Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 09:34:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 [837] 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5754674 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Moddak2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 31, 2017, 01:12:25 PM
 #16721

I will setup cgminer and try again mine some coins for windows.
1524562463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524562463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524562463
Reply with quote  #2

1524562463
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524562463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524562463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524562463
Reply with quote  #2

1524562463
Report to moderator
1524562463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524562463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524562463
Reply with quote  #2

1524562463
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 01, 2017, 12:48:26 AM
 #16722

I will setup cgminer and try again mine some coins for windows.

I don't think windows needs any coins.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 107


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 07:34:30 PM
 #16723

Sorry if these are dumb questions:

In looking at my cgminer for my lottery ticket miner, i can see:

Code:
Accepted 54d53ab5 Diff 773/90 GSD 0 pool 0


I get that share is proof my miner is working on finding a block, but I have a couple of noob questions:

1) Is "54d53ab5" the nonce the miner submitted, or is part of the hash?
2) Does the diff 773 refer to the hash produced by the submission above or something else?

Thanks, just trying to understand this a little more
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2017, 01:14:54 AM
 #16724

Sorry if these are dumb questions:

In looking at my cgminer for my lottery ticket miner, i can see:

Code:
Accepted 54d53ab5 Diff 773/90 GSD 0 pool 0


I get that share is proof my miner is working on finding a block, but I have a couple of noob questions:

1) Is "54d53ab5" the nonce the miner submitted, or is part of the hash?
2) Does the diff 773 refer to the hash produced by the submission above or something else?

Thanks, just trying to understand this a little more

54d53ab5 are the first non zero characters in the hash of the share you discovered.
Diff 773 says what diff that particular hash share was, and 90 is the current pool share diff so since your share diff was greater than or equal to 90 cgminer showed you that it's submitting that share. There would have been many other shares below diff 90 and they never show up on the display  since cgminer only shows you shares that meet your target pool diff.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
amorey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2017, 03:58:00 PM
 #16725

hello,how to mining...noob here,guide please
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 04:54:22 PM
 #16726

hello,how to mining...noob here,guide please

Start by reading the Top Post.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Moddak2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 10, 2017, 01:46:19 PM
 #16727

Cgminer may give good profit,only with well known videocards,as radeon R9 sapphire and other
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 10, 2017, 03:13:01 PM
 #16728

Cgminer may give good profit,only with well known videocards,as radeon R9 sapphire and other

CGMiner does NOT support Video Cards as it is a Bitcoin mining software and GPU's are useless for Bitcoin mining.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Moddak2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 11, 2017, 10:56:33 AM
 #16729

But GPU mining have for other coins not only bitcoin
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2017, 11:18:28 AM
 #16730

But GPU mining have for other coins not only bitcoin
Right, and the official cgminer is for bitcoin mining ONLY.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
moiseyka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 04:39:55 PM
 #16731

 Hi. I am new in mining , and just started  with ASIC using CGMINER. I created "start.bat" on DESKTOP with 1 URL for solo mining   and load , it is working good.Then i add to 3 or more URL for multipool mining .That is work good too.Only there is problem : each time after restarting OS (WINDOWS7) there is no saving in CGMINER about multipool mining , and needed to write URL again???   Ths.       
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 08:32:26 PM
 #16732

Hi. I am new in mining , and just started  with ASIC using CGMINER. I created "start.bat" on DESKTOP with 1 URL for solo mining   and load , it is working good.Then i add to 3 or more URL for multipool mining .That is work good too.Only there is problem : each time after restarting OS (WINDOWS7) there is no saving in CGMINER about multipool mining , and needed to write URL again???   Ths.      

You can add the pools and logins to your .bat file.

See the Executive summary in the readme or the top post.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
gsambolin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 09:34:49 PM
 #16733

Hi. I am new in mining , and just started  with ASIC using CGMINER. I created "start.bat" on DESKTOP with 1 URL for solo mining   and load , it is working good.Then i add to 3 or more URL for multipool mining .That is work good too.Only there is problem : each time after restarting OS (WINDOWS7) there is no saving in CGMINER about multipool mining , and needed to write URL again???   Ths.      

You can add the pools and logins to your .bat file.

See the Executive summary in the readme or the top post.

Similiar issue here,

1. Start your mining program with the pools you want
2. While cgminer is running press Press SHIFT key and the letter "S" for settings
3. Choose the option to write your config file, use the default name cgminer.conf
4. Go find that file in the same directory your software is in
5. Copy that file to a new name lets call it, test.conf 
6. Open the config file with and editor such as notepad
7. The options are pretty self explanatory and enter the pools you use.  The first being your primary and rest are your failovers
8. Save the file
9. To make sure your cgminer finds the config file I have a CD (change directory) command in my bat file to make sure I redirect there before cgminer starts it looks like this, yours will be different.  Format the cgminer command with the option below to find your test.conf file as well

cd C:\@Cryptocurrency\Software\cgminer 3.7.2\cgminer-3.7.2-windows
cgminer --scrypt --default-config test.conf -o etc. etc. etc. etc. etc.

Mine looks like this

cgminer --scrypt --default-config cgminer_hashtocoins.conf -o stratum+tcp://hash-to-coins.com:3333 -u user.worker -p password --no-submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu

10. Your CGminer will now begin to use the test.conf file.
11. If you want to test it, change the intensity parameter to some number like 4 or 20, save it run it and you will see when cgminer starts it uses your test.conf file parameters.

This is useful if your testing or want to keep various versions of the conf file for various pooling activities.  This will create a 1 to many scenario e.g. 1 miner (cgminer) to various conf files.

*warning* do not leave the config file open while running cgminer.  I have seen where it may try to overwrite to it. 

Hope this helps
Gsam
 
 
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 11:32:13 PM
 #16734

command line seems easier to me.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
gsambolin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 05:35:11 PM
 #16735

command line seems easier to me.

You are right but in my testing I was per plexed why some of my parameters were being over written and I found out later that cgminer was using the default cgminer.conf file.  If your going command line only then maybe not sure here it would be best to delete the cgminer.conf file before firing up your miner.

Maybe in bat file add the line below before firing up the miner. 

Del cgminer.conf
cgminer [command line]

This way it can never use the default .conf file.

My 2 cents
Gsam
gsambolin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 05:51:12 PM
 #16736

But GPU mining have for other coins not only bitcoin
Right, and the official cgminer is for bitcoin mining ONLY.

Does that mean that only questions specific to Bitcoin mining with cgminer can be posted here?  
I posted a general question about cgminer and it was deleted for some reason but I made no reference to bitcoin but I am using version 3.7.2.

Just trying to see where my questions should land.

Thanks in adavnce.  
Gsam
JJCUBER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 06:21:21 PM
 #16737

Hi when I went to the site that had the downloads chrome said that it was a dangerous site and to go back to safety.
So are these downloads just viruses because I know there are false positives, but I want to be safe before downloading ANYTHING.
Thank you  Smiley Grin.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 09:39:08 PM
 #16738

Hi when I went to the site that had the downloads chrome said that it was a dangerous site and to go back to safety.
So are these downloads just viruses because I know there are false positives, but I want to be safe before downloading ANYTHING.
Thank you  Smiley Grin.

Malware authors have used old versions of CGMiner as the payload of their malware so that they could mine with botnets.  So... lazy malware/virus string vendors have flagged CGMiner as the malware and have refused to correct it.

As long as you download from the url in the top post of this thread you will be ok.

What mining device are you trying to mine with that is supported by CGMiner?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
shavill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 11:38:51 PM
 #16739

But GPU mining have for other coins not only bitcoin
Right, and the official cgminer is for bitcoin mining ONLY.

Does that mean that only questions specific to Bitcoin mining with cgminer can be posted here?  
I posted a general question about cgminer and it was deleted for some reason but I made no reference to bitcoin but I am using version 3.7.2.

Just trying to see where my questions should land.

Thanks in adavnce.  
Gsam

I have the same question, sort of.  I just watched a vid of an iBeLink DM11G using CGMiner for dash.  Does CGMiner mine X11, including DASH? So confused now, any help appreciated.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2017, 11:39:57 PM
 #16740

But GPU mining have for other coins not only bitcoin
Right, and the official cgminer is for bitcoin mining ONLY.

Does that mean that only questions specific to Bitcoin mining with cgminer can be posted here?  
I posted a general question about cgminer and it was deleted for some reason but I made no reference to bitcoin but I am using version 3.7.2.

Just trying to see where my questions should land.

Thanks in adavnce.  
Gsam

I have the same question, sort of.  I just watched a vid of an iBeLink DM11G using CGMiner for dash.  Does CGMiner mine X11, including DASH? So confused now, any help appreciated.
See bold above.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 [837] 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!