Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:34:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 [152] 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823496 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2012, 11:39:24 PM
 #3021

3. ability to write current config to text file:   {command writeConfig,  param filename) (please fix the volt config bug)
The volt config bug is fixed in git. Same with any value that is zero.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481229282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229282
Reply with quote  #2

1481229282
Report to moderator
1481229282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229282
Reply with quote  #2

1481229282
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481229282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229282
Reply with quote  #2

1481229282
Report to moderator
1481229282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229282
Reply with quote  #2

1481229282
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 09:00:26 AM
 #3022

Massively updated git tree (new minor version coming soon):

    Display what support is built in.

    BitForce FPGA support
   
    cgminer will scan for and mine BitForce FPGAs on USB ports by providing the
    new --scan-serial <device> option, or autodetect them by searching
    /dev/serial/by-id for *BitFORCE_SHA256*

    Update copyright dates.

    Update README.

    Configure out building and support of all CPU mining code unless --enable-cpumining is enabled.

    Add configuration option for CPU mining which will default to off.

    Update example conf with 1% donation.

    Allow parsed values to be zero which will allow 0 values in the config file to work.

    Advertise that we can make our own midstate, so the pool can skip generating it for us

    Refactor the CPU scanhash_* functions to use a common API. Fixes bugs.
   
    - Before, some returned bool, and others returned int (which was then turned
      into a bool with a comparison); now, everything returns a bool
    - Before, some set hashes_done to nonce - 1 when a share was found and others
      set it to nonce + 1 or 2. This caused some algorithms to scan/submit shares
      twice with the new cpu_scanhash function. Now, it has all been replaced with
      last_nonce, which is set to the final nonce checked by the scanhash_* func.
    - VIA needs the full data, and cannot use midstate. All the others were
      expecting midstate and data+64 for their parameters. Now, we pass midstate
      and the full data pointer, and let the scanhash_* function choose which to
      use.

    Don't consider a pool lagging if a request has only just been filed.
    This should decrease the false positives for "pool not providing work fast enough".

    Invalidating work after longpoll made hash_pop return no work giving a false positive for dead pool.
    Rework hash_pop to retry while finds no staged work until the abstime timeout really expires.

    Remove TCP_NODELAY from curl options as many small packets may be contributing to network overload.

    Refactor miner_thread to be common code for any kind of device
   
    This expands on the device API, by taking the actual main thread out of the
    device's code, and calling the API only for specific tasks. This brings
    various changes that were made to the GPU thread code into the CPU miner.
    It also fixes a bug where shares found on old GPU work were discarded when
    it switched to a new work.

    Simplify submit_nonce loop and avoid potentially missing FOUND - 1 entry. Reported by Luke-Jr.

    Micro-optimisation in sha256_sse2 code courtesy of Guido Ascioti guido.ascioti@gmail.com

    Typo in readme.

   Refactor to abstract device-specific code

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Chefnet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 09:12:19 AM
 #3023

have you also done something for 7970 optimization?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 09:24:15 AM
 #3024

have you also done something for 7970 optimization?
Of course - that's why the post above said he has ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Queelis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 09:24:35 AM
 #3025

Regarding the voltage settings in windows - they definitely stay what they were set even after a reboot. I've manually set the voltage to 1.1V (nothing about the voltage in the .bat launch file), the PC froze and I had to reboot. After the reboot the voltage is still at 1.1V. I think this is worth looking into, because I've no clue what my default voltage is supposed to be, or whether it would return to normal lower voltage when it's idle.
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 09:30:23 AM
 #3026

Massively updated git tree (new minor version coming soon):
[...]

Happy to see that you kept CPU mining capability (at least for now). Upped my donation rate.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 09:46:46 AM
 #3027

Regarding the voltage settings in windows - they definitely stay what they were set even after a reboot. I've manually set the voltage to 1.1V (nothing about the voltage in the .bat launch file), the PC froze and I had to reboot. After the reboot the voltage is still at 1.1V. I think this is worth looking into, because I've no clue what my default voltage is supposed to be, or whether it would return to normal lower voltage when it's idle.
This is most certainly not intentional and I cannot do anything about it since cgminer consciously changes settings back to default, but windows decides that cgminer should crash every time instead.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 09:48:30 AM
 #3028

have you also done something for 7970 optimization?
No, I didn't ask for donations to get one and I don't own one and I have no idea what's required to get one working or optimised. As far as I can tell, by default, it won't even run on cgminer. That said, there is someone who offered to tune "for diablominer and cgminer" who got paid megaBTC to buy one for himself who promised to do so. Having said that, I have yet to see any code for cgminer out of it...

At the moment I don't even have a machine that can mine on GPU. Eventually should nothing come from an outside source, I will do the work myself to get 79xx working.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Queelis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:23:32 PM
 #3029

Question: what efficiency should I expect (generally)? I'm mining on a Radeon 5750. I'm getting ~27% efficiency (ATM 1820 queued, 500 accepted, and U (whatever it is) is @1.89/m). Is there any way I could improve on my situation?
DutchBrat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:39:24 PM
 #3030

I had a scantime of 8 secs on all my miners previously, increased it to 45 secs and now I achieve an efficiency of 60%+ after 24 hrs.

I will keep monitoring to see whether this affects my invalids/stales in anyway
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:56:38 PM
 #3031

Question: what efficiency should I expect (generally)? I'm mining on a Radeon 5750. I'm getting ~27% efficiency (ATM 1820 queued, 500 accepted, and U (whatever it is) is @1.89/m). Is there any way I could improve on my situation?
I had a scantime of 8 secs on all my miners previously, increased it to 45 secs and now I achieve an efficiency of 60%+ after 24 hrs.

I will keep monitoring to see whether this affects my invalids/stales in anyway

This is bad for ck's blood pressure.  Efficiency doesn't really matter (where is the kicking dead horse icon?), U does. Defaults, defaults, defaults....

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:00:40 PM
 #3032

LETS GO DEFAULTS LETS GO.
 
LETS GO DEFAULTS LETS GO.

LETS GO DEFAULTS LETS GO.

In any pool you get paid based on valid shares.  That is all that matters.  Your quest should be to find what configuration (miner, clocks, voltage, intensity, params, etc) gives you the most VALID SHARES per hour?  

Even rejects don't matter other than is they are avoidable they reduce valid shares:  100 shares + 10 rejects > 90 shares + 0 rejects.

All that matters is VALID SHARES.  That is the pay metric (for any pool).  U is a measure of valid shares per minute.  U is your "minutely wage".

Honestly I wish pools stopped reporting hashrate for miners (which is false they are just taking a guestimate) and instead provided a U.  
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:01:43 PM
 #3033

Anyone know the difference between "real-quiet" and "text-only" params?
Is ncurses still used when real-quiet is true?

I use real-quiet because now w/ RPC interface and config files I never use the console display.  I am thinking text-only might be better option.

On the topic would it be possible to have an option "SILENT" which has absolutely no output at all?

Or maybe since we have "full" (implicit), "quiet", "real-quiet", "text-only", and possibly "silent" they could all be refactored to a single param called display-mode ? output-mode ? which has those as options.

i.e.
display-mode : silent
display-mode : full (default)
siggy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:07:19 PM
 #3034

hoping someone can help me out...  looked thru the thread and can't seem to find an answer...

can the gpu-engine overclock in CGMiner go beyond the normal factory default max overclock?  specifically I've got a bank of 5850's that won't go past 775 mhz.  Also, even though I'm setting gpu-memclock, it doesn't seem to be sticking either.   The fan settings in my *.conf file seem to be working, so I'm pretty sure its reading the correct file.   Pertinant parts of the *.conf file below:

"intensity" : "d,9,9,9",

"gpu-fan" : "10-85,10-85,10-85,10-85",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75,75",
"auto-fan" : true,

"gpu-memclock" : "250,250,250,250",
"gpu-engine" : "0-840,0-840,0-840,0-840",
"auto-gpu" : true,

and direction/advice would be appreciated.

thanks,
Sigg

I am Pentium of Borg. Division is futile. You will be approximated.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:29:05 PM
 #3035

simplify your config file for testing.

Use
Code:
"gpu-engine" : 840

and see what it runs at.  If that won't work try 820, 800, 780, etc.

If no matter what you set it runs @ 775 then it might be bios locked.

cgminer doesn't "set" the card it is more like a "request"  (hey GPU could you please run at 840?).  The card is free to ignore/reject requests that it considers invalid (defined by the card bios).
siggy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:38:02 PM
 #3036

simplify your config file for testing.

Use
Code:
"gpu-engine" : 840

and see what it runs at.  If that won't work try 820, 800, 780, etc.

If no matter what you set it runs @ 775 then it might be bios locked.

cgminer doesn't "set" the card it is more like a "request"  (hey GPU could you please run at 840?).  The card is free to ignore/reject requests that it considers invalid (defined by the card bios).

Bummer... looking like my cards are giving me a big rasberry when I request anything above 775  (750,770 they take just fine) .. same scenario with my low memory setting... 

Plan B:  unoficial overclock mode in afterburner Smiley

Thanks for the help.

Sigg

I am Pentium of Borg. Division is futile. You will be approximated.
DutchBrat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:58:51 PM
 #3037

Question: what efficiency should I expect (generally)? I'm mining on a Radeon 5750. I'm getting ~27% efficiency (ATM 1820 queued, 500 accepted, and U (whatever it is) is @1.89/m). Is there any way I could improve on my situation?
I had a scantime of 8 secs on all my miners previously, increased it to 45 secs and now I achieve an efficiency of 60%+ after 24 hrs.

I will keep monitoring to see whether this affects my invalids/stales in anyway

This is bad for ck's blood pressure.  Efficiency doesn't really matter (where is the kicking dead horse icon?), U does. Defaults, defaults, defaults....

I'll stop kicking. I love horses ! Even dead ones !!!  Wink
siggy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 07:26:35 PM
 #3038

Next question:

What is currently the best combination of SDK version and drivers to be running?  (windows XP, 5850's)

I've gathered from reading that its best to have the .bin file generated from the 2.5 SDK.. but am a bit confused as to if you should install the 2.6 SDK after generating the .bin?

then: Is the driver version independant of the SDK version?

Does "best environment" depend on card series?  I.E.  5xxx cards should be run on different driver versions than 6xxx ?

Thanks again,
Sigg

I am Pentium of Borg. Division is futile. You will be approximated.
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 08:19:54 PM
 #3039

"ADL found more devices than opencl"

Getting this error trying to use cgminer on a rig with anything more than 1 GPU.
Cgminer starts and uses only 1 GPU.

Other software apps like Trixx and Afterburner see 4 GPUs.  4 GPUs show up in Device Manager.

I've reinstalled OS, drivers, reseated cards, to no avail.

Any suggestions or hints?

Much appreciated.

Windows box.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 10:36:47 PM
 #3040

"ADL found more devices than opencl"

Getting this error trying to use cgminer on a rig with anything more than 1 GPU.
Cgminer starts and uses only 1 GPU.

Other software apps like Trixx and Afterburner see 4 GPUs.  4 GPUs show up in Device Manager.

I've reinstalled OS, drivers, reseated cards, to no avail.

Any suggestions or hints?

Much appreciated.

Windows box.
Sounds like orc mischief to me! They come with fire, they come with axes, gnawing biting hacking breaking burning. Destroyers and usurpers, curse them!

Regardless of what this error looks like, try to solve it the same way you would if you had 4 cards installed but cgminer only worked on one. It just so happens that the ATI display library is getting the right number of cards, but the ATI driver is only giving you 1 for opencl use for some reason.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 [152] 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!