am told CGMiner has/had this functionality but I don't seem to see any documentation for it or how to use it in such a manner.

CGMiner is mining software.  That's probably whats in your miners.  ckProxy is what your most likely looking for.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=790323.msg8907134#msg8907134


Yeah I figured there was another package name I just was not finding. Thanks, it was driving me nuts, I work at Google and couldn't find the damned info I was looking for LOL. Should've thought to just ask. I really appreciate you taking the time to answer.

K
bbOOmm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272

Hunh? Wha da fff...... WOAH!


View Profile
February 26, 2016, 10:45:44 PM
 #16474

I dusted off my last remaining Antminer S2 miner that I'm keeping for "historical purposes" and for casual use.

This relic is using cgminer if I remember right...

I want to set it up for solo mining peercoin. I have the ppcoind wallet set up and I can mine just for a few seconds, then it stops. Sometimes it will mine for a few seconds more a few minutes later, sometimes not.

So the miner is communicating with the wallet.

I also tried this with the S5's I have, and I get the same results.

I did notice that when the S2 would mine, the diff would be 499m or so. Really low diff. I'm thinking I'm overloading the wallet or the network connection of something.

Its been ages since I twiddled the virtual knobs in the S2 via ssh, so I'm not all that familiar with where everything is located within the firmware.

Does anyone know if it is possible to set a fixed diff within the firmware? I'd like to put the diff at 1024 and see if that helps. I just do not remember where or what to edit or cgminer commands to add.

Thanks
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 28, 2016, 11:10:55 PM
 #16475

I've zero idea about that alt-coin or if it's even possible to mine it.
You'll need to ask someone in the alt-coin threads.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bbOOmm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272

Hunh? Wha da fff...... WOAH!


View Profile
February 29, 2016, 04:40:48 AM
 #16476

I've zero idea about that alt-coin or if it's even possible to mine it.
You'll need to ask someone in the alt-coin threads.


I'm sorry for using that "alt-coin" for reference.....

lets just say I'm solo mining bitcoin for hypothetical purposes. Is there a way to specify a difficulty in the CGminer within the S2 firmware? If I can specify a difficulty, would you or anyone else have any clue where to find that in the firmware (what folder...like /etc/config/.....)

Thank you

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 29, 2016, 10:30:51 AM
 #16477

I've zero idea about that alt-coin or if it's even possible to mine it.
You'll need to ask someone in the alt-coin threads.


I'm sorry for using that "alt-coin" for reference.....

lets just say I'm solo mining bitcoin for hypothetical purposes. Is there a way to specify a difficulty in the CGminer within the S2 firmware? If I can specify a difficulty, would you or anyone else have any clue where to find that in the firmware (what folder...like /etc/config/.....)

In CGMiner you can suggest a different difficulty with the "--suggest-diff" command line argument.  Only CKPool software supports it and it is only a suggestion.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
March 07, 2016, 07:35:06 AM
 #16478

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2016, 07:40:45 AM
 #16479

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
Unfortunately the S7 has nothing to do with the official cgminer which this thread is about so you'll have to seek help from bitmain or more likely rely on the community of users of bitmain hardware on other threads.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
March 07, 2016, 10:58:07 AM
 #16480

can someone do a tutorial on how to do s7 cgminer update
Unfortunately the S7 has nothing to do with the official cgminer which this thread is about so you'll have to seek help from bitmain or more likely rely on the community of users of bitmain hardware on other threads.
my mistake i was looking for cgminer instructions on the s5 s7 was on my mind too lol
Pages: « 1 ... 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 [824] 825 826 827 828 829 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!